We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hilton Durban

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hilton Durban
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,216 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,132: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This is my regular hotel in Durban and I was reminded on this trip why The hotel isn't located on the waterfront or anywhere pretty, but it is central and convenient and the hotel is wonderful The suite was spacious, clean and modern. They have just refurbished in the last year, and it was fine before The staff are exceptionally... More 

Helpful?
Thank RoadWarrior298
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for such a great review on your recent stay with us. We are truly grateful that you were able to enjoy the many services that our property has to offer our guests and that each of the services and products you enjoyed met and exceeded your expectations. Thank you again for your time, feedback and... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

extremely happy with the service except that I was given spoiled fruits as welcome gift in the room. The service however was not that bad with other service from the hotel. this was not the first time I was a guest at the hotel I occasionally visit the hotel when I go to durban

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank S3566QNandrews
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very nice, fresh and modern entrance and lobby. Many servants are taking care of the guests. The Bar is nice and very friendly. International cocktails should be trained. The craft beers are fantastic. The rooms are of a nice size, modern and ok. Some details could be adjusted. The bathrooms are nice and ok. Very nicely located, easy walk to... More 

Helpful?
Thank U. G
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share your impressions here on TripAdvisor. It is lovely to hear that you had a very nice experiences with us. Many thanks for your kind words about our rooms, staff and location. We do hope to be able to welcome you again... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall great. only issue was no heating in the room. cigarettes only available from machine on cash basis. but no cash withdrawal facilities available nor cigarettes avail at the bar. jbhibpiughipunpiuhiuon-98fv 5re8tfg865r ytr876fgu7yy9g[98ubn b 796t78gh08y87 b 807y-98uh9p8h

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank U588YLashleyb
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your comments. I am happy to read that overall you were happy with your stay nevertheless we do appreciate your remarks regarding our cigerette machine and cash facilities, as well airconditioner not heating. Our Executive Team will review these comments to ensure that the best possible... More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great Hilton experience. Sadly there were builders working above our room with drills. The room was a good size and the service was good. The supervisor on reception was unable to deal with our request to move rooms, for strange reasons.

Helpful?
Thank 4589712j
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest We want to thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay at our hotel. We appreciate all guest feedback and always look to improve future guest stays. We are disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations due to the noise from our ongoing full room refurbishment project and that we... More 

Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Mr 'Hilton' Siya Mkhize is amazing. His welcome was the start of an amazing experience here. The newly renovated rooms are beautiful. Siya is definitely an asset to Hilton Hotel, his approach and friendliness is spot on. Well done. The only issue I had was there was hair twisted in the towel. .

Helpful?
Thank Suvesha R
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest We want to thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay at our hotel. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I will surely pass on your great comments regarding Siya to the entire team for his recognition as well as your feedback regarding the condition of towels with... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

Given the distenction the Hilton holds around the world of which i have stayed in many of there hotels around the world. i feel the Hilton Durban has failed to produce a value for money stay. the rooms were clean and tidy at all times, the staff were somewhat inviting and timmeredly helpfully at the best of times.... the buffet... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank davidwadem
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. As a Blue HHonors member, you are among our most valued guests. I sincerely appreciate your feedback and very sorry you were not 100% satisfied with your overall experience, service, value and accommodation. Our Executive Team is reviewing your comments... More 

Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
116 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed Nov 19-24 5 nights, Hilton Honors Diamond Member The good: I last stayed here in November 2014, I cannot believe 2 years has passed since. I wrote a glowing review back then. So it was with anticipation I was looking forward to coming back to Durban and the Hilton. And man 'o man, was I impressed. It starts the... More 

Helpful?
Thank robdubluu
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to share this lovely review with us. I am delighted to hear that you appreicated the design of newly renovated accommodations, received wonderful service, and found that all details were tended to during your stay. I'll make sure to share it with the entire hotel team. I do hope that we... More 

Rotterdam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

The strong point of the Hilton Durban is the excellent food and great bar of the The Big Easy. During my latest visit, the Big Easy was closed, due to a private function. Apparently cash goes before the service to the regular guests.

Helpful?
Thank JazzmanRotterdam
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your stay at the Hilton Durban. . We would like to apologize for the private event that was taking place at the Big Easy during your visit and we are reviewing your comments to ensure that our restaurant team are aware and strive to avoid such... More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location, conveniently located right next to the ICC, and in walking distance to the city centre and sea front. Attentive and friendly staff. Rooms fairly modern but not really up to Hilton standards, seeming dark and missing that luxurious feel, same with the bathroom. That all said, adequate for a sort stay.

Helpful?
1 Thank cjlimm
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed the location of Hilton Durban and our attentive and friendly staff. However, I am sorry that you were not 100% satisified with your overall guestroom experience. We appreciate your constructive feedback, as this will help us to improve the... More 

389 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (164)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (225)
Viewed
Room/Suite (84)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (44)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.9 km away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
16.3 km away
Premier Hotel Pinetown
Premier Hotel Pinetown
#1 of 1 in Pinetown
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#6 of 42 in Durban
399 reviews
1.5 km away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#14 of 42 in Durban
518 reviews
1.4 km away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 42 in Durban
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Hilton Durban

Address: 12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: $133 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Durban 5*
Number of rooms: 324
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durban Hotel Durban
Hilton International Durban
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#9 Business Hotel in Durban
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton Durban staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton Durban staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you can get a room on a high floor on the coast side, you will get great views of the ocean and the 2 stadiums”
 of 5 bubbles robdubluu, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at higher floors have been redecorated”
 of 5 bubbles JazzmanRotterdam, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Executive suites on the upper floors are possibly more luxurious than the standard rooms which are more than adequate for a short stay.”
 of 5 bubbles 536RichardS, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“they are going through renos so ask for one away from the noise. they start early”
 of 5 bubbles marionb289, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The higher up the better.”
 of 5 bubbles 630hayleyw, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay