We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Melrose Place Guest Lodge

Booking.comUS$80*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Melrose Place Guest Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 126: English reviews
Start your review of Melrose Place Guest Lodge
 Click to rate
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a Premium room. The room was pokey and dark. It did not have a sitting area as advertised and the bathroom had a single basin and a bathtub that nearly tipped over. The breakfast was disappointing - the bread for toast was in the original (supermarket) wrapping, there was very little choice, no cheese or cold meats and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
melroseplacejhb, Manager at Melrose Place Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Peter S, Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. As a guesthouse we do try hard to be all things to all people and unfortunately in your case we obviously fell short and apologise for this. We have checked your reservation and the room you were booked in is...

Golden, Colorado
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Melrose Place was the perfect refuge for the weary travelers in our party. We were located in a very convenient area to shopping, tourist stops, and local friends. Nicely decorated, friendly and helpful staff. We have happy memories of our delicious and plentiful breakfasts. We look forward to staying there on return visits.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GrammyHeine
melroseplacejhb, Owner at Melrose Place Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for your positive review, it is guests like you that make it an absolute pleasure to do what we do as well as we can. We would love you to return another time and look forward to welcoming you back. regards Sue Truter

Golden, CO
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Our room was spacious and comfortable, and breakfast was delicious with a wide selection of eggs, omelettes, pastries, fruits and granola. The staff was extremely helpful and set aside a shirt I forgot so I could fetch it before I left Johannesburg. The only problem was a bunch of ants in the bathroom, a problem solved with a liberal application...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steam844
melroseplacejhb, Manager at Melrose Place Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Dear steam844, Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at Melrose Place as well as our breakfast. We will pass along your compliments to our staff. We are very sorry to hear about the ants you found in your bathroom, there has been a problem with ants in Johannesburg this past summer....

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 11 April 2017

This B&B was quite easy to find as we arrived by car and is quite secure for those who think Joburg is robbers' heaven!. Walking distance to Wanderers Club (which is why we booked it). There is a choice of snacks, chocolate and wine (chargeable) provided in the room in case you feel hungry or thirsty outside of mealtimes. Room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annakatrine
melroseplacejhb, Manager at Melrose Place Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Dear annakatrine, Thank you for taking the time to review Melrose Place. We are pleased you found our location convenient. We are however sorry to hear that you did not like our gardens, so many guests comment on how beautiful they are and how nice it is to have an "oasis" in the city. As yours was a last minute...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 8 April 2017

For same price within Sandton, you can find hotels with better facilities. Also a little far from Sandton City mall. No gym inside premises. No drinking water provided. The walk from Guest house to Rosebank mall is not safe.Dinner not provided at will.Poor Wifi.No airconditioning. No international plug points. All in all, not a good deal compared to the cost....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jbt214
melroseplacejhb, Manager at Melrose Place Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jbt214, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are distressed to hear that you did not feel as if your stay was good value for money. Melrose Place is situated a mere 5kms away from Sandton City Mall, which by Johannesburg standards is very close. We are in a very central location which makes getting...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We stayed here overnight before our return flight to the UK. The accommodation is comfortable, well furnished and in good condition. Sadly the cook was on holiday so were we unable to have dinner in the lodge but we visited a local restaurant recommended by the proprietor and this was first class. The swimming pool provided some welcome R&R at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AB111960
melroseplacejhb, Manager at Melrose Place Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Dear AB111960, Thank you very much for your review of Melrose Place. We really appreciate your lovely words and are so pleased you enjoyed your room, the pool and our breakfast. We do hope that next time you will be able to have dinner with us, unfortunately, as December is a quiet period in Johannesburg we do take advantage of...

Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed two nights at Melrose Place Lodge. The location is pretty good since there are many restaurants within walking distance to choose from also the Rosebank Mall is just a short drive. The room and bathroom are very spacious and clean yet a little dated. The breakfast is good and the staff helpful and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarieLouiseStapels
melroseplacejhb, Manager at Melrose Place Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Dear MarieLouiseStaples, Thank you for taking that time to review Melrose Place, we appreciate your feedback and are pleased you enjoyed our location, staff and breakfasts. Best wishes, Michelle

London
Reviewed 22 December 2016

I stayed at this lovely lodge on my last night in South Africa, and enjoyed its peaceful, tranquil atmosphere. My room was spacious, comfortable and beautifully decorated, and staff could not have been more welcoming, professional and accommodating -- they allowed me an early check-in and late check-out to fit with my flight times. The location near Rosebank station is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel1908
melroseplacejhb, Manager at Melrose Place Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Rachel1908, Thank you so much for staying with us and for your really lovely and thoughtful review. We are so happy that you had such a good time with us and we really appreciate the compliments. We hope you will come back and stay with us again on your next trip to Johannesburg. Best wishes, Michelle

Paris, France
Reviewed 21 December 2016

Melrose Place guest lodge is a magnificient place. You really feel like home from the moment you pass the door. It is fully secured ans safe. The rooms are superbs, super clean. The breakfast is faboulous. The garden is a jewel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LiliFabAndTheKids
melroseplacejhb, Manager at Melrose Place Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Dear LiliFabAndTheKids, We are so grateful for your fabulous review and are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Johannesburg. Best wishes, Michelle

Berkeley, California
Reviewed 14 December 2016

I stayed at Melrose for my first three nights in South Africa prior to joining a wildlife tour. The tour company booked the lodge for me--and I was thrilled with the choice. The room was very spacious and comfortable, the decor spare but appealing. A small alcove around the corner from the bedroom had a table with two small bottles...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judith D
melroseplacejhb, Manager at Melrose Place Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Judith D, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review of Melrose Place, it is much appreciated. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you are able to return some day for another trip to our beautiful country. Best wishes, Michelle

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
0.3 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers
1.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
1.1 km away
Dunkeld Manor
Dunkeld Manor
#14 of 291 in Johannesburg
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford
1.9 km away
The Parkwood
The Parkwood
#8 of 291 in Johannesburg
129 reviews
1.0 km away
MAX Executive Suites
MAX Executive Suites
#1 of 1 in Illovo
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Country Home in the heart of Johannesburg. Centrally situated between Rosebank and Sandton. Melrose Place offers luxurious en-suite accommodation and has earned its reputation by providing warm hospitality and excellent service, making it a true home from home for the discerning guest. The wonderful garden shaded by many trees sets off the swimming pool where guests can take time out to relax from the pace of their travels. Secure parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Melrose Place Guest Lodge

Address: 12A North Street, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range: $117 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melrose Place Guest Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melrose Place Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Melrose Place Guest Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Boston, Massachusetts
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Melrose Place Guest Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check the bathroom for ants before you unpack.”
steam844, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the main house looked cosier”
annakatrine, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose rooms near main house and pool”
, 21 Feb 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms seemed lovely”
JeannieD_12, 7 Feb 2016 | Read review
“If it is very warm outside a ground floor may be cooler.......”
Z4969NFkevina, 4 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$80* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$95
Hotels.comUS$95
Agoda.comUS$80
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates