We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Africa Regent Guest House

Hotels.comUS$71*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Africa Regent Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Africa Regent Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 64: English reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2015 via mobile

I enjoyed my 2night stay at this guesthouse. It is located in a quiet neighborhood. The hosts are really friendly and the breakfast is freshly prepared. The guesthouse has a nice bar located at a pool which gives you a subtropical feeling. Next time when I will visit Durban I will use this Guesthouse again, It is highly recommended by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
MORREY, Owner at Africa Regent Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful feedback Mike, much appreciated. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the amenities and ambiance the guest house offers. You will always be welcome and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Warm Regards Dave & Pam The Africa Regent Team.

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 11 April 2015

Really very nice English people Typical British experience ,we even could play the pool while drinking beers, but with an African touch! The pool is nice We had the biggest room on top floor with a nice view on the ocean The breakfast was delicious

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AurelienB28
MORREY, Owner at Africa Regent Guest House, responded to this review

There is nothing more rewarding than positive feedback from a guest. Thank you so much for such a great review. We are glad you enjoyed our Penthouse Suite and our English Breakfast. We are also pleased we were able to give you a great impression during your stay with us. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Warm...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 11 February 2015 via mobile

My second visit and will now be my place of choice when staying in DBN. Rooms are big and spotlessly clean. Breakfast fantastic and all at a really competitive price. When I compare the overall experience as well as the cost I cannot understand why people still use impersonal and overpriced hotels. See you again soon

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grant H
MORREY, Owner at Africa Regent Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for another excellent review Grant. Thank you also for the confidence you have shown in us, it's greatly appreciated. I have passed on your comments to our housekeeper and to the chef (my wife). You are always welcome and we look forward to your return. Warm Regards Dave & Pam The Africa Regent Team.

London, England
Reviewed 4 January 2015 via mobile

My wife and I were visiting her brother and his family in Durban for Xmas and New Year 2014, and he recommended this superb guest house as nearby lodgings. We were not disappointed. In the Africa Regent, proprietors Dave and Pam perfectly marry high-end boutique with a friendly family-run vibe. The rooms are immaculate, spacious and artfully decorated, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob D
MORREY, Owner at Africa Regent Guest House, responded to this review

WOW Rob. Thank you for a fantastic review its much appreciated. It was great having you both stay with us over the festive season and even though you had a busy schedule, we enjoyed the moments we were able to chat with you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that everything was to your liking. We...

Austria
Reviewed 17 December 2014

Pam and Dave really created a wonderful guesthouse, with all a guest can wish for: Great breakfast, nice lounge, good internet, welcoming hosts, quiet nabourhood, good food places in walking distance, secured parking, stylish interieur, etc.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A F
MORREY, Owner at Africa Regent Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for a great review, we are so pleased that all was to your liking and that you held us in such high esteem. Much appreciated. We always strive to reach the highest standard and to create a relaxed homely but unique atmosphere for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you in the future. Warm Regards Dave & Pam...

Kuwait City
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I found Africa Regent only after researching on Trip Advisor. Rarely does a guest house live up to such lofty reviews. Africa Regent exceeded any expectations and so much more. At the time of my visit, the owners were off travelling and had left 2 superstars, Andre and Jack, in charge in their absence. Service was excellent, helpful and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PatrickJones
MORREY, Owner at Africa Regent Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for a fantastic review. Much appreciated and we are sure fellow travelers will find this informative.We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us Patrick and that Jack & Andre looked after you well. We look forward to welcoming you back and meeting you the next time you are in Durban. Jack & Andre send their...

Livingston, Texas
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The owners Dave and Pam have the very best B&B we ever stayed in, they make you feel so much at home, it is so clean, in a wonderful safe location. Absolutely, no problem or question is to small or large they will spend as little or large amount of time with you explaining what to do and where to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert j
MORREY, Owner at Africa Regent Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review Robert. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and visiting the attractions and restaurants nearby. We enjoyed our chats with you both and the exchange of experiences. It is always a pleasure to interact with our guests. We look forward to your return in the future. Warm Regards Dave & Pam...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Great hosts, clean and comfortable rooms and lovely breakfast. Nice safe area. Home away from home. What more could you want from a guest house. Will be back again and will strongly recommend.Thanks Dave

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Grant H
MORREY, Owner at Africa Regent Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for a great review and high score, much appreciated. We are please you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt at home and we attended to you well. We always try to create this type of atmosphere of homely relaxation and free movement in the guest house. We look forward to having you stay with us again...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My wife and I spent 4 days at this B&B in August 2013, the owners Dave and Pam are more than willing to offer their time in any way possible, the guest house is very neat and clean, the breakfasts are delicious and more than plenty, Dave and Pam take alot of care in making sure their guests are comfortable,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick T
MORREY, Owner at Africa Regent Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for a wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and what we had to offer. Also that you were pleased with the Penthouse and had chance to visit our local restaurants. I passed your comments onto our staff who were delighted for the appreciation of their hard work. Pam said to tell you...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We feel we hit the jackpot with this outstanding B&B. Having stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of our holiday,we really looked forward to coming back for the last 2 nights a little later on. Dave & Pam are superb hosts and the accommodation is excellent in every way. We stayed in the penthouse suite at first and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
MORREY, Owner at Africa Regent Guest House, responded to this review

WOW! Thank you. What a great review and so informative. We are so please you enjoyed your stay with us and what we have to offer our guests. We really enjoyed having you here and chatting with you both. It is good to get such detailed feedback on aspects which we are accustomed to dealing with daily in a professional...

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
2:34
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
7.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.6 km away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#11 of 249 in Durban
126 reviews
0.3 km away
AHA Auberge Hollandaise Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Mesami Hotel
Mesami Hotel
#74 of 249 in Durban
32 reviews
8.7 km away
Roseland House
Roseland House
#13 of 249 in Durban
89 reviews
5.0 km away
Mythai Guesthouse
Mythai Guesthouse
#32 of 249 in Durban
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Africa Regent is a distinctly different family run 4 STAR luxury establishment, offering personalised service, impeccable attention to detail, great value for money and a distinctive quality experience. Accommodation & Facilities:Exclusively for our guests is a spacious lounge, breakfast room, patio, and bar complete with TV,pool table and darts The bar opens onto a natural rock swimming pool with cascading waterfall.Adjacent to the pool is the entertainment area for buffets or braai(barbeque).The traditional African décor abounds throughout with each of the six double bedrooms having a en-suite bathroom (bath & shower) and being appointed with air-conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, safe, hair dryer, bath robes, toiletries and hostess tray. Our penthouse, set in a nautical theme,has views of the bay and ocean. Other facilities include free coffee/tea/juice & biscuit station, free secure off road parking, airport transfers,golf club loan, laundry service and free wireless internet connection. Prices include full English breakfast. Major credit cards accepted. Regret no children. Location: Located in the quiet suburb of Durban North by the warm Indian Ocean and conveniently situated between Durban's Golden Mile and Umhlanga Village Resort. An ideal location offering complete relaxation and privacy whilst being just minutes away from the beach, shopping malls, ICC, cinemas,theatres, casino, golf, sports stadiums, sports facilities and tourist attractions. Within walking distance are banks, post office, good restaurants and pharmacy. Fifteen minutes (23 km) from the international airport. Tours & Safaris: We can provide information on tours to suit the individual needs of our guests on request with our tour partners.Day trips or extend your stay to explore more of the culture, heritage and wildlife of KwaZulu Natal. Attractions Nearby: Gateway Shopping & EntertainmentValley of 1000 Hills Suncoast Casino Zulu Cultural Centre uShaka Marine World4 Golf CoursesSharks BoardUmgeni Bird ParkInternational Convention Centre ABSA Rugby Stadium - SharksSibaya Casino & Theatre Pavillion Shopping CentreKingsmaed Cricket GroundDurbanInternational Swimming ArenaDurban' Golden Mile - BeachesUmhlanga Beach World Cup Soccer Stadium Regional Attractions: Hluhluwe-Umfolozi Game Reserve LionPark Drakensberg National Park Crocodile Safari Park Oribi Gorge SnakePark St Lucia Wetlands Park Cheetah Sanctuary ... more   less 

Additional Information about Africa Regent Guest House

Address: 24 Regent Place | Durban North, Durban 4051, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: $70 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Africa Regent Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Africa Regent Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Africa Regent Guest House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Africa Regent Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for penthouse (room 6) for a superb view and spacius room.”
morten-norway-123, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We really enjoyed room 4 the Lion Room”
772darryns, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Even though we requested a specific room way before our stay, the owner said 'no', can't help you.”
DrGoodTravel, 21 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the big one on 2nd floor, great value, a lot of space!”
AurelienB28, 11 Apr 2015 | Read review
“We stayed in the Penthouse suite yes a little more in cost but what a wonderful view, very spacious, worth the extra amount.”
robertj969, 28 May 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$71* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$84
Agoda.comUS$72
Orbitz.comUS$71
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates