We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Benjamin

Show Prices
#6 of 41 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Benjamin
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 189: English reviews
Start your review of The Benjamin
 Click to rate
Alcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is some distance from the seafront, close to good restaurants on busy street, small rooms and Breakfast choices good and staff welcoming.Small lounge and cottagey style dining room lots of stairs as the building is old

 Report
Helpful?
Thank morgan98
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed our hotel

Bucks
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Traditional no frills hotel with good breakfast. We ate twice at the Butcher's Block steakhouse just across the road for dinner (recommend) but several other options within easy walking distance. Good service and nice rooms + private parking. Would happily recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ukcoupleBucks
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review

Thank you and we hope to welcome you back sometime to enjoy Durban.

Atlanta
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Pros: 2nd time to property and consistent, excellent quiet location on street with good restaurant options (2nd best in Durban across the road), pretty interior garden, friendly staff, good pillows, calming breakfast room, all day coffee/tea bar Cons: rooms are getting tired slightly outdated, public areas also need a refresh

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BJAJDA
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and we are thrilled you returned back to us for your second stay. Much appreciate the review.

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for one night and had a really pleasant stay. The hotel is an older style and has been updated and extended. It has a pool and a limited self service bar in the dining area. Note that the hotel serves a delicious breakfast but not dinner. The breakfast has a continental buffet and it's a nice change...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Ingamells
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, I am so happy that you enjoyed our hotel and would recommend it to others. Look forward to welcoming you back one day

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This is a lovely colonial B&B. We stayed for one night only, Thursday to Friday. The hotel is very well positioned, very close to a number of very good restaurants. Despite the initial concern of noise (based on the previous reviews), we experienced a very quiet hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are not too spacious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KirillOussov
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so happy that you had a great stay. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 January 2017

This is a standard hotel, what makes it stand out is its location on Florida Rd. It was safe to walk down the road to any of the restaurants and cafes. Shower was good, lots of hot water, wifi was fast (they give you a code which supposedly is only good for 500MB/day, but if you use that up, you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
NicoleMunro, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed staying with us. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2016

This hotel was very comfortable and personal not like the chains. Late at night a wee bit noisy. Good restauarants nearby. We ate in Butchers Boy which was excellent and the waiter was very sociable and good fun. Would stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacknickolas
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, glad that you enjoyed our hospitality.

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

NO HOT WATER!!! This us not a very good impression on my first stay... shower poor, part of the bath, noises in passage & street cannot sleep, only few channels on tv, really poor, air con looks like not working and bad coffee in room, no dinner or even coffee on offer, this cannot be called hotel, hope not stays...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerrie N
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you experienced such a poor stay on your first time with us. We unfortunately are having water shedding in our area during the night. This therefore effects the water temperature in the early mornings. We do not have a restaurant that serves dinner but have a road full of restaurants for you to choose from....

Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016

This was booked as part of a package, it was a one night stopover before flying on to Port Elizabeth. If doing the trip again, I would have flown straight to PE and missed Durban and The Benjamin out. We had a tiny room, with views of a roof. I ran the shower for five minutes but it was still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Missturkey
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments . We are sorry about the water issue, we have had severe water restrictions in our area which has effected our water pressure into the hotel. We have however now put an extra water pressure valve on our boiler and the hot water is now coming in much quicker , so no need to wait...

Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2016

The hotel is stylish with friendly staff. Its key asset is its location on a road with the choice of several styles of good quality restaurants and bars to walk to & from in the evening. Outside area is limited, but not enough to put me off staying here again or in recommending it to others.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mr_H_thoughts
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and positive comments on the hotel and area.

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (88)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (49)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
2.3 km away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#4 of 41 in Durban
1,297 reviews
0.6 km away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
3.1 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.0 km away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
2.4 km away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#15 of 41 in Durban
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
"Home away from Home"A warm welcome awaits you at The Benjamin located a 5-minute drive from Durban Beaches and in the heart of the vibrant entertainment strip in Florida Road. The hotel features gardens with an outdoor pool and a shaded terrace. Free parking is available on site.The Benjamin and offers free WI-FI.41 rooms where no two rooms are the same open onto balconies and gardens . The cosy rooms offer airconditioning, tea,coffee making facilities,hairdryers,Satellite TV and work desks in all rooms. Overlooking the garden and pool, Benjamin’s breakfast is served in our open glassed conservatory style restaurant and offers a fresh continental breakfast buffet and plated hot breakfasts. Walk out of the Hotel into the restaurant road of Durban and enjoy your dinners and lunches in some of Durbans famous restaurants.The Moses Mabida Stadium, The Rugby Stadium, Suncoast Casino and Durban ICC are within 5km by car from The Benjamin. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Benjamin

Address: 141 Florida Road | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: $126 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Benjamin 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Benjamin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Benjamin Hotel Durban
Benjamin Hotel Durban
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#6 Business Hotel in Durban
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Benjamin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Overlooking the pool is better.”
 of 5 bubbles ukcoupleBucks, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 17, 19, 21, 23 face garden; 18, 20, 22 24 face road.”
 of 5 bubbles BJAJDA, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“At the back”
 of 5 bubbles jacknickolas, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms overlooking the pool must be better than our room, and they had hot showers!”
 of 5 bubbles Missturkey, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Not sure if there is lift service available to all levels. Check with hotel if this could be an issue.”
 of 5 bubbles Mr_H_thoughts, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5