We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Midrand Conference Centre

Save
Traveller (19)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (1)
Ratings and reviews
  • Excellent16%
  • Very good15%
  • Average23%
  • Poor20%
  • Terrible26%
9 Aug 2017
“Hmm convenient and ok”
7 Mar 2018
“Terrible Accommodation ”
View all reviews
What's included
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Wheelchair Access
Business Centre
Laundry Service
Fitness centre
4 Star Hotel
View all hotel information
Location and contact
661 Pendulum Road | Halfway House Ext 12, Midrand, South Africa
18.5 km to O.R.Tambo Intl Airport
19 restaurants are within a 2 km radius
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
11
10
14
12
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
11
10
14
12
16
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 63 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2018 via mobile

This place is very disappointing from appearance to stay. The place holds student accommodation and business accommodation on one premises. The rooms and hallways stick of smoke. There's a constant noise. Only good thing is the staff I met were friendly. No value for money...More

Thank Pat J
Reviewed February 22, 2018 via mobile

The Centre boasts a wedding chapel , conference centre, accommodation etc. I stayed in the guest houses with a Thai theme. The rooms are tiny making them awkward when sharing with another person. The water pressure is much to be desired in the shower. Lastly,...More

Thank Blondieza
Response from Kaylene W, General Manager at Midrand Conference CentreResponded February 26, 2018

Dear Blondieza Thank you for your review. And thank you so much for your compliment regarding our extremely helpful and willing staff. Guests recognise these are people who genuinely have your best interests at heart Regarding your comments on the Thai Guest House, I am...More

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed February 10, 2018 via mobile

On arrival at the very cramped reception staff seemed overwhelmed and I'll prepared. With our key, two remotes and porter we attempted to find our room. The staff were unfamiliar with the layout of the hotel. The welcome letter was blunt and uninviting, listing rules,...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Response from Kaylene W, General Manager at Midrand Conference CentreResponded February 26, 2018

Thank you for your review. We are profoundly sorry about your experience with us. We are aware of what happened that day as what you described has never happened here before. There was a full investigation into the matter and it transpired that due to...More

Reviewed November 9, 2017

The reception service was terrible on booking in. Then I get handed a bunch of remotes,Keys etc and advised if not returned will be charged for them. The place is so big - Drove around for 10 x minutes looking for my room. Eventually found...More

Thank trevor312564
Response from Kaylene W, General Manager at Midrand Conference CentreResponded February 26, 2018

Dear Trevor We deeply regret that you did not enjoy your experience with us. After your review, we instigated a full blown investigation into how you were checked and by whom. The entire team went into a refresher training course to correct their service and...More

Reviewed October 19, 2017 via mobile

Recently attending a conference at this very large conference centre which is like a small town with all the various large separate conference areas All conference facilities available Free covered parking for the delegates Buffet lunch was excellent with many different types of food to...More

Thank BARRYBE
Response from Kaylene W, General Manager at Midrand Conference CentreResponded October 20, 2017

Hi Barrybe Thank you so much for your very kind words. Very much appreciated Look forward to welcoming you again Kind regards Kaylene

View more reviews
About
Hotel class
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
102
Price range
US$60 - US$80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Midrand
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Banquet Room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Wheelchair Access
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
102
Price range
US$60 - US$80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Midrand
Hotel class
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
102
Price range
US$60 - US$80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Midrand
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (19)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (8)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Thivhi R
September 10, 2015|
Answer
Response from Kaylene W | Property representative |
Hi Thivhi We don't have a spa on site but we can most certainly arrange for a mobile spa service to come to our premises for you. Let us know what treatments you are looking for and we will come back to you... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"The rooms facing the rear gates are convenient for early risers and conference since they are private, with..."
Read review
"If at Gallagher request for rooms that are closer (West)"
Read review
"Only rating the venue and services offered during the two-day event"
Read review
"As for the newer rooms closer to the front gate."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing