We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Vineyard Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,261 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Vineyard Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,141: English reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

The Vineyard hotel has a team of staff who are all about the detail. I loved every minute of my stay and was constantly surprised by small acts of service which added up to a wonderful experience. The garden rooms are lovely but try to get a mountain facing one if you can. The hotel provides new guests with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rene B
South Sinai, Egypt
Reviewed 12 March 2016

This was our 3rd stay at the Vineyard and again we were not disappointed. We visited for 5 days in March as we were doing the Cape Town Cycle tour. The hotel was full to capacity but we never felt it and always managed to get quick service with a smile. The room (courtyard facing) was more than comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Docd869
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights at the end of our road trip. On arrival the efficient staff took care of our car,luggage and checked us in with minimum fuss. Our room was on the ground floor, was very comfy and tastefully furnished. Bfast was very good with a good choice from the buffet or from the menu. It does...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GraJules
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at the Vineyard. We have commenced a long term plan to resolve the congestion that occurs at breakfast when we are full and have inclement weather. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Vineyard. Warm regards Roy Davies

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2016

The Vineyard used to be the go-to hotel for anyone who didn't want a resort or beachfront hotel in Cape Town. I was very much looking forward to our stay here, the last one having been some 10 years ago. What a disappointment! The decor has been ruined by some trendy idiot who thinks black lampshades stuffed with cloth are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Fran C
Bath
Reviewed 3 March 2016 via mobile

What hotel has Table Mountain as a backdrop and 7 acres of beautiful gardens complete with giant tortoises. The service is excellent and somehow the hotel discovered it was our golden wedding anniversary and sent complimentary champagne, roses and a present to our room. Our standard courtyard room had been refurbished and was roomy, stylish, comfortable and air conditioned with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clive H
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Clive We are pleased that we could add to your golden wedding anniversary memories, and look forward to seeing you back at the Vineyard for your diamond anniversary. Warm regards Roy Davies

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 March 2016

Took my mother and a couple of her friends for lunch for her 86th birthday today. We were on the patio and after a lady initially served us - taking our drinks and meal order - we didn't see her again. In fact we waited a very long time for our light lunch to arrive (and it wasn't busy at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carol M
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 March 2016

There was no problem with the room or the location. The accommodation was very comfortable. The problems lay elsewhere. Never in my life have I had to queue for a breakfast table at a hotel where I am a resident. The outside area set aside for residents for breakfast was completely inadequate. I feel priority should be given to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah M
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2016

We adore staying at The Vineyard, and once again, it didn't disappoint! The standard of service from the staff is consistently excellent: The Doormen, the Valet Parking, Reception, Barmen, Waiters and Waitresses, and House keeping are all, without fail, charming, courteous, gracious and helpful. The setting is unparalleled, an the food delicious. As for the deep, deep comfort of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sockszilla
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the kind words, for recognising the team and commenting on the beds. No need to steal them, we can tell you where we got ours. Warm regards Roy Davies

shropshire
Reviewed 1 March 2016

This hotel is ideally placed for all Cape Town attractions including The Waterfront and other seaside venues. The staff were excellent and breakfasts superb. The gardens were particularly attractive and a lovely place to stroll around after the busy streets of Cape Town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cmsj
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and were able to get out and see something of the city. We do hope we will see you at the hotel again soon. Kind regards Roy Davies

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 28 February 2016

We stayed here a few days before our Rovos Rail trip to Victoria Falls. What an excellent hotel. Stunning gardens, delicious food, comfortable spacious rooms with a lovely view onto the courtyard where tree ferns and frogs live, and service with a smile all the time. The ceramics on the walls are beautiful and I would like to know more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Helen Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Some of the pieces on the walls were indeed done by our late Matriarch Kitty Petousis. You can find out more about her on our website under the news tab. Kitty was an exceptionally talented, wonderful lady and we really miss her. Warm...

947 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (700)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (219)
Viewed
Dining (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (88)
Viewed
View from Room (58)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (229)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (201)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Garden View Junior Suite (37)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (5)
Viewed
Mountain View Room (32)
Viewed
Mountain View Suite (52)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,657 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,497 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A preferred 4-star hotel for discerning Cape Town visitors, the Vineyard Hotel offers 208 luxury accommodation options, 2 award-winning restaurants, an acclaimed spa and fitness centre, indoor (heated) and outdoor swimming pool, free wireless internet, as well as a top-rated conference and functions venue. Set in an idyllic 7-acre garden estate on Table Mountain's eastern slopes, close to the airport, the city and the many delights of Africa's No 1 leisure destination. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Vineyard Hotel

Address: Colinton Road (off Protea Road), Newlands 7700, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Price Range: $218 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vineyard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vineyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vineyard Hotel Newlands
Vineyard Hotel And Spa
Vineyard Hotel Cape Town/Newlands, South Africa
Vineyard Cape Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Vineyard Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Vineyard Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“away from garden cafe”
MKTR, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are good”
DandJE, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room with a balcony”
JaneChichester, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I would pick a Mountain View Room We are in a River Suite which is lovely and quiet but having tried both would go for the view next time”
DebraG366, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Request a room overlooking the gardens and mountains”
janetsD4602EI, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5