We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilton Durban

0.7 km from Durban centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,296 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hilton Durban
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,206: English reviews
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The service received from the reception staff was excellent at both check in and check out. The service from the restaurant staff was also good but the breakfast itself was had limited options and no gluten free options. Over and above that my Polar heart rate monitor and make up were stolen from my luggage.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank zamokuhlewendym
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for letting us know of your experience while at our hotel. I certainly understand that the service challenges you experienced were both a disappointment and inconvenience on your visit. Our hotel is going through a renovation period of our restaurant and lower level rooms and I apologize for this. We are working diligently to alleviate...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went to Durban for the weekend Stayed at the Hilton Excellent service The staff were helpful and friendly The rooms were spacious and modern and very clean The only snag is the parking the guard keeps taking the ticket away and you have to keep going to reception for another ticket they need disc for cars Awesome place to stay

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fharhana
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review. We are so glad you enjoyed your time at our hotel and that you were pleased with our excellent service and spacious guestrooms. We apologize that our parking meter was out of order during your stay and we expect this to be fixed in a timely manner. We hope to...

johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

as far I have stayed in Durban for all these yrs travelling for work purposes I never felt disappointed. Hilton staff are so professional; respectful; friendly and helpful. From 1996 its 20yrs using the hotel nearer for our events Soccer; Marathons and Cricket. that is why I prefer it .

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank n0mpumelel0v
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest It’s always wonderful to have Hilton HHonors members stay with us, and we’re so glad you selected the Hilton Durban as your Home Away Home! We’re happy that our location near the sports stadiums and friendly and helpful staff was beneficial for your trip and that you were able to relax in one of our spacious rooms...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

When in Durban we often get hosted by family or friends but if not this is our go to place. It was a delightful surprise to see that the hotel had undergone some renovations. The place already looked so lovely and now the beauty has been elevated. What I love is that with the renovations they also improved on certain...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Divine R
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for being our guest during your last trip to Durban. We are happy you decided to share your valued feedback with us and the Tripadvisor community. I am delighted to hear that the service our team provided during your stay made a good and lasting impression on you and it was nice to see that...

Kempton Park, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staying at your hotel was stunning and I have enjoyed to be at your hotel and I hope that even on future trips I wish to be at your hotel to enjoy the place. I just want to advise that in the future, try to improve on the area of the person at the station in the morning for...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank naredavidd
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you very much for having been our guest and for sharing your experiences with other travelers. We are delighted to learn from your review that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed our facilities. I would like to thank you very much for your feedback regarding our Restaurant, which will help us to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was ultra modern with a large TV and comfy bed. The hotel is immaculately clean inside. There is a good restaurant downstairs. The breakfast bar was being re-furbed at the time so it was held in a conference room but should be updated when done.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben K
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property and sharing with us your experience. We strive to provide exceptional customer service for all of our guests and it is very rewarding to know we were able to do this for you. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good hotel and good location. Best hotel restaurant at the Big Easy. Hotel staff should not give any option for holding a deposit. They should hold a deposit for extras as a standard practice to avoid any issues later.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank X2758IPjacobc
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest My team and I always appreciate hearing back from our guests and we are glad that you were happy with our location and especially the Big Easy Durban restaurant, which highlighted your experience at Hilton Durban. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with our holding deposit required at check-in if a credit card...

Bloemfontein, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff generally professional and helpful. rooms are clean. the main thing that put me off is the in room service that served me old pork ribs, I even got sick after eating that. overall the reception was good. I will not choose that hotel for the price - valu for money.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacquelinenontombm
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. I sincerely appreciate your feedback and very sorry to hear of your overall in-room dining experience and our overall facilities and amenities. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. Your satisfaction...

gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful room - ambience - staff well trained and friendly, warm smile and food excellent. indeed 5 star service and hotel. my kids loved the staff and the rooms. i am def going back for more stays. The only thing is mini bar prices are ridiculous however I understand business needs to be made. Netherless to say Durban Hilton was...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bakangcarolll
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent experience at the Hilton Durban. We are absolutely thrilled to know that we are consistently impressing you, and you enjoy or facilities, service and newly refurbished guestrooms. We look forward to welcoming you back. Yours sincerely Markus

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Thank you Durban team, Just spend 4 days of meetings, all super coordinated from airport pick up to meeting facilities all was spotless and seamless . Well done, it was my 1st visit to Durban but will be back, for holidays this time. New rooms are great, new exec lounge a place to enjoy. Nice atmosphere and food at Big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Polo P
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for the lovely review! We are always thrilled when our guests have a great experience and really appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back soon! Yours sincerely Markus

446 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (224)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (222)
Viewed
Room/Suite (84)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (44)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.9 km away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.9 km away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 41 in Durban
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 41 in Durban
399 reviews
1.5 km away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#14 of 41 in Durban
553 reviews
0.5 km away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#15 of 41 in Durban
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Hilton Durban

Address: 12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: $119 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Durban 5*
Number of rooms: 324
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durban Hotel Durban
Hilton International Durban
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#9 Business Hotel in Durban
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton Durban staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton Durban staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a refurbished room.”
 of 5 bubbles 896geoffreys, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a renovated room.”
 of 5 bubbles rosaposer165, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for higher floors.”
 of 5 bubbles 85smangelek, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request a high floor, away from the elevators. Don't bother with executive rooms unless it is a free upgrade.”
 of 5 bubbles Yuvan29, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Higher level rooms have wind noise through the windows. Ocean view rooms add some glamour to the room.”
 of 5 bubbles rockdoctor111, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5