We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Premier Hotel OR Tambo

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,618 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Premier Hotel OR Tambo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,480: English reviews
Manzini, Swaziland
Reviewed 1 week ago

My stay at the hotel exceeded my expectations. The service was excellent from the moment I arrived at the airport where I was warmly received at the Premier hotel desk. Arriving at the hotel took less than 10 minutes to check in and I believe I got one of the best rooms. Dinner was also really good. This will be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sibusisosb
Sefton C, General Manager at Premier Hotel OR Tambo, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest - sibusisosb, Good day to you, and we hope that you are very well. We would like to thank you for your very kind words, it is truly appreciated. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your very short visit to our property. Once again, many thanks for your feedback, and looking forward to your next visit to...

Montespertoli, Italy
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Premier OT Tambo hotel several times. I like the hotel as it has very clean and comfortable rooms. In my previous stays, the staff was excellent while this time a good number of them seemed lazy and not very interested to the needs of the customers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G5281ICstefanom
Sefton C, General Manager at Premier Hotel OR Tambo, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guests - G5281ICstefanom, Good day to you, and we hope that you are very well. Many thanks for your constructive and honest feedback, it is truly appreciated. I would like to profusely apologize for the disturbing matter that you were exposed to, for which there is absolutely no excuse, and which is furthermore totally unacceptable. I am truly...

Marlow
Reviewed 1 week ago

We used this hotel primarily as somewhere to chill out, recover from our long flight and prepare ourselves for our driving tour of South Africa. It worked perfectly for this purpose. In addition, it was very reasonably priced. I had contacted the hotel beforehand and asked if we could check in early and this was no problem. They sent me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mocampion
Sefton C, General Manager at Premier Hotel OR Tambo, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guests - Mocampion, Good day to yourselves, and we hope that you are very well. Once again, many thanks for your constructive and honest feedback, it is truly appreciated. I would like to profusely apologize for the matters as raised by yourself i.e. the slow service in terms of your A 'la Carte order as well as the...

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Unfortunately we were only able to stay one night at the hotel but thoroughly enjoyed our short stay. Staff were friendly, room was spacious and clean. Shower pressure was good and towels soft and large. Even though very close to the airport rooms are quiet and quality sleep was possible. I utilised the airport shuttle and the driver was friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer196807
Sefton C, General Manager at Premier Hotel OR Tambo, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest - Jennifer196807, Good day to yourselves, and we hope that you are very well. We would like to thank you for your very kind words, it is truly appreciated. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your very short visit to our property. Once again, many thanks for your feedback, and looking forward to your next visit to...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very good hotel only downfall was we had to leave for the airport at 5am so we were unable to have our breakfast that is meant to be included in the price, disappointing that they couldnt make any other arrangements for anything small for us to have instead

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markmalaniel
Sefton C, General Manager at Premier Hotel OR Tambo, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest - markmalaniel, Good day to yourselves, and we hope that you are very well. We would like to thank you for your very kind words, it is truly appreciated. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your short visit to our property, however I would like to profusely apologise to yourselves with reference to the lack of an...

East London, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

The service received from your shuttle driver was appalling to say the least. The driver was very dismissive and very unhelpful. As a company we were compelled to lodge a formal complaint with the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tbata
Sefton C, General Manager at Premier Hotel OR Tambo, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guests - tbata Good day to yourselves and, and we hope that you are very well. Once again, many thanks for your constructive and honest feedback, it is truly appreciated. I would like to profusely apologize for the various disturbing matters that yourselves were exposed to, which is totally unacceptable. Please be advised that we will most certainly...

Reviewed 1 week ago

I bring a group of safari goers to South Africa 5 - 6 times a year and was really excited when I found this hidden gem, however even the most precious gems can have hidden flaws, and sadly this hotel has one that now precludes me from bringing my clients there any longer. First the hotel and amenities are fantastic,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gavin S
Sefton C, General Manager at Premier Hotel OR Tambo, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest - Gavin S, Good day to you, and we hope that you are very well. Many thanks for your constructive and honest feedback, it is truly appreciated. I would like to profusely apologize for the various matters as reported by yourself, for which there is no excuse. I would like to let you know that I fully...

San Jose, California
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had been traveling over 30 hours to get to South Africa. Our plane landed at 10 so we needed a place to stay overnight before continuing onto our safari. We chose Premier for its price, location, and reviews and were very satisfied with our choice. The hotel is a short distance from the airport. It provides free shuttle service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuperTBQ
Sefton C, General Manager at Premier Hotel OR Tambo, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guests - SuperTBQ, Good day to yourselves, and we hope that you are very well. We would like to thank you for your constructive feedback, it is truly appreciated. Cons: -Very small elevators -A bit dated and dark hallways -Rooms could use some updating -Shuttle can be quite tight and cramped We are thrilled that you enjoyed your...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great place to stay very helpful staff . I stay here often between travels and lay overs. The food is good the rooms are very nice what more can I say it's a very recommendable place to go and beats the places around

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean W
Sefton C, General Manager at Premier Hotel OR Tambo, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest - Sean W, Good day to you, and we hope that you are very well. We would like to thank you for your very kind words, it is truly appreciated. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your short visit to our property. Once again, many thanks for your feedback, and looking forward to your next visit to...

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 1 week ago

Conveniet to airport with frequent free shuttle. Friendly reception staff. Good restaurant. Nice pool. Room was clean and spacious. Free wifi easily accessible from room. Very quiet considering nearness to airport. I'd recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank teresamX1006UG
Sefton C, General Manager at Premier Hotel OR Tambo, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest - teresamX1006UG, Good day to you, and we hope that you are very well. We would like to thank you for your very kind words, it is truly appreciated. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your short visit to our property. Once again, many thanks for your feedback, and looking forward to your next visit to both...

529 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (165)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (50)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (336)
Viewed
Amenities (31)
Viewed
Deluxe Standard Room (49)
Viewed
Executive Family Room (55)
Viewed
Pool (15)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
Second Pool (11)
Viewed
Suite (83)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
1.2 km away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
1.4 km away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#3 of 25 in Kempton Park
1,194 reviews
2.0 km away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#12 of 25 in Kempton Park
388 reviews
1.3 km away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport welcomes you to Johannesburg, the major international gateway into South Africa. Johannesburg, more commonly known as Jo'burg or Jozi, is a rapidly changing city and the vibrant heart of South Africa. Vibrant and dynamic, Jozi has a throbbing pulse, an awesome sense of rhythm and invites you to indulge in the extravagant comfort of the Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport. Named for the O.R. Tambo International Airport which is situated a mere 1,2km away, Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo airport is the ideal destination for both the leisure and business traveller. Far from being just a stay-over, the Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo provides all the services and style necessary to make for a comfortable travel experience.This pristine hotel offers 275 rooms (49 of which are suites with their own lounges), public areas offer free Wi-Fi internet connections, in-room dining, in-room safety deposit box, business centre, swimming pool deck, gymnasium, restaurant and two bars along with, room service and secure undercover parking.Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo also contains a large conference centre, with nine conference rooms and board-rooms, able to hold up to 800 delegates cinema-style along with state-of-the-art facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Premier Hotel OR Tambo

Address: 73 Gladiator Street | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Price Range: $92 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Premier Hotel OR Tambo 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Premier Hotel OR Tambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Premier Hotel OR Tambo staff and other travellers.
44 questions
Ask a question
New York City, New York

See all questions (44)

Questions? Get answers from Premier Hotel OR Tambo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Paying for a suite with a private lounge and desk area is great for business”
 of 5 bubbles Jennifer196807, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I always ask a room on high level floor, away from elevator”
 of 5 bubbles 7annickg, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the third floor are quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 468hughies, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We have had several different rooms over various stays, all good”
 of 5 bubbles dustyfootprints, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room we stayed on the far right corner has a good view of the lodge entrance”
 of 5 bubbles KebawetseM, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay