We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sandton Sun

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Management photos
Sandton Sun
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

714 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sandton Sun
See the most recent reviews
Showing 658: English reviews
Blantyre
Reviewed 18 April 2016

safe location, room is very clean and comfortable, staff are friendly, there was a noise coming from the A/C when we called the reception , problem was resolved immediately . Good service . Great breakfast table lay out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J8638OZmariap
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your great five star review. I am delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay and that the air-con issue was resolved efficiently. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our...

Harare
Reviewed 18 April 2016

I thorougly enjoyed my 3 day stay...convenient location to mall...reasonably priced. I wii definitely stay there again. Room service was prompt. Highy recommended if u are travelling to johannesburg for any reason

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Susan, Thank you for giving us a perfect score. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our convenient location to your liking. Your thoughts are of vital importance to us as we use these to evaluate and improve on services we offer as well as incorporating the needs of our...

Maputo Province, Mozambique
Reviewed 15 April 2016

People have no manners to attend people. Seems like all employees are not happy to work and therefore have no manners and hospitality. Reception is great otherwise. Lots to improve on house keeping, hospitality, foods quality supplied at the room, manners when talking to a client....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean L
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 12 April 2016

The Sandton Sun Hotel appears at first visit to be a lovely hotel, however I would only recommend it to corporates. Returning as a "tourist" for my last night in Africa I was very disappointed by how differently I was treated. And instead of hoping to feel relaxed returning to somewhere I knew I was treated with coldness. Also having...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gailge
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Gailge, Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my sincerest regrets for the lack of attentiveness from my team, I am discouraged to hear that we did not live up to your expectations and did not make your experience as enjoyable and memorable as you anticipated it to be. As at any reputable hotel, its true success lies in...

Orapa, Botswana
Reviewed 11 April 2016

Overall impression and value for was excellent and would like serive extended to all eqially. The location is extremely well placed and provides opportunities for a variey of choices ranging from food outlets to different shopping options.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bankemetsejutea
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for giving us a perfect rating. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Sandton Sun hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Peter Davidson General...

Sandton, South Africa
Reviewed 11 April 2016 via mobile

Great location. Lovely menu as well. Only problem I had at the San Deck was the service being to slow. I feel a 5 star hotel should invest in more waiters to look after tables. We waited almost an 30 mins for of daught beer. However service came with a smile and apology for the delay. I will be returning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sashen G
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Sashen, Thank you for your 5 star review. I am glad to hear that overall you had a pleasant experience with us. Please accept my deepest apologies for any inconvenience caused due to the poor service you received in the restaurant, I have passed your comments on to the Food & Beverage manager who will ensure that corrective measures...

Lusaka,Zambia
Reviewed 11 April 2016

I travel around the world and the service I got at Sandton Sun was exception,it is simply world class and too classy .Staff are awesome always give you the time you need and the service .I will recommend that hotel to anyone traveling to South Aftica either business or holiday. That's my second home wheneverI am out of my home...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patrickmD9106HM
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 9 April 2016

Conveniently situated for a business meeting and some great shopping and easy access to Gautrain (20 min from OR Tambo). Stayed on 20th floor lovely spacious room and very comfortable beds. Good size bathroom with tub and shower. Amenities sufficient but not top notch. Breakfast delicious but dinner was disappointing and expensive. The San deck is a lovely outside space...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GMM77
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, however please accept my deepest apologies for any inconveniences caused due to your dinner experience. I have communicated your concerns to the relevant line manager who will ensure corrective measures are...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 8 April 2016

Reservation was made online through the hotel's website. Arrived early and the staff made an effort to find me an available room. It's just around the corner from the Gautrain station which connects from the airport 20 minutes away. Otherwise it's a 30 minute car ride. You could actually make it on foot to through a mall but it could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VeloGeorge
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear George, I appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such candid feedback of your stay. I am glad to hear that overall your experience was positive. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused due to internet services, your comments are of vital importance to us as we use these to evaluate and improve on services...

Pune, India
Reviewed 8 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the Sandton Sun for the first time around this month but definitely going back and staying there again! My husband Vishal Makar is a frequent visitor to Johannesburg and has stayed at this fabulous property before...I was thrilled from the moment I met the staff at the reception (thank you Annele!) & then saw our beautiful suite on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tashimakar
PeterDavidson01, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review. I am delighted to hear that you and your husband had such a pleasant stay with us. We are on the constant look out for ways in which we can enhance your time with us. If you found anything that would have made your time with us more comfortable,...

233 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (211)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 km away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 48 in Sandton
832 reviews
0.1 km away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.2 km away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.7 km away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
1.0 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of Johannesburg's business district and connected to the most luxurious shopping centre in the city, the hotel offers 5-star accommodation and a range of business and leisure facilities to all travellers, including state-of-the-art boardrooms, conference and banquet facilities. The menus at the award-winning restaurants are seasonal and sustainable while the outdoor deck offers breath-taking views of the city. Everything from a sundowner deck to a luxurious spa can be found under one roof, highlighting accessibility and connectivity ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandton Sun

Address: Cnr Fifth & Alice Lane, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Price Range: $230 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandton Sun 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sandton Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Sun Hotel Sandton
Sun Hotel Sandton
Sandton Sun Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#9 Business Hotel in Sandton
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandton Sun staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Gateshead, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Kuwait City, Kuwait
1 month ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Sandton Sun staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the higher floors have a great view”
 of 5 bubbles dki2015, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles lecalabash, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The higher the floor, the better the view especially since the views are incredible.”
 of 5 bubbles j47737, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Bar and restaurant are on the sixth floor. Get a room much higher up.”
 of 5 bubbles donnab359, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“choose junior suite, very spacious”
 of 5 bubbles yusufi111, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay