We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Celtis Manor GuestHouse

Agoda.comUS$52*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Celtis Manor GuestHouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

35 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 34: English reviews
Start your review of The Celtis Manor GuestHouse
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What an incredibly stunning estate this quaint little guesthouse is positioned on. With flowers of all sorts, a lovely pool, and even wild buck running around the outskirts, it was a flora and fauna seeker's dream come true! :) I stayed at the Celtis Manor for nearly a week, and it was absolutely perfect. The host was a very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
Hilary H, Owner at The Celtis Manor GuestHouse, responded to this review

Wow Ben, so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you so much! I will pass this on to my staff as well. I trust your flight back to the USA went smoothly. Until next time then.......

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very elegant and well-positioned 'home from home'. I loved the decor and the rooms were very comfortable and the surroundings beautiful. A big thank you to Hilary, for making us feel so welcome - you make the best fried eggs !! We loved chilling in your cozy pub and the selection of wines has given me some food for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gayemg2017
Hilary H, Owner at The Celtis Manor GuestHouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review and we do look forward to next year! I'll have an even better selection for you!

Kathu, South Africa
Reviewed 19 April 2017

The place is quite good for travelers, however I hope they up their Breakfast menu it is limited and there is no much variety. I can recommend it to other people who come to Midrand and Kyalami area for either business and leisure. Its quiet and and have simplicity attached to it.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank audicioustjobor
Hilary H, Owner at The Celtis Manor GuestHouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We shall certainly endeavour to improve on our Menu that offers both a full Buffet from fresh fruit salad daily with cereals, yogurts, cold meats, a cheese platter with croissants and three different breads. Then we have a choice of cooked breakfasts that range from Omelettes to eggs any way you'd like them with bacon...

Stellenbosch
Reviewed 13 April 2017

I liked the venue, but unfortunately the hostess ruined my experience at the Celtis Manor. During a previous stay at this same venue, I had to leave early to attend to other business in Cape Town. The company still paid for the entire booking as the change to my schedule happened on short notice. During the next visit the hostess...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank droets
Hilary H, Owner at The Celtis Manor GuestHouse, responded to this review

I have taken note of the content of your review, however, in my view the Hostess was most certainly not disrespectful, she was only doing her job as you had in fact vacated your room (removed all personal belongings). Management feels that a letter with the full explanation should be addressed to the management of the Company involved.

Durban
Reviewed 14 November 2016

I stayed just one night at The Celtis Manor Guesthouse but was very impressed with courtesy of the manageress Hilary and the comfort of the clean room provided. I checked in on the 9th of November,2016 and checked out on morning of the 10th. I had a very tasty and filling breakfast sitting at a table overlooking the beautiful garden...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DocDurban
Hilary H, Manager at The Celtis Manor GuestHouse, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at The Celtis Manor Guest House and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, until next time........

George, South Africa
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Stayed very nice. Quiet place out of city but in the city. Nearby to all the places I had to be. Hillary is very friendly and professional. Rooms are very neat with nice beds and linen. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Will stay there again without a second thought.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank L6094VSdavide
Hilary H, General Manager at The Celtis Manor GuestHouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying at The Celtis Manor Guest House and so glad you were comfortable. Until next time.....

Reviewed 23 October 2016

We, Dutch couple, had a very good stay with Hillary helping us out with all our questions and giving us advice where ever she could. The room was spacious and clean. The breakfast was good, the optional dinner very good. The guesthouse is well situated for exploration of the centre of Johannesburg as well as the countryside with several game...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juliette P
Hilary H, General Manager at The Celtis Manor GuestHouse, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at The Celtis Manor Guest House. I trust you had a smooth flight home. Until next time....

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Our room was very well appointed with every amenity and all else we needed. It was well maintained and quiet. The gardens are a joy to behold and can be used freely. The bird life can keep one occupied for hours on end.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MartinHampton
Hilary H, General Manager at The Celtis Manor GuestHouse, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at The Celtis Manor Guest House, we look forward to your return.

Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Difficult to review as we had mixed experiences. Booking was accepted but we got an alternative to the selected room. The facility is excellent. Sleep quality excellent, clean and very spacious. Facility is placed in a quiet setting. Breakfast is only from 7am onward - no exception and no variation. One night we struggled to get in as someone left...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niel G
Hilary H, General Manager at The Celtis Manor GuestHouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest feedback Mr Goslett. I am pleased that your unit was comfortable but its such a shame that you didn't opt for our "take-away" breakfast as we are known to make the best "sarmies" in town. Until next time then......

Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

If you can appreciate something from older times,cozy,quiet &uncomplicated,with a farm feel,it's a place you'd love! Welcomed warmly by Hilary.Dinner smelt divine! Delicious breakfast. Clean & comfortable.Excellent value!Highly commended!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Simonè E
Hilary H, Owner at The Celtis Manor GuestHouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us, I look forward to welcoming you again soon

5 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Midrand hotels
4.6 km away
BON Hotel Midrand
BON Hotel Midrand
#5 of 10 in Midrand
71 reviews
4.0 km away
Premier Hotel Midrand
Premier Hotel Midrand
#1 of 10 in Midrand
298 reviews
5.9 km away
Midrand Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Midrand Samrand
2.2 km away
Aramesh Luxury Guesthouse
Aramesh Luxury Guesthouse
#11 of 57 in Midrand
11 reviews
1.6 km away
Heron Chase Guest House
Heron Chase Guest House
#35 of 57 in Midrand
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This tranquil thatched country Guest House offers comfortably decorated bedrooms designed to suit the needs and expectations of both corporate and leisure travellers. The Guest House offers free broadband and some units have access to the garden. Relax at the large swimming pool in the landscaped bird filled gardens. Full breakfasts and home cooked dinners, or treat yourself at the many varied restaurants and pubs nearby. Self catering options. Local and airport transfers arranged. Secure parking. TGCSA 4 star Guest House. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Celtis Manor GuestHouse

Address: 13 Jupiter Street | Crowthorne, Midrand 1684, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Midrand
Price Range: $58 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Celtis Manor GuestHouse 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Celtis Manor GuestHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Celtis Manor GuestHouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lovely gardens, Try the avocados!!”
benh472, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“Room Number 7 was great with a lounge area and kitchen will all the amenities”
gayemg2017, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“The room facing the garden is the best”
DocDurban, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Any room would be better than expected!”
MartinHampton, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
4 of 4
Agoda.com
US$52* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$70
Travelocity
TripAdvisorUS$52
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates