We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road

Booking.comUS$105*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$134*
US$105*
Great Deal
US$107*
US$107*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

649 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 560: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
 Click to rate
Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is welcoming, clean and comfortable. We had a good sized room with the expected amenities. The hotel is a short walk from the Conference Centre in Sandton (and Nelson Mandela Square), and also has its own conference rooms. Tours can pick up guests without problems. The restaurant menu was a little limited, but the quality was excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
Perth, Australia
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 12 February 2017

This is a great hotel, very central with hourly bus to Sandton City. All the usual nice thing apply to this hotel, nice rooms, good food and very central but the thing that stands out are the people. Great people make great businesses and all the staff were wonderful, very friendly and nothing was too hard. Thank you Fwat Hu,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paul J
About Hotel's Favourite Review
FOM_HIS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Good day Paul J, Thank you for your wonderful review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your comments have been passed onto the team- especially Fhatu, Chuene, Thelma and the Busi the chef and Alfread. Their joy was clearly visible as we always strive to ensure guests such as yourself always feel at home and...

UK
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Holiday Inn Sandton is a great place to stay! Alfred, Wiseman and Victor are brilliant guys! The restaurant is excellent and there's a shuttle bus that takes you to Sandton Square. The rooms are clean and spacious. Staff at reception are always on hand to assist and provide a fantastic service. If you are flying in to O.R Tambo it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulT01691
Lusaka, Zambia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are very good and equipped with all the facilities. The hotel provides free Wi Fi and has a good restaurant and bar. The gym and swimming are ideally located on the top. American buffet breakfast is included in the room rent. But its better you look for some other restaurant nearby for lunch and dinner for change of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pckale
FOM_HIS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Good day pckale Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will afford us the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future Kind regards Dudu Zondo Front Office Manager

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The holiday inn Sandton offers all you need for a good business trip. The hotel is very clean, rooms has good size. Breakfast offers great choices of products. The hotel has a travel desk that can deal with all your transportation needs while in Jo'burg area. A shuttle to the sandton mall and Nelson Mandela square operates freely every 30...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yossi M
FOM_HIS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Good day Yossi M, Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we are truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as our breakfast. We hope you will afford us the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future Kind regards Dudu Zondo Front Office Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent hotels with all the facilities required to ensure your business needs are acquired. The staff and manager personally ensure your stay is the best and your every need it catered to. The executive lounge is great for your business meetings with clients or Skype meetings as well. Theron is also spacious with great views and desk to get some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
FOM_HIS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Good day Gary M, Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review, we are truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and all our facilities. We hope you will afford us the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future Kind regards Dudu Zondo Front Office Manager

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stay anywhere but here. Stayed at 4 hotels in Joberg and by far this is the worst. Even tried to get mgt to fix but no go and in the DNA. Food... can't get correct order, service...they beg for actual cash...mgt....when wrong like actual wrong food order do not even comp rest of order. Again I will pay MORE for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg B
FOM_HIS, Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Dear Greg B Thank you for your feedback on your most recent stay with us. I am indeed very disappointed to hear of the number of issues that went wrong here with my commitment to resolve and improve. Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience caused. As said in my E mail to you I will provided further feedback...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff (apart from person in the parking booth, which I am sure is not an IHG employee and should be replaced by a machine) are really friendly, helpful and attentive, and tremendous asset to your property. Not all, but most. I have stayed here a few times over the last couple of years and as a Platinum IHG member,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
FOM_HIS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Good day Michael F, Thank you fro taking the time to post your review and your ongoing support and loyalty has an IHG Platinum member. We value and appreciate all feedback, please accept my sincere apologies in the fact that as a Platinum member you have not been upgraded and will ensure that the nest time you return, you will...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent 5 nights here with several friends. Wonderful service, with numerous staff at the reception and in the dining room going an extra mile. We were also well served by the hotel's drivers offering pick up and drop off service from the hotel -- particularly appreciated the pick up from a rugby game at Ellis Park -- a big thank...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank n s
FOM_HIS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Good day n s, Thank you for taking the time to post your review we really value and appreciate this, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments have been passed onto the staff you have complimented and they were truly happy We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future Kind regards...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

Clean, well located, good service, above my expectations for a stay at a holiday inn. Well Worth 4 stars and better value than other hotels in the area. Good breakfast. Small gym but with the basic needed available

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WWTAdventure
FOM_HIS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Good day WWTAdventure Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found us to be of good value. We hope you will afford us the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future Kind regards Dudu Zondo Front Office Manager

218 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (168)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.6 km away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.4 km away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.3 km away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 48 in Sandton
1,247 reviews
0.8 km away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#27 of 48 in Sandton
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Sandton , Rivonia Road located in the heart of Gauteng's corporate, financial and shopping mecca. This cosmopolitan hotel is in close proximity to OR Tambo International Airport, and 500 metres away from the Sandton Gautrain station. Close to numerous attractions such as the Sandton Convention Centre, Sandton City Shopping Centre and Nelson Mandela Square, Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road provides the ultimate accommodation in Sandton for any business or leisure guest. Our lobby features glittering handmade chandeliers and a 10 metre long fireplace were one can relax and surf the complimentary wireless Internet available to all guests. Within the lobby is our Chairman's bar, the perfect spot to grab a hot cup of coffee and a deliciously fresh pastry before you start your day. Indulge in a full hotel continental breakfast buffet at our Lettuce & Lime Restaurant, or enjoy a delectable meal from our a la carte menu paired with a bottle from our extensive wine list. Our state of the art conferencing facilities and professional service combine to make Holiday Inn Sandton, Rivonia Road one of the most sought conference and meeting venues in Sandton. The hotel also has a 24-hour self-service Business Centre, and 7 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 200 people, including 3 conferencing rooms on the 9th floor surrounded by stunning views of the surrounding area. Our 9th floor is also the location of our famous Skye Bar and swimming pool.Our friendly staff are always welcoming and professional, working around the clock to make your Holiday Inn stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. We pride ourselves in our excellent 24 hour room service menu as well as our amazing travel desk, which offers local attraction tips and sight seeing tours."Stay Appreciated" ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road

Address: 123 Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Price Range: $113 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road Hotel Sandton
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Sandton
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Cape Town, South Africa
9 months ago
Mutare, Mashonaland East, Zimbabwe
11 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Look if any construction is going on close to the hotel and choose your accordingly.”
pckale, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“For view choose room on the reception side”
, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the construction side.”
MichaelF536, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the side that does not face the construction site.”
ns149, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room facing away from the construction.”
louiss650, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$105* /night
View Deal
HolidayInn.comUS$107
Orbitz.comUS$107
HotelQuicklyUS$134
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates