We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
2017-12-03 2017-12-04
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Tekweni Backpackers Hostel

    169 Ninth Avenue, Durban 4001, South Africa
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    2017-12-03 2017-12-04
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in DurbanSee available hotels in Durban
    Traveller (30)
    Pool & Beach (5)
    Room & Suite (2)
    Hilton Durban
    1,514 reviews
    #2 of 43 hotels in Durban
    2.4 km
     
    African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
    157 reviews
    #10 of 43 hotels in Durban
    1.0 km
     
    Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
    381 reviews
    #12 of 43 hotels in Durban
    3.2 km
     
    The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
    243 reviews
    #7 of 43 hotels in Durban
    0.7 km
     
    Overview
    • Excellent35%
    • Very good28%
    • Average14%
    • Poor14%
    • Terrible9%
    Travellers talk about
    “florida road” (19 reviews)
    “braai nights” (4 reviews)
    “tv room” (2 reviews)
    Free Internet
    Free Parking
    Pool
    Bar/Lounge
    Kitchenette
    Breakfast included
    Restaurant
    Room Service
    Fitness centre
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a Review
    Reviews (143)
    There are newer reviews for Tekweni Backpackers Hostel
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    21 - 25 of 123 reviews

    Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

    The hostel is known as a party place, so you can forgive its shabbiness. However the place was filthy, bedding appeared old, dirty and covered in stains and holes, floors were covered in rubbish too. We spoke to the staff who were happy to move...More

    Thank Adi R
    Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded 22 December 2016

    Not a good review. Sorry you feel this way. We will have a closer look at things you pointed out but I really don't think filthy is an accurate description. You are entitled to your opinion on that however and unfortunately for us you are...More

    Reviewed 7 December 2016

    Personally i can only say s.t. bout the dorm: It is very basic (no lockers, chairs, tables ecc.) but it is clean and the price is budget. They have a safe at the reception. Carmen and her whole crew were absolutely amazing; trustful, welcoming, hearty,...More

    1  Thank Ronald T
    Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded 12 December 2016

    Carmen actually showed me this review basically the day you did it. She was stoked. You definitely get us. The compliments on our staff always the best. Our pride and joy. Thanks for reviewing us. We hope to see you back very soon.

    Reviewed 23 November 2016

    The room was tiny, only a wall closet, a bed and a bin. Not even enough space for two suitcases. The ceiling had many strange spots. The room smelled a bit damp (could have been because of the weather, it was raining a lot). The...More

    Thank natascha755
    Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded 30 November 2016

    Ouch that is one terrible review. We will look into all the stuff you mentioned. Normally our staff is our strong point and believe it or not we have strong management in place.This is an isolated incident and very sorry it happened to you. Feel...More

    Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

    Ok you get what you pay for. Rooms are clean and you have hot water. Dont expect a 5 star place. Nice bar and friendly staff the only problem was that the poeple who was also book in made noise early in the mornings and...More

    Thank Stefan W
    Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded 30 November 2016

    Hey cool review. We can see you feel us. Hope to see you back.

    Reviewed 7 October 2016

    First off the location is great; a stone's throw away from some good stops on Florida Road. All the staff who helped us were so friendly and relaxed, it made our visit feel more like we were dealing old friends instead of strangers. We enjoyed...More

    Thank shroomsta
    Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded 30 November 2016

    Yes yes yes. You definitely get us. Thanks for the great review. Hope to see you back.

    Hilton Durban
    1,514 reviews
    #2 of 43 hotels in Durban
    2.4 km
     
    African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
    157 reviews
    #10 of 43 hotels in Durban
    1.0 km
     
    Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
    381 reviews
    #12 of 43 hotels in Durban
    3.2 km
     
    The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
    243 reviews
    #7 of 43 hotels in Durban
    0.7 km
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Free Parking
    • Free Internet
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$23 - US$29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Kitchenette
    • Number of rooms
    • 18
    • Location
    • South Africa >
    • KwaZulu-Natal >
    • Durban
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (30)
    Pool & Beach (5)
    Room & Suite (2)
    Hotel & Grounds (35)
    Bathroom (1)
    Nearby
    Sponsored by:
    Hilton Durban
    1,514 reviews
    2.44 km away
     
    Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
    381 reviews
    3.20 km away
     
    African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
    157 reviews
    .95 km away
     
    The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
    243 reviews
    .66 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Butcher Boys Florida Road
    710 reviews
    .10 km away
    Butcher Block Steakhouse
    38 reviews
    .28 km away
    9th Avenue Bistro
    506 reviews
    .37 km away
    Spiga D'oro
    696 reviews
    .18 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Durban Botanic Gardens
    906 reviews
    1.46 km away
    Big Rush Urban Adrenaline
    135 reviews
    1.43 km away
    Mitchell Park
    203 reviews
    1.15 km away
    Greyville Racecourse
    64 reviews
    .86 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Tekweni Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "room 8, very quite corner and good for sleeping"
    Read review
    "Room Number 15 is extremely small"
    Read review
    "Ask for beds in the room on the ground floor to the right as you enter for slightly better beds."
    Read review
    "For a bit more privacy, ask for the flats next to the main building. More like a proper rented apartment..."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing