We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

388 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 284: English reviews
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had stayed here for a day. Found the rooms to be clean and the staff was very polite and helped carry all my extra baggage. The hotel also provides a shuttle to and from the airport. Would definitely stay here again on my next trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiararitu
Thabazimbi
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Aviator for one night and really enjoyed the hotel and friendly staff and I would stay there again but the shuttle service really let the hotel service down. I wanted to use the shuttle to collect family at the airport and to bring them back to the hotel for breakfast. The shuttle was on time at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicolette593
Vancouver, BC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I hate to say anything bad about this amazing hotel. The staff are what makes it fabulous. From the maintenance guy who went out of his way just because I couldn't figure out the air con, the restaurant staff make you feel like family, the front desk is so helpful in booking transfers and storing luggage. The gym was decent,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bubbles081
Richard S, Public Relations Manager at The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us. I'm so glad to hear our staff are still going out of their way - they are famous for going the extra mile. As for what you found in the bathroom, well in the hotel industry we've seen it all - but sorry it happened at The Aviator and sorry you had...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stopped here before a midnight flight and they could not have done enough. Convenient , courteous and clean the three ' c's' that made for a pleasant stop. The shuttle service was quick comfortable and took us straight to the terminal door.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ROBINONorwich
Richard S, Public Relations Manager at The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to reviews us! I'm so glad you had a positive experience, and hope that we will see you back again for more! Kindest Richard Sherman Marketing Manager

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Aviator hotel seems to be a newer hotel in the heart of Kempton park. The security of this property is very tight and makes one feel very comfortable. The rooms are very big and the beds very comfortable. One of their positives is the staff friendliness, they make you feel like part of the family. Nothing you ask them...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TEBELLO P
Richard S, Public Relations Manager at The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review The Aviator. Our staff are pretty famous for being friendly and accommodating. I have made a note to our housekeeping manager to remind the housekeeping staff to keep it down. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again soon! Kind Regards Richard S Marketing Manager

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was a terrible experience, will not book there again!I was appalled with my stay at Aviator. On both nights, someone tried opening my room door while I was asleep in the room. On the first night, the person went away after attempting to open the room. On the second night, the reception handed my room key, obviously the spare...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kumadhavathim
Richard S, Public Relations Manager at The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo, responded to this review

Hi there I'm so sorry to hear about this! This is definitely unacceptable - and the first time we've had to deal with something like this. We take this very seriously and would like to make it up to you. Did you speak to the duty manager? I will definitely get to the bottom of it. Please leave us a...

Amsterdam
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

When een goed there we had to want a long time before we could check in. At first we got a room which was already occupied. The seconden room was not very clean. The plumming was badly done. The breakfast is what A good would have but poule executed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meinderd
Richard S, Public Relations Manager at The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo, responded to this review

Hi Meinderd I'm so sorry to hear you had trouble at checkin! we have recently taken on some new staff, I'm so sorry you ended up experiencing our training troubles! I hope that we can make it up to you if you stay with us again - I can assure that our service is normally outstanding! Kind Regards Richard Sherman...

Lewisburg, West Virginia
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Loved the decor of old planes recycled. staff efficient and helpful. Free airport shuttle a plus and timely. The on site restaurant was extraordinary. Stayed here two nights three weeks apart. Had two breakfast buffets, one dinner and one lunch....all very good. excellent quality for cost.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BlueFalconRidge
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Conveniently located near the airport, had a double room booked for a family of four- interconnected clean , separate televisions and washrooms and toilets. basic but sufficient bar and dining facilities, decent breakfast. Great for an overnight stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 659matt
Chonburi, Thailand
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Hotel lecated near OR Toambo Airport only 2 km. Quite difficult to find(Entrance too small).Car park is on the back of hotel and very good security.Breakfast is good but no cold drinking water. Room are clean,Our room were a little bit far from elevator. Price is very cheap.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chatphong

132 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (132)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Other (51)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
2.0 km away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 25 in Kempton Park
1,618 reviews
0.9 km away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#3 of 25 in Kempton Park
1,194 reviews
2.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
3.2 km away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
3.4 km away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Featuring a free airport shuttle to OR Tambo International Airport (4 km), The Aviator offers stylish rooms with a satellite TV. Hotel facilities include outdoor pool and restaurant with terrace. All air-conditioned rooms at the Life Hotels. The Aviator come with a private bathroom and have a tea/coffee maker. Guests may make use of the safety deposit box at reception. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo

Address: Corner of Kempton and Bosch Street, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Price Range: $60 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kempton Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room overlooking the pool, next to the reception”
 of 5 bubbles tebellop2015, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Is a bit noisy near the airport....but slept well.”
 of 5 bubbles BlueFalconRidge, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The hotel was two wings. Choose a room in the one away from the motorway and the airport.”
 of 5 bubbles Agnes-Anselm, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“yes tipped ”
 of 5 bubbles N140GBnancyk, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“floor 3, 4 or 5”
 of 5 bubbles WillemHWindhoek, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay