We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Manhattan Hotel

Save
Traveller (31)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (20)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good42%
  • Average23%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“gautrain station”(11 reviews)
“buffet dinner”(8 reviews)
“noisy location”(2 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
Room Service
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
34
45
27
5
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
34
45
27
5
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgautrain stationbuffet dinnernoisy locationfree shuttlean excellent hotelshuttle serviceonly stayed one nightconference venueexcellent servicerooms are cleanhome away from homecbdventilationfacilitiesgymbedding
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

I stayed here for two weeks when I first arrived in South Africa. The staff couldn't have been more welcoming. There was initial confusion about my stay there, so one of the managers, Nice, offered his telephone to me to call the university. Within a...More

Thank bseo-pero
Response from YolandiLoock, Manager at Manhattan HotelResponded 5 days ago

Dear Bseo-Pero, Thank you so much for this amazing review on our TripAdvisor page, we truly appreciate these wonderful feedback. Thank you for choosing the Manhattan Hotel. We are extremely happy that our staff looked after you. We will definitely give this feedback to our...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I attended a conference at manhattan for 5days and it was a good stay. The buffet had variety and rotation of different dishes. not too far from the gautrain, about 5 minutes walk and a free shuttle to and from the gautrain station and malls...More

Thank Towa24
Response from YolandiLoock, Manager at Manhattan HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Towa24, Thank you so much for the lovely review, we always appreciate the feedback. Thank you for choosing Manhattan Hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed our Buffet. We do apologize for the lifts, we do have technicians that is currently busy working on...More

Reviewed April 18, 2018

This is the worst hotel ever, booked in with my husband all the way from Botswana, im 7months pregnant, I was given a room on the second floor and was not even told elevators were not working had to take the stairs, went back to...More

1  Thank Ipeleng M
Response from YolandiLoock, Manager at Manhattan HotelResponded May 2, 2018

Dear Ipeleng, Thank you so much for the review, we always appreciate it. Our Front office Manager has tried to get hold of you, but with no luck. Nanette or Mieta would love to speak to you if you could kindly send them an email...More

Reviewed March 2, 2018

We arrived earlier than check-in time, expecting to have to leave our bags and go to explore, however the reception staff were very accommodating and told us they would speak with housekeeping to have our room made ready as soon as possible. We were told...More

Thank glenmoor27
Management response:Responded March 5, 2018

Dear Valued guest, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write to us regarding your recent stay at the Manhattan Hotel. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your first stay with us. We are truly sorry for the delay...More

Reviewed February 28, 2018

For some reason this hotel has a lot of good reviews, and I booked a steady based on that. Unfortunately I was sorely disappointed. Upon arrival one of only two elevators serving this large hotel was out of service, resulting in massive delays getting to/from...More

Thank deepspace65
Management response:Responded March 6, 2018

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that your stay did not meet expectations. We truly value your feedback and will always welcome suggestions on how to improve our service delivery. I would like to start by apologizing...More

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Spa
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Business Centre with Internet Access
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Shuttle Bus Service
Breakfast included
Concierge
Banquet Room
Self-Serve Laundry
Babysitting
Breakfast Available
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Spa
Details
Price range
US$60 - US$77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#9 Spa Hotel in Pretoria
#16 Business Hotel in Pretoria
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$60 - US$77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#9 Spa Hotel in Pretoria
#16 Business Hotel in Pretoria
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (31)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (20)
Pool & Beach (2)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (5)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
sproggz
January 30, 2018|
Answer
Response from YolandiLoock | Property representative |
Good day Sproggz, We do have Transport to pick you up to-and-from the Airport at an additional cost of R280.00 one way. And the transport must be pre-booked. You may contact us on 012 392 0000. Kind regards, Yolandi Loock
0
Votes
Daad D
February 21, 2017|
Answer
Response from Nico R | Property representative |
Dear Daad D, Thank you for your request. We have special rates loaded on our website and even more reduced rates for Fridays and Saturdays nights. Please visit our website and click on book online or call the hotel on... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"This hotel is on a very busy street. It's city center, so expect to bring ear plugs if you want complete..."
Read review
"Lower floors are better to avoid the terrible elevators."
Read review
"Request the windows not to face Scheiding Street, unless you're okay with the noise."
Read review
"I would ask for a corner suite and preferably away from the busy intersection corner."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing