We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tekweni Backpackers Hostel

Save
Traveller (30)
Pool & Beach (5)
Room & Suite (3)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good29%
  • Average14%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Pool
Bar/Lounge
Kitchenette
Breakfast included
Restaurant
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Tekweni Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
46
37
19
21
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
46
37
19
21
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflorida roadbraai nightsbars and restaurantscommunal areasawesome placestayed one nightnight lifewithin walking distancesecure parkingenjoyed my stayhome away from homeradmattressesshannonkeysdurbssafety
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
31 - 35 of 133 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2016 via mobile

The hostel is known as a party place, so you can forgive its shabbiness. However the place was filthy, bedding appeared old, dirty and covered in stains and holes, floors were covered in rubbish too. We spoke to the staff who were happy to move...More

Thank Adi R
Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded December 22, 2016

Not a good review. Sorry you feel this way. We will have a closer look at things you pointed out but I really don't think filthy is an accurate description. You are entitled to your opinion on that however and unfortunately for us you are...More

Reviewed December 7, 2016

Personally i can only say s.t. bout the dorm: It is very basic (no lockers, chairs, tables ecc.) but it is clean and the price is budget. They have a safe at the reception. Carmen and her whole crew were absolutely amazing; trustful, welcoming, hearty,...More

1  Thank Ronald T
Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded December 12, 2016

Carmen actually showed me this review basically the day you did it. She was stoked. You definitely get us. The compliments on our staff always the best. Our pride and joy. Thanks for reviewing us. We hope to see you back very soon.

Reviewed November 23, 2016

The room was tiny, only a wall closet, a bed and a bin. Not even enough space for two suitcases. The ceiling had many strange spots. The room smelled a bit damp (could have been because of the weather, it was raining a lot). The...More

Thank natascha755
Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded November 30, 2016

Ouch that is one terrible review. We will look into all the stuff you mentioned. Normally our staff is our strong point and believe it or not we have strong management in place.This is an isolated incident and very sorry it happened to you. Feel...More

Reviewed October 8, 2016 via mobile

Ok you get what you pay for. Rooms are clean and you have hot water. Dont expect a 5 star place. Nice bar and friendly staff the only problem was that the poeple who was also book in made noise early in the mornings and...More

Thank Stefan W
Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded November 30, 2016

Hey cool review. We can see you feel us. Hope to see you back.

Reviewed October 7, 2016

First off the location is great; a stone's throw away from some good stops on Florida Road. All the staff who helped us were so friendly and relaxed, it made our visit feel more like we were dealing old friends instead of strangers. We enjoyed...More

Thank Belinda B
Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded November 30, 2016

Yes yes yes. You definitely get us. Thanks for the great review. Hope to see you back.

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Durban
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Things to do
Pool
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$26 - US$43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Kitchenette
Details
Price range
US$26 - US$43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Kitchenette
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (30)
Pool & Beach (5)
Room & Suite (3)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Tekweni Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"room 8, very quite corner and good for sleeping"
Read review
"Room Number 15 is extremely small"
Read review
"Ask for beds in the room on the ground floor to the right as you enter for slightly better beds."
Read review
"For a bit more privacy, ask for the flats next to the main building. More like a proper rented apartment..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing