We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hilton Durban

Booking.comUS$136*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Hilton Durban
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,368 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hilton Durban
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,277: English reviews
Centurion, South Africa
Reviewed 30 September 2016

The service was efficient and reasonably friendly, but the hotel itself lacks the final touches to make it special. It is a hotel to serve mainly business clients. There is a bed and a bathroom and somewhat of a view. Front desk staff were friendly, but breakfast staff were hardly interested in smiling. I stay there because my company dictates...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PierreDorf
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest I am sorry to hear that you rated us a 3 star. At Hilton, we always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected and your feedback will help us deliver this brand promise. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We were absolutely spoilt – between the sumptuous room, the fantastically tasty dinner at the Big Easy and topped off with breakfast and to die for coffee in the business lounge this morning – what an experience. All the staff encountered were so friendly and helpful and contributed immensely to our perfect stay. Can’t wait to put the feature together...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie D
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. As a Blue HHonors member, you are among our most valued guests. I am pleased to hear you found the Hilton Durban experience and services to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future and seeing your...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 29 September 2016

The Executive floor, lobby area and Business lounge are all very nice and good job done on interiors for sure. AC not cooling in Rooms at all, quiet harm inside the room. Service is low and poor. Need improve service in Rooms and Business lounge, as was very disappointed I was given Pork omelet instead of Veg omelet, I had...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Farook K
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. As a DIAMOND HHonors member, you are among our most valued guests. I sincerely appreciate your feedback and very sorry to hear of your overall experience and service . Our Executive Team is reviewing your comments to ensure they are...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We had an awesome time at the Hilton Durban. The gym in the Hotel is awesome. With the Latest equipment we could do a full body workout and enjoyed it very much. The in-room dining was excellent. The food is so delicious. The porter was so friendly and very professional. We were 5 guests at the hotel and we would...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank wilnavn
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your stay and your review! It is our first aim to meet and to exceed your expectations - how nice to see that you have had a pleasant stay. We thank you very much for your patronage and would be pleased to welcome you back one day in the not too distant future. Yours...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Excellent hotel. Staff polite and helpful. Hotel modern and décor excellent in common areas. Great central location near ICC and Kingsmead cricket ground. Will definitely stay here again next time in Durban.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank N626IWbryans
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community and for rating us 10 out of 10! Furthermore it is great to you hear that you found our staff and modern decor excellent! as well our superb location to the International Convention Centre and world class sports stadiums. Once again thank you for sharing your experience...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 23 September 2016

I did not enjoy my stay at all at the Hilton in Durban. First of all, when we checked in, the hotel would not accept payment with the card my employer used to reserve the room (my employer was paying for my stay). So, I had to have payment for the whole 1 week stay reserved on my personal credit...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laura S
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Durban and taking a moment to share you feedback on your stay with other travelers. I am very sorry to read that on this occasion we have not fully met your expectations and we did not provide an excellent overall experience during this stay. It is very upsetting...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Had one of the refurbished rooms, only improvement would be to make the aircpn more effective. Great gym and facilities for business and meetings. Location idela for Durban area and plenty of security visible.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank philipwT2590ZK
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your review of Hilton Durban. Thanks also for your kind words about our location and newly refurbished rooms. We appreciate your constructive feedback re: aircon. which I have addressed with our Chief Engineer. We would be honored to have you stay with us again, and look forward to your next visit! Yours Sincerely Markus

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 22 September 2016

On the last day of my stay, I discovered that the toilet had layers of brown crusty residue on the underside of the seat. This could only be human waste that had NEVER been cleaned. (I have the photo to show this.) This was extremely disgusting, and the the toilet seat should be replaced rather than simply cleaned. I have...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joe P
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest I would like to sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to you and rest assured that your issues have been fully investigated. I appreciate your feedback and very sorry to hear of the cleanliness of your toilet and working condition of the window. Firstly I apologize we were not able to provide you with the quality...

Ladysmith, South Africa
Reviewed 22 September 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The facilities were excellent, but I feel it is a bit over priced. The location was good, as we had to attend a Business Conference at the ICC. Perhaps Management should consider partnering with Companies that are hosting Conferences at the Icc, and offer a reduced rate. This would increase the occupancy rate at a...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank chiararH5814MJ
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you very much for your review about your stay in Hilton Durban on Trip Advisor. Feedback like yours is so encouraging! We are delighted to read, that you had such a lovely stay and found our staff helpful and pleasant and that you had time to enjoy our range of facilities. Your feedback has been passed...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the Hilton for 2 nights of our 2 week stay in Durban. It is a lovely hotel with helpful staff and nice, big clean rooms. Only issue we had was they did not have our booking on their system and made no effort to sort it out. In the end we found another hotel closer to the beach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy E
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you very much for taking the time to send in your review after staying at Hilton Durban. I am very sorry to hear of your issue at the Front Desk/Reservations regarding your booking and have certainly addressed this with both our Front Office Manager and Reservations Manager and sincerely apologize for this. The service your received...

345 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (230)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (115)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Other (26)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.9 km away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.4 km away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 43 in Durban
587 reviews
1.9 km away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
436 reviews
0.4 km away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#15 of 43 in Durban
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Vasco's Restaurant
Vasco's Restaurant
Cuisines: Italian, Indian, African, International, Asian
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hilton Durban is an iconic landmark hotel offering superior accommodations in a supreme location near the Durban International Convention Center. All rooms offer panoramic views of the city or the Natal coastline, with easy access to Durban's beaches and central business district, perfect for meetings or events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilton Durban

Address: 12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: $132 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Durban 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durban Hotel Durban
Hilton International Durban
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#9 Business Hotel in Durban
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton Durban staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton Durban staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“King size rooms are fab - huge bed and very spacious but any room will be fine to be honest.”
h0ward16, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“request sea facing room.”
afzale, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose another hotel.”
Zakera, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a refurbished room.”
896geoffreys, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a renovated room.”
rosaposer165, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$136* /night
View Deal
getaroom.comUS$194
Hotwire.comUS$136
CancelonUS$144
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates