We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Misty Hills Country Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Misty Hills Country Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

445 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 331: English reviews
Start your review of Misty Hills Country Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I got married in the Elephant Room at Misty Hills in February 2016. We returned there on Easter weekend 2017 and stayed in the same room (honeymoon suite 900) as we did on our wedding night, but this time we had our 5-month old son with us. The venue supplied us with a camp-cot and baby friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chaz N
RecreationAfrica, Manager at Misty Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

We were so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Misty Hills – and that you felt so at home! We pride ourselves in making each experience a memorable one for our guests and it’s good to know we are succeeding!

Washington
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is my fifth visit to Misty Hills and each time I am blown away by how much better it gets. Just when you think it can't get any better, it does. The hotel itself is an African experience and the service is outstanding. The restaurants serve incredibly delicious food presented in a beautiful manner. And I had the best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judi M
RecreationAfrica, Manager at Misty Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your very positive comments about Misty Hills. We make every effort to ensure that our guests have a relaxing and enjoyable stay and we are delighted that we met your expectations!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed at Misty Hills for three nights. Before visiting the place i had so many positive reviews of the place. I had great expectations. I must admit i was not disappointed. The place is situated close to central Johannesburg but in a quiet part of Muldersdrift. Away from the hustle and bustle of the city. On arrival we were quickly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rajendran G
RecreationAfrica, Manager at Misty Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

We’re thrilled that you enjoyed your Misty Hills experience – it’s always wonderful to receive such positive feedback! Please come and visit us again soon!

Kempton Park, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What an absolutely stunning place! We stayed at Misty Hills for a weekend and wished we never had to leave. The gardens are amazing and it felt like we travelled much farther than the mere 80km out of Johannesburg. The staff were incredibly friendly and always close by when we needed some information. We spent Saturday in the Cradle of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dean_Dedre
RecreationAfrica, Manager at Misty Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Misty Hills! We are delighted you took the time to visit and that you had such a positive experience. We look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our first impression walking into the hotel premises was really good with a huge original reception area (African style etc) The path to the hotel room was also very romantic with lots of plants an statues. The rooms however were very dirty and dark and full of bugs. It was basically so dark in the rooms that you couldn't make...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Delia R
Centurion, South Africa
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

I loved everything about this place from the rooms,garden. I enjoyed carnivore a lot, friendly staff n wonderful . Enjoyed the breakfast too. My favorite was da swing beds in the pool area, I spent hours there. I definitely need to go back for a whole weekend atleast 😍

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manoh29
RecreationAfrica, Manager at Misty Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

We’re thrilled that you enjoyed your Misty Hills experience – it’s always wonderful to receive such positive feedback! Please come and visit us again soon!

Reviewed 14 March 2017

What a wonderful weekend in the big smoke. The grounds of Misty Hills are magnificent. I had to keep reminding myself that I was in fact in the city and not the bush. The rooms are beautiful and we were fortunate to eat at the Carnivore restaurant

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
RecreationAfrica, Manager at Misty Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Misty Hills for your recent stay in Muldersdrift. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable time. Is was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you again soon!

Moscow
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Rooms are actually not. They are huts, bungalows - you name it. Very stylish, perfectly kept and full of modern amenities. Grounds are beautiful - feels like you live in a forest, not jungle, savanna forest or something like it. The area is large, so from the reception you are taken to your hut by a golf cart. Breakfast is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bryuzga
RecreationAfrica, Manager at Misty Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Misty Hills! We are delighted you took the time to visit and that you had such a positive experience. We look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed here at the end of our trip to meet friends after a week long safari. Beautiful setting, even more beautiful room (we had a suite) and a very relaxing atmosphere. We ate at the carnivore restaurant. Bit of advice, don't fill up too early on as the food keeps coming and gets more exotic after a while. It's delicious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James S
RecreationAfrica, Manager at Misty Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your very positive comments about Misty Hills. We make every effort to ensure that our guests have a relaxing and enjoyable stay and we are delighted that we met your expectations!

Reviewed 13 February 2017

We booked to eat at The Carnivore and thought we would spend the night there instead of driving after the meal. The rooms are all in a lovely setting of trees and ponds and local plants. The bed was very comfortable and the staff were helpful and friendly. The price was good too. The kids were able to go swimming...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vicki T
RecreationAfrica, Manager at Misty Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

We were so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Misty Hills! We pride ourselves in making each experience a memorable one for our guests and it’s good to know we are succeeding!

467 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (435)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (139)
Viewed
Room/Suite (71)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (107)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muldersdrift
32.7 km away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
52 reviews
2.0 km away
Avianto
Avianto
#3 of 5 in Muldersdrift
201 reviews
30.9 km away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.4 km away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
298 reviews
7.7 km away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 5 in Muldersdrift
321 reviews
20.7 km away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The attractive Misty Hills Country Hotel Johannesburg is a charming, stone-built hotel complex. Set in lush, landscaped gardens and surrounded by natural forest and grassland in the heart of the Kromdraai Valley , this Johannesburg Hotel promises an unforgettable South Africa Holiday. Offering unparalleled Johannesburg accommodation, exotic dining, and fabulous leisure facilities, this South Africa Hotel is a favourite with many business and leisure travellers. Just 25 kilometres away from Johannesburg , the Misty Hills Country Hotel Johannesburg is ideally positioned with easy access to Johannesburg International Airport and is guaranteed to delight the most discerning guest seeking comfort and tranquillity. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Misty Hills Country Hotel

Address: 69 Drift Boulevard, Muldersdrift 1739, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Muldersdrift
Price Range: $107 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Hills Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Misty Hills Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Hills Country Muldersdrift
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Misty Hills Country Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
jhb
over a year ago
Maseru District, Lesotho

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Misty Hills Country Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Peaceful, quiet and luxurious”
, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Each visit, I have stayed in a different suite. They have all been outstandingly, beautifully African in style.”
JudiM454, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get a super deluxe room”
DubaiCheuk, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the executive rooms”
fiksd, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room no 835 (Suite) was really quiet and beautiful and cozy, we were very satisfied we enjoyed the outside shower and the spa bath!”
_linda_vanwyk, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5