We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Michelangelo Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Michelangelo Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

867 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Michelangelo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 742: English reviews
Nelspruit, South Africa
Reviewed 6 October 2015

I would like to thank Mr Peet Grobbelaar and Mr Roberto Rosa for for such a pleasant gesture as we stayed at this fantastic hotel last week .As regular guests with our children we are never disappointed with the great service that we always receive from all the staff at this fantastic and luxurious hotel . The level of service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luke571
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Luke 571 Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted to hear that you always enjoy our hospitality and thank you for your support! Hoping to see you back with us soon. Roberto Rosa General Manager

Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewed 5 October 2015

I can't say enough great things about this property. The staff and the rooms were focused on the highest level of guest care. The location: Perfect! A short walk to everything. Upscale shopping in the adjacent mall, Mandela Square outside my window. Our group came to enjoy the international jazz festival and were pleasantly surprised to discover that the convention...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia A
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Patricia A Thank you for your wonderful words and feedback! We will be sure to share your comments with our Michelangelo team. Hope to welcome you back with us soon. Roberto Rosa General Manager

Barrie, Canada
Reviewed 5 October 2015

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel, it was booked by our tour company (Tourcan) and it was an excellent choice. Our rooms were beautiful and spaceous, our balcony overlooked Nelson Mandela Square. It was close to the airport, it had shopping nearby. There was construction in the area, which created traffic back-up but I guess that comes with construction....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trudi3156
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Trudi3156 Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your concerns have been addressed with the relevant departments and do apologise for any inconvenience caused. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Roberto Rosa General Manager

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2015

i stayed for four nights wanting a bit of downtime and luxury....I wasn't disappointed. The service all round was great - almost uncomfortably so as I don't like to be called sir or have doors opened for me! Patricia from room service was talkative and helpful, the bar with live pianist equally delightful. If I had to be picky I'd...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben_Houghton78
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ben_Houghton78 Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments are appreciated and will be shared with the rest of The Michelangelo Team. Hope to see you back with us soon Roberto Rosa General Manager

Fribourg
Reviewed 29 September 2015

A big hotel with all the service you could ask for. We were upgraded and had a suit with two rooms and two bathrooms. It was very beautiful decorated in an old fashion style. Their restaurant Piccolo Mondo, Italien food, we can highly recommend. Michelangelo Hotel is situated as a part of a big shopping arcade with luxurious shops, restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hakan912
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hakan912 Thank you for your positive feedback We are happy to hear you had a good time and enjoyed our rooms and our food offering Looking forward to welcoming you back with us soon Roberto Rosa General Manager

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 29 September 2015

If it was not for the location and the connection to the mall and the Square I could have left the hotel 2 hours after check in. Staff at check in was not friendly at all and not communicating or helpful at all un like the friendly staff at the check out. Rooms are smaller than what they seem in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LUV2FLY747
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LUV2FLY747 Thank you for your feedback We regret that your stay with us wasn’t in line with your expectations. Your feedback is very important for us, and we will definitely be following up on the service standards. Have a great day Roberto Rosa General Manager

Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Reviewed 28 September 2015

A wonderful hotel where all the staff cannot do enough to help and right in the centre of Sandton Square! Plush, luxurious interior and superb dining in the in house restaurant. Thank you for for a memorable two days, cannot wait to return!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Leonie602
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Leonie602 Thank you for the wonderful words We will make sure we share your positive feedback with our team, who strives to achieve this level of guest satisfaction at all times. Looking forward to having you back with us soon Roberto Rosa General Manager

Yaounde, Cameroon
Reviewed 23 September 2015

Hotel management is extremely poor. I checked into room 4034 on September 08, 2015 as part of a group coming for training at the U.S. Consulate. The staff told me they could not find my name on the list and asked me to do an 'pre-authorized payment' of about $300 with my visa card and told me the money will...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leslie N
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Ngwa, We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience of the authorisation on your card, however this was given as your first method of payment. The Michelangelo Team have been in contact with our Banking Institution to reverse the authorisation, however the Bank has advised us that you need to contact your Banking Institution to clear the preauthorisation, as it...

Reviewed 23 September 2015 via mobile

Great hotel,excellent service and lovely compound.I am always greatful for the lovely experience and best service I ever had.I can not wait to came again and again.First impression last forever.Do you travel more often?if you get a chance to visit South Africa get a chance to stay at Michael Angelo hotel because you worth it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martha M
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LarthaM Thank you for your positive review. We, at The Michelangelo Hotel always strive to deliver best possible service to our valuable guest. Looking forward to welcoming you back with us soon Roberto Rosa General Manager

Reviewed 20 September 2015

The hotel is beautifully decorated and conveniently located in Mandela Square. We upgraded to a superior room and we were very happy with it. Breakfast was very good, as well. I was a little confused about who the drivers worked for, the hotel or an outside source, but either way, we were treated well and it was easy to get...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DoctorDebbie
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Doctor Debbie Thank you for your positive review. We at The Michelangelo Hotel always strive to deliver best possible service to our valuable guests. Looking forward to welcoming you back with us soon.

831 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (390)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (96)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (156)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (383)
Viewed
Amenities (40)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (79)
Viewed
Pool (5)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Suite (112)
Viewed
The Hotel (103)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 km away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 49 in Sandton
761 reviews
0.2 km away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
0.2 km away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
2.0 km away
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
0.4 km away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A member of the Leading Hotels of the World, The Michelangelo Hotel guarantees visitors a five-star stay whether spending the day to attend a conference, staying overnight or merely visiting for a breakfast, lunch or dinner meeting. The splendor of the hotel's Renaissance architecture in the heart of Sandton's business and leisure district, as well as the service excellence and world-class facilities on offer, sets The Michelangelo apart from its competitors. Built around a central atrium, guests enjoy the decadent use of space which gives the feeling of grandeur in an area where space is at a premium. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Address: Nelson Mandela Square 135 West Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Price Range: $301 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Johannesburg
Michelangelo Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#7 Business Hotel in Sandton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Michelangelo Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Michelangelo Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The higher the better”
 of 5 bubbles alexanderb221, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the square are a bit louder, but not really enough to be a problem for most.”
 of 5 bubbles 779NateB, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room that faces Mandela square”
 of 5 bubbles BondJ007, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room near the elevators as the hallways are long”
 of 5 bubbles BizTraveler0718, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“There can be a little noise from the square but it dies down early and the view of the Nelson Mandela statue and the square is worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles Michelejjs, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5