We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Show Prices
#2 of 41 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,648 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,565: English reviews
Start your review of Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
 Click to rate
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We went for the seafood buffet that they have on a Friday night. It was definitely the best buffet selection I have been to. The variety was awesome as well the build your own stir fry option. The roasts and curries were also very good but the highlight for me was the dessert selection. One of the best dessert selections...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debbien16
Benoni, South Africa
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had previously stayed at the hotel and had an awesome stay, so we were looking forward to this stay. We were very disappointed, after traveling 600kilometres to walk into a "mini suite" with an inter leading door that could not be locked from our side! In the morning we found the shower to be much smaller than the typical...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaveSet
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valuable feedback. I am delighted that the team were able to turn your stay around and resolve our shortcomings. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to Durban. Regards Samantha

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Efficient check-in and check-out, excellent service by all staff members including security services. Breakfast at Ocean Breeze is simply exhilarating as one sits around the sparkling pool with the ocean in the background and a nice breeze flowing across the delicious meal. Dinner on the balcony of the bar was also worthy of international acclaim.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tebohon437
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valuable feedback. I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Samantha

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I enjoyed my stay. The staff was very professional from the check-in desk staff to the waiters at V&V. Loved my room, which was always cleaned daily, and enjoyed my sleep on the comfortable bed with its fresh crisp linen.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jocelynl789
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valuable feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Samantha

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The worst you can expect in every aspect will happen here. And don't expect anybody to help sort it out. From service eighth up too hygienic services you will hate it. Free accommodation wouldn't convince me to go back

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dawoodk296
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valuable feedback. It is disappointing to hear that we did not meet your expectations and that you did not enjoy your stay. Regards Samantha

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Excellent location , clean and tidy rooms , courteous service and very competent staff. and a place you want to come back to. Great idea to have access to facilities at the Maharani next door . A place you would want to come back to !

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank guestg542
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valuable feedback. I am delighted that you have a memorable stay and enjoyed the facilities across the complex. We look for3ward to welcoming you back when you next travel to Durban. Regards Samantha

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Well appointed rooms, with breathtaking views of the Durban harbor and surrounds. Nice check in procedure, very helpful porter ... nice product offering in terms of dining venues, pool areas and cocktail lounges. An ideal location to enjoy Durban central !! Paid parking was not ideal due to the support given to the hotel and should come complimentary. However, an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrAveL_TraK
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valuable feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to Durban. Regards Samantha

Kempton Park, South Africa
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Tsogo Sun Elangeni is absolutely amazing. The location and views are amazing. The beacj is across the road. Many restaurants in the area. However, with in house dining, no need to venture anywhere else. The staff are accomodating, friendly and th hotel is well maintained.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank afzaladammahomedh
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valuable feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Samantha

Richards Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Improve the maharani as I have stayed with my family at the south beach hotel and your Marine parade one and they are much better when it comes to room quality. I suggest that you upgrade the rooms please

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sugandrenn
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to port your review and for your valuable feedback. The bedrooms at Maharani were upgraded in 2012, however, the bedrooms at Elangeni will be upgraded shortly. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Samantha

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Elangeni is a special hotel located on the beach front. It is very close to the beach and the views are very spectacular. One can hear the sound of the ocean and feel the breeze as look out of the windows to enjoy the move of people dottingly along the beach. The staff is friendly and professional. The food especially...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank solomonz81
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Samantha

440 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (413)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (32)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
View from Room (67)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (176)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.9 km away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#4 of 41 in Durban
1,298 reviews
1.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
1.1 km away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 41 in Durban
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 41 in Durban
553 reviews
1.3 km away
Garden Court South Beach
0.5 km away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 41 in Durban
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Radiating energy and elegance across the Golden Mile, Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani invites you to take your place in the sun. From the stylish bedrooms with breath-taking sea-views to the variety of restaurants and recreation facilities, visitors can look forward to the vibrancy, colour and culture of Durban's premier hotel destination offering more choice than ever before, from service and hospitality through to accommodation and dining. Absolutely everything under one sun! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Address: 63 OR O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: $209 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#2 Business Hotel in Durban
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors for quietness and brilliant view.”
 of 5 bubbles drymcassim, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Corner rooms are big an nice.”
 of 5 bubbles johannieuwoudt08, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't go out walking after dark. You WILL get mugged. Travel everywhere by taxi at night.”
 of 5 bubbles 819ronw, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Enjoyed the seaside view”
 of 5 bubbles 838quintond, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with sea-views not so suitable for children as the windows open easily”
 of 5 bubbles pebbles2_13, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5