We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

919 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
See the most recent reviews
Showing 790: English reviews
Newcastle, UK
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Being a bit of an aviation enthusiast I like an airport hotel that actually has the feel of an airport... and this one certainly does. Airport theme throughout, and higher level rooms have view over the airport. Good service and decent food, though room service portions were a little small.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juno101
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Juno101 Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport through Trip Advisor. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a Valued GUEST, your feedback will be shared with the TEAM to continue to...

Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

We stay here twice year on the way to our home in Zambia and on our way back to our home in Australia For an airport hotel the room is big enough to put mattress for our child Room has full size bath, enclosed toilet and full shower Reception staff this trip efficient brilliant well trained 9.9 out 10 The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TTNministries
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear TTNministries Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport through Trip Advisor. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a Valued GUEST, your feedback will be shared with the TEAM to continue to...

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 14 November 2016

We were there for literally 12 hours because of an early morning flight. The hotel has a shuttle that leaves every half hour and it leaves from behind the intercontinental hotel. This info was hard to find so I'm sharing it here. The room was comfortable and decently priced but obviously you're paying for convenience. It's perfectly fine, clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ohdesi74
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear ohdesi74, Thank you for your words of appreciation on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport. We are delighted to receive your compliments. With a spirit to serve, I am happy to hear you had a wonderful stay with us in such a short period and that you found the hotel to...

The Villages, Florida
Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

The was a wonderful find. We needed a place to stay overnight before going on to Kruger for a safari. How convenient...minutes from the hotel and a nice airport theme to the hotel. Beautiful outdoor garden/pool and very attentive staff. This is a Marriott so met the expectations of American travelers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suebfl
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear suebfl, Firstly, Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R Tambo Airport would like to take this time to thank you for taking the time to share your recent hotel experience and choosing the hotel as your preferred destination hotel and for the time to share your experience through Trip Advisor . We take great pride in serving your needs and are...

Polokwane, South Africa
Reviewed 3 November 2016

The size of the rooms is rather small, I stayed the night with my wife and 11 month old daughter. Felt a bit cramped for my liking. The rooms are well-kept and spectacular, though. The shuttle service is on point, and the staff is helpful and delightful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ramere
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Ramere, Thank you for taking time to write a review on Trip Advisor. GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, We are however somewhat saddened to see that the room functionality was not to your satisfaction. The rooms were designed in a European...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Checkin took a long time. I was given a twin room. Had to come all the way down to request a queen room. Rooms are not large (for Sth Africa, and for the airport). The room is OK, but maintenance has been done patchily. The windows are tiny. The shower/bathroom is a little weird. No fridge/mini-bar. No iron. Room service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlecAus
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear AlecAus Firstly, the Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R Tambo International Airport would like to take this time to thank you for choosing the hotel as your preferred destination hotel. Let me start off by sincerely apologizing about the experiences you had during your stay at the Hotel, I cannot express enough how truly sorry I am. You can however...

Reviewed 1 November 2016

They are just so reluctant to assist their guests, everything seems to be a hurdle. They did not add my name to my parcel I asked to be couriered and they insisted on using a more expensive courier service. This was horrible. It arrived and they did not bother calling me.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ivanna K
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Ivanna K Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Protea Hotel by Marriott O R Tambo through Trip Advisor. As a VALUED GUEST, I was disappointed to hear about your experience regarding the returning of your belongings that you had left behind in the GUEST room you had occupied. With aspiration to always exceed...

Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for one night whilst working in the area. I found the staff to be very friendly, the food to be lovely, and the room to be clean and comfy. The room itself is not massive but was fine for the night, although as the bedroom and shower room are one room you'd better be comfortable with anyone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Andrew C Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments about the Protea Hotel by Marriott O R Tambo Airport on TripAdvisor - we appreciate the feedback. We take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that you find our TEAM to be friendly, the food and cleanliness of the room...

Brackenfell, South Africa
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Big Rooms and well service and clean. Reception very busy and noisy. Evening Buffet was not worth the money and the chefs are shouting at each other, and the food was not worth the money. Staff at reception and restaurant very friendly, shuttle to airport available and Hotel next to the Airport. Those in love with planes - a flight...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lourens-Esterhuyse
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Lourens-Esterhuyse Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport with us. As a Valued GUEST, I was disappointed to hear about your experience in our dining outlet. With aspiration to always exceed guest expectations, we have unfortunately fallen short of this goal during your recent stay. Your valued feedback...

Reviewed 23 October 2016

Party of 5 booked thro Virgin in UK for one night for onward journey to Zambia. On arrival told one room had been cancellled. Hotel reception very helpful & offered upgraded room whilst they sort it out. Rooms were v clean & good standard. Bar & dining area was designed to appear 'industrial' -waiting staff wore jeans & Tabards with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Elaine B Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport through Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and that our Front Office TEAM were able to rectify the arrival complications and provide a quick and efficient solution. As a Valued GUEST, I was disappointed to hear about...

372 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (232)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (140)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.4 km away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 25 in Kempton Park
1,693 reviews
0.9 km away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
1.0 km away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
1.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport Transit
1.2 km away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport - Best Location, Ultimate Convenience. The pristine four-star Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport is set in the heart of Kempton Park, minutes from OR Tambo International Airport, South Africa's largest airport. An aviation enthusiast's paradise, the hotel is themed around an aircraft hangar. The industrial ambiance of the hotel is felt in the polished concrete floors, steel finishes, chrome lighting and top to bottom windows. Order a cocktail at the long, steel aircraft wing that is the bar, sink into a comfortable couch and relax as you watch the aero planes cruise to the landing strip. The lounge provides a peaceful setting with WiFi access where business travellers can conduct informal meetings. Time-conscious local and international business travellers can enjoy a convenient location 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria and is situated 800m from the Rhodesfield Gautrain Station. Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport offers complimentary shuttles to and from OR Tambo International Airport between 06h15 and 22h45 daily, as well as a shuttle to and from Rhodesfield Gautrain station on request. Whether you're stopping over or have an extended business stay ahead, Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport has it all - trendy pool area, funky bar and The Warehouse restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport

Address: Corner of York & Gladiator Streets | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Price Range: $102 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Marriott so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#9 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room facing the airport if you want to see planes coming and going”
 of 5 bubbles 142RuthS, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing away from the jet noises of the Airport.”
 of 5 bubbles Bill434, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Floor 5 for airport views”
 of 5 bubbles Juno101, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Its a Marriott--the rooms are all the same.”
 of 5 bubbles ohdesi74, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Poor service, poor shuttle, slow room service”
 of 5 bubbles AlecAus, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay