We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport Transit

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport Transit
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 171: English reviews
Slovenia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed there when was in transit in October. Service at reception and check in was efficient and the ladies were very friendly. Room not comfortable and was unable to switch off the air con, with a terrible noise during the entire night.

Helpful?
Thank Michel M
PH-Transit, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport Transit, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Michel Good afternoon and trust that you are well, thank you for taking time to communicate the valuable feedback to us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the discomfort and the inconvenienced caused during your stay with us regarding the temperature in your room. We have since communicated the issue with the company that assists us with the... More 

Bloomington, IN
Level Contributor
355 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you have never had the absolute pleasure of cleaning up and refreshing in a transit lounge or transit hotel you should try it. After a long overnight flight there is little which can feel better, especially if you still have a long day before you enter a bedroom for the night. Protea Hotel in OR Tambo Airport offers full... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynn J
Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed twice in this hotel, but will stay somewhere else next time. There are no extra beds given for children and even the king size is not that comfortable for our family. We normally just stay 1 night as we have a layover of more that 22 hours. We only stayed there as it is in the airport, so... More 

Helpful?
Thank nadinewct
PH-Transit, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport Transit, responded to this review

Dear Nadine Thank you for taking time to commuicate your valuable feedback to us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the discomfort and the inconvinience that was caused during your recent stay. Our rooms can accommodate only two adults per room, however we assist our familiies by booking an addidtional room that is next to the adult room, further more... More 

Kimberley, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Close to OR Tambo while in transit, we arrived at 18h00 our room was not ready, single beds still being converted to a double bed, we had to wait in corridor. The shower needs a good scrub in some of the corners. Pillows was soft and very comfortable. The airport transfer very convenient. The 500mb WiFi cap a bit disappointing.

Helpful?
Thank sefofane
PH-Transit, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport Transit, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Sefofane Thank you for taking time to communicate your valuable feedback to us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the discomfort and the inconvinience that was caused during your recent stay with us. We have addressed the issues with the Executive Housekeeper as our policy of inpecting rooms have not been followed properly thus creating this shortcomings, we... More 

Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night here due to late arrival and early departure. Stay was fine. Rooms have everything that you need, although I must admit I found the bed a bit too soft. Easy transfer to and from the airport which will only take you 10-15 mins. It's that you can't walk from the tarmac to the hotel as that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rob d
PH-Transit, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport Transit, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Rob Thank you for taking time to communicate your valuable feedback to us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the discomfort and the inconvenience that was caused during your recent stay with us. We have addressed the issues with the Executive Housekeeper to identify all the rooms with the soft beds as mentioned so we can be able... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Its a good transit hotel for the night specially if you have kids.if ur transiting through johannesburg only saves u the hassle of all the formalities. Clean, but no room service but u just take the elevator and ur in the duty free

Helpful?
Thank Youmna S
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Firstly, let me say I booked the other Protea Airport hotel on my way to and from Zim and do not make the same mistake I did. They would not let me transfer my reservation. I did stay at the other hotel on my way down but on return I was traveling with a friend and staying at this hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank orchickie
PH-Transit, Rooms Division Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport Transit, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Orchickie Thank you for taking time to communicate your valuable feedback to us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the discomfort and inconvenience that was caused during your recent stay with us. We have addressed the issue of the amount of money that was quoted and what was initially accepted from you,which is $100.00 instead of the $120.00.... More 

New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

A Marriott hotel, seriously? Granted that a weary traveller wishes for a good bed, a welcoming room with at least a bottle of water and a good shower. However, after navigating the brainless and long immigration process in TRANSIT at O R TAMBO Airport, arriving at the reception counter of Protea hotel was another wait. We were lucky to have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shveta T
PH-Transit, Front Desk Agent at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport Transit, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Shveta T, I would firstly like to Thank you for taking the time to review our property, As Protea Hotel Transit we strive on delivering The best GUEST service at all times however we have unfortunately fallen short of that standard during your previous stay with us. We apologise formost in allocating a room that was not up... More 

Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2016

My wife and I had just completed about a 3 1/2 week vacation in South Africa and had just been dropped off at the airport. Starting thru security I discovered I was missing my pocket camera. I deduced that I must have left it in the vehicle that had brought us to the airport. I needed a way to contact... More 

Helpful?
Thank vic970
PH-Transit, Front Desk Agent at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport Transit, responded to this review

Dear vic970, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with us, Nqobile Radebe was commended on her helpfulness and we hope to someday host you as a GUEST. Yours In hospitality Nonhlanhla Cindi More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

I was so happy to see the hotel after 24 hours of flying, but that's not the basis for my review. Wonderful friendly staff helpful with every request I made. Since you are already inside through security and everything, you literally walk out from the hotel straight to your gate. I thought I would have more trouble finding it but... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank MsNance-TX
PH-Transit, Marketing Assistant at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport Transit, responded to this review

Good Day MsNance, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. Customer satisfaction is our number one concern. Thank you for your kind words regarding our Hotel and STAFF. The kind words will be passed on to the TEAM. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best... More 

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 km away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.2 km away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
1.4 km away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 25 in Kempton Park
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
0.3 km away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
1.1 km away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
PLEASE NOTE THAT THE PROTEA HOTEL TRANSIT O.R. TAMBO AIRPORT IS EXCLUSIVELY FOR GUESTS IN INTERNATIONAL TRANSIT. Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport - A Classical African Experience for transient travellers. The Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport, situated behind Immigrations inside international departures at OR Tambo International Airport, offers a welcome opportunity for transient travellers to rejuvenate between international flights. As the only hotel in this location, we offer the utmost convenience to all international travellers in transit – catering to your specific needs. Be it a refreshing shower or a quick nap on our comfortable beds before you board your next long flight; Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport is the perfect choice for you! The classic and modern Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport ensures that you receive fast, efficient and friendly service, from express check in to check out. Our location also offers you the opportunity to roam the wide selection of retail shops and restaurants should you have the time. We have taken every measure to ensure that your stay with us is as convenient and enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport Transit

Address: Terminal A, O.R. Tambo International Airport | exclusively for guests in International Transit, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport Transit)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Price Range: $136 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport Transit 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport Transit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport Transit staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport Transit staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Protea Transit Hotel rooms are inside the airport security area and the staff is extremely helpful.”
 of 5 bubbles vic970, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are small. I am platinum member & my room was automatically upgraded. Nice, large, spacious with every amenity needed.”
 of 5 bubbles S6779KRsandys, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Most all the rooms are overlooking a runway and or airport buildings. Not much to look at.”
 of 5 bubbles I759XQmarkd, 20 Mar 2016 | Read review
“There are no windows in the rooms, Staff is extremely rude!”
 of 5 bubbles Leandro_Ang, 14 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Any room will do really.”
 of 5 bubbles idaht, 6 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay