We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Brooklyn Guesthouses

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Brooklyn Guesthouses
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

25 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 25: English reviews
Vilanculos
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

I did a overnight stay here last night. Staff was super friendly even when I called and booked the room. I booked the 2 course dinner. Way too much food for me, but it was delicious. Room was clean and neat. Slept very well. I would stay here again when I do a trip to Pretoria. Its close to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lida K
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

When I got to Brooklyn guesthouses after a long trip, I found that they didn't know about my booking and was fully booked. The manager kindly booked another guest house for me (The Rose) down the road and had a staff take me there. I eventually lodged at The Rose for the rest of my stay. It was a very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ihuoma I
Mokopane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2016

The guest house is located in a safe and quiet surburb of Brooklyn. The Breakfast is okay. The room we were located needs a lot of work, I was not happy with the bed (old and noisy), the room did not have a heater or air-conditioner (it is winter time).

Helpful?
Thank Mantshom
Michael N, Owner at Brooklyn Guesthouses, responded to this review

Good day Sir First of all thank you for honest comments, I do apologize for the inconvenience you've experienced at our establishment. We are busy refurbishing all our rooms but the process takes time, the reception does have extra heaters and all our rooms do not have Air-Conditioning. This however I know is not your responsibility. Thus we would like... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2016

The friendly staff makes you feel welcome when you arrive and throughout your stay. The rooms are mostly old manors and thus roomy. The facilities are basic, but you have all self-catering facilities in the house, if not in the room. They have small conference facilities, a large garden to relax in and a pool for the summer. It is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sakkie58
Michael N, Owner at Brooklyn Guesthouses, responded to this review

Thank you Sir for kind review, We love to hear that our establishment is enjoyed by our guests be it business or leisure We hope to see you again soon Kind regards More 

Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2016

We visit Pretoria twice a year and always stay at Brooklyn Guesthouse everytime, the most beautiful place with accomodation for everyone's needs. We love room 24 that is a private garden cottage at the swimmimg pool, were we can enjoy breakfast on the patio in the mornings. The staff is very friendly and very helpfull. We can highly recommend Brooklyn... More 

Helpful?
Thank wilnarossouw
Michael N, Owner at Brooklyn Guesthouses, responded to this review

You are so welcome Wilna Thank you for your kind words, and we hope to see you again soon. It is always a pleasure having you with us. Till the next visit. More 

Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2016

I stayed at the Brooklyn Guesthouses for three nights as an educator for a school tennis tour. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. All 10 rooms were clean when we arrived. Breakfast was delicious and the guest house gladly accommodated us with an earlier breakfast due to our tour's demands. The guest house is ideally situated in walking distance from Brooklyn... More 

Helpful?
Thank MaricelleSA
Michael N, Owner at Brooklyn Guesthouses, responded to this review

Hi Maricelle It was a pleasure hosting your group and meeting all of you. We hope to see you again on the next round. Thank you for your well mannered students and your friendliness. Micheal More 

Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2016 via mobile

I am currently staying at Brooklyn guesthouses over a period of 5 nights. The room was adequate for my needs including dstv & wifi with tea/coffee facilities. The shower could have been cleaner as there was still evidence of the previous occupant left in the shower. Complementary shampoo & body wash were provided but obviously left by the last occupant... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sharnay N
Michael N, Owner at Brooklyn Guesthouses, responded to this review

Good day Sharnay N Thank you for you honest review of our establishment, I must apologize for the inconvenience you've experienced, it is unacceptable we have taken it up with the cleaning staff. We do service every room every day and supply new amenities to those new arrival rooms. Your other concerns has also been addressed. In your future visits... More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights with our two young kids. It's a big compound with a lot of space. Our room was actually part of a house with big living rooms and kitchen shared with other rooms. The room itself was fine, nothing special. Nice pool. Pitty you cannot have dinner there but they can order take away for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ewout I
Randburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2015 via mobile

They say if you stick your head in the fire and your feet in ice, you will feel fine, "on average". We'll I feel fine about this visit. The venue is quite interesting and creates a positive environment. Rooms are typical hotel rooms (neat, good bed, clean bath room etc), even though I had to swop to get to a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacques S
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2015

Loved my stay here. The place is designed as a mini-neighborhood. There is one main house and several villas around the compound. The staff is friendly and made me feel like I was staying at a friend's house. Everything was kept clean and food was average. Food is a bit eclectic (fish and chips for breakfast right along yogurt, toast,... More 

Helpful?
Thank K G

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
1.3 km away
Protea Hotel Pretoria Hatfield
1.0 km away
No photo provided
Brooklyn Manor
#150 of 348 in Pretoria
9 reviews
1.2 km away
The Wardrobe Guest House
The Wardrobe Guest House
#29 of 348 in Pretoria
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Murray Street 137 Guest House
Murray Street 137 Guest House
#153 of 348 in Pretoria
13 reviews
0.3 km away
Osborne Guest House
Osborne Guest House
#49 of 348 in Pretoria
40 reviews
0.5 km away
About Guest Lodge
About Guest Lodge
#136 of 348 in Pretoria
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Brooklyn Guesthouses is situated in the tranquil suburb of Brooklyn – one of Pretoria’s most exclusive residential areas.Brooklyn Guesthouses is ideally situated for business, academic, training, sport and leisure itineraries in the greater Pretoria area. It’s a mere 5 minutes drive away from the central business district (CBD) of Pretoria – the capital city of South Africa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Brooklyn Guesthouses

Address: 128 Murray Street | Brooklyn, Pretoria 0181, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Price Range: $71 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brooklyn Guesthouses 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Brooklyn Guesthouses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Brooklyn Guesthouses staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No Comment”
 of 5 bubbles Mantshom, 19 May 2016 | Read review
“Room 24 private garden cottage for 2 people at the pool”
 of 5 bubbles wilnarossouw, 4 May 2016 | Read review
“Room 35 was a crude, dirty cabin in the back of the area. Good for privacy and quiet, bad for overall comfort. Wifi does not work at all in this room.”
 of 5 bubbles SatuV_12, 20 Feb 2013 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay