We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 163: English reviews
Start your review of Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel was great and in a better location than I was expecting. The rooms that I stayed in were large rooms with everything I needed in them , really felt it was good value for money. the breakfast was really tasty and good portion sizes staff in restaurant were very friendly, professional and looked after me for the week ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon A
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I rebooked the Hotel from Sandton to down town because I was told it is great. And it was. Considering that the area is considered to be rough by South Africans; you will impress them if you invite them for Coffee in the Marshall. You receive products as you may expect from a Hotel in Rosebank or Sandton and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 956Dimitrij
Milwaukee, WI
Reviewed 17 January 2017

The hotel was a last minute, great value booking. They offered an airport transfer for an extra fee (500rand), local shuttle for free, breakfast was included, pool, restaurant & bar. Rooms were bright, modern, clean, and spacious. My studio had a kitchenette (with full fridge/stove/sink) and bar. The bathroom included a blow dryer, soaps and lotions, and had a shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iskuz
Bremen, Germany
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

It's a nice hotel with large rooms even suitable for longer stays. The atmosphere in the restaurant is very nice. The restaurany..slightly over average, but nothing special. Only disadvantage of this licatiom ..it's in a business district and after office hours Is this area quite.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Volker N
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Volker N Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel, comments are always appreciated. Next time you visit us please make use of our complimentary shuttle which will be able to transport you in the evenings to a busy, vibrant night life area and then bring you back to the tranquility of our hotel for a...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for work. The location is in a Central city suburb of Johannesburg. For the less avid traveller this may be a little confronting as inner city Joburg has a bad reputation. That being said, the location is actually great for tourism. They have a free shuttle which will take you most places nearby, eg dinner. The driver, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ASHM85
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review

Dear ASHM85 Thank you for your comments, this is highly appreciated. We are in the process of upgrading some of our rooms and hopefully on your next stay we will be able to place you in one of the upgraded rooms. Have a wonderful day Kind Regards Charmaine

Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

Great place and very clean and comfortable. Will definitely stay again. Centrally located and very spacious. I love the amenities in the room. The only thing missing was an iron and ironing board but this seems to be the case in a lot of hotels in Africa. Something minor but makes a big difference, having to ask for it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thabani M
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Thabani M Thank you very much for your kind comments, apologies for the iron and ironing board not being available in your room, these items are delivered to our rooms when requested, next time you stay with us please let us know what you would like in your room when you make a reservation and we will ensure that...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 13 November 2016

As an avid traveller, few things sway us, particularly as related to service. The Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments can use some work on their rooms..... the couches are in desperate need of a steam-cleanin, and an update on their sheets would do the wonders. Whatee found to be outstanding was the overall degree of service, both from the hotel staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dude305
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Dude305 Thank you so much for your positive constructive comments. We are in the process of upgrading some of our rooms. I am delighted to hear that our service was outstanding and that you enjoyed your stay. The Marshall is our new Restaurant and still trying to iron out some small issues but I am positive that on your...

Apple Valley, California
Reviewed 13 November 2016

this hotel may be for you. We asked for a quiet room, but were given a room on the front three floors above a street busy with heavy truck traffic. There was a strong wind blowing and the single pane windows were slamming back and forth in their frames even though the the windows were latched. We managed to secure...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank George H
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review

Dear MrMikeAppleValley Thank you for your comments; I am really sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel. The hotel is situated in the busy hub of Johannesburg CBD so naturally our rooms that face the outer side of the hotel will be a little bit noisier than the ones facing the inside. Unfortunately none of our...

Hull
Reviewed 13 November 2016

We made several complaints yet things never improved ranging from late return of laundry, stains and holes in sheets, poorly cooked food messages not passed on only two or three members of staff showed any interest in customer service

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charles C
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Charles C Thank you for your comments, I am so sorry to hear that you did not receive the service you so rightly deserve. Please would you be so kind as to contact me on gm.mapungubwe@faircity.co.za to discuss your comments in detail. Kind Regards Charmaine

New York City, New York
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

The price for this hotel was pretty good ($65 for the Deluxe room) - the room itself was great, the shower was lousy (shower heads didn't work and shower frame was leaking) and the shower was small The lay out of the hotel itself is horrible, takes two elevators and a good 10-15 min walk to arrive to the room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank springthrualens
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review

Dear springthrualens Thank you for your comments, we are in the process of doing some maintenance work and one of the things on our list is our shower heads/frames to ensure that our guests enjoy a great shower. Sorry that you feel that the layout of our hotel is not to your taste, the building use to be a bank...

475 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (101)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (292)
Viewed
Amenities (49)
Viewed
Pool (40)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Standard One Bedroom Apartment (59)
Viewed
Studio (46)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (82)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (46)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.4 km away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#26 of 70 in Johannesburg
329 reviews
9.2 km away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 70 in Johannesburg
290 reviews
2.6 km away
Palm Continental Hotel - Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
#34 of 70 in Johannesburg
11 reviews
8.9 km away
Premiere Classe Suites
Premiere Classe Suites
#29 of 70 in Johannesburg
156 reviews
0.0 km away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#20 of 70 in Johannesburg
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This 4-star property is set in the Johannesburg inner city in close proximity to the business district, FNB Stadium and Ellis / Coca Cola Park. The spacious studios and apartments at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments features and African design and includes on-site parking, fitness centre, flat screen TV and a large seating areas. A 24 hour reception desk is available. The hotel features 24 hour security and CCTV cameras.A free WiFi and internet connectivity and inner city shuttle service is offered to all guests.The Marshall at Mapungubwe (on site restaurant) serves a buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner, while a variety of drinks are available at the bar.Johannesburg's OR Tambo International Airport is 24 km away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments

Address: Corner Marshall & Ferreira Street | Marshalltown, Johannesburg 2107, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range: $71 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Johannesburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#16 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#20 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a room with balcony”
 of 5 bubbles 956Dimitrij, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There are inside rooms facing the pool/deck area that were quieter than those facing the outside streets.”
 of 5 bubbles Iskuz, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't take a room above the busy street in front.”
 of 5 bubbles MrMikeAppleValley, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Do not visit it”
 of 5 bubbles Y9822CIcharlesc, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request a room with a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles ARM490, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5