We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 169: English reviews
Start your review of Royal Hotel
 Click to rate
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It was perfect for our long weekend. Would recommend it to anyone who is looking for affordable accommodation which is central and east to find. Next time when I visit Durban the Royal Hotel would be the top of my list for accommodation.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank riyaads2017
Durban
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was value for money and I will stay again if I am to come back to Durban. I do recommend the hotel to others.The service was very good. Easy to access and not far away from tourist attraction sites.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mmV2422UV
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location is ideal if you want to go to Ushaka and it's easily accessible but there isn't alot around the hotel within walking distance. It is about 7 min from Ushaka Marine World and the beach and 5min from Wilson's Wharf if you drive. I wouldn't recommend walking around the area, it seems a bit unsafe since it's in...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nataliecH7141BI
Coastlands_Marketing, Director of Sales at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at our hotel and for your valuable feedback. Guest feedback is very important to us as it plays a vital role in improving our facilities and services to ensure that your next stay is a memorable experience. We have addressed your feedback with management and staff and we will ensure that we continuously maintain and improve...

Durban
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Bar has no variety and closes early for people staying in the hotel.The hotel has one EFT machine which is used by the dinning hall.Staff is not friendly.They don't have an extra blanket in case u need it at night and I booked a double bed room yet I found 2 single beds combined which makes it very uncomfortable at...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justice M
Coastlands_Marketing, Director of Sales at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at our hotel and for your valuable feedback. Guest feedback is very important to us as it plays a vital role in improving our facilities and services to ensure that your next stay is a memorable experience. We have addressed your feedback with management and staff and we will ensure that we continuously maintain and improve...

Durban
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I made a reservation on Bookings.com to stay at the Royal Hotel. I paid for a deluxe room with a double bed, however when I arrived, my room had two single beds pushed together. House-keeping had to change one of the sheets as there was a stain on it... I was told that I would have free wifi, parking, and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 82ys
Coastlands_Marketing, Director of Sales at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at our hotel and for your valuable feedback. We apologise for the inconvenience during your stay as highlighted in your review, and that we were not able to create the experience that exceeds guest expectations which we are renowned for. Your comments are taken seriously and we have discussed your feedback with management and the relevant...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was happy guys with all your services from a young lady called Olwethu which is it was the second time helping us from capetown and I promise to b back soon next time please tell me your requirements when hiring a car from your side

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yondela M
Coastlands_Marketing, Director of Sales at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at our hotel and for your valuable feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed an overall pleasant stay at our hotel and that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Maseru, Lesotho
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Beyond average and very disappointing. The parking is an issue as it is very limited. There is no wifi in rooms that's unlimited and the little 30 min they give is not helpful. Their menu is very limited and the food is not tasty. The elevators need fixing and the place in itself needs to be renovated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moeketsisefali
Coastlands_Marketing, Director of Sales at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at our hotel and for your valuable feedback. We apologise for the inconvenience during your stay as highlighted in your review, and that we were not able to create the experience that exceeds guest expectations which we are renowned for. Your comments are taken seriously and we have discussed your feedback with management and the relevant...

Durban
Reviewed 19 March 2017

It was a great experience at the hotel although I was a bit disappointed on my arrival because of the payment terms. I was first told to pay in full which I did and the hotel only took 50% which I was not aware off and on arrival I had to pay the balance in cash yet it wasn't planned...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 808vm
Coastlands_Marketing, Director of Sales at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at our hotel and for your valuable feedback. We apologise for the inconvenience during your stay as highlighted in your review, and that we were not able to create the experience that exceeds guest expectations which we are renowned for. Your comments are taken seriously and we have discussed your feedback with management and the relevant...

Durban
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Enjoyed our weekend get away, wonderful view of the bay and great service. Mr Allen Munsamy and Mr Kisten Naidoo are aces in my book. The spa was a total destresser and puts u in a relaxed mood. Awesome

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank keithmQ6160ZY
Coastlands_Marketing, Director of Sales at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at our hotel and for your valuable feedback. Guest feedback is very important to us as it plays a vital role in improving our facilities and services to ensure that your next stay is a memorable experience. We have addressed your feedback with management and staff and we will ensure that we continuously maintain and improve...

Durban
Reviewed 1 March 2017

We loved the place, just food is not up to standard. The old man in the dining room was great 👍🏿 We're going to come back and see if there are any changes. Your staff was wonderful, lovely. Thank you

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank muziwoxolom
Coastlands_Marketing, Director of Sales at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at our hotel and for your valuable feedback. Guest feedback is very important to us as it plays a vital role in improving our facilities and services to ensure that your next stay is a memorable experience. We have addressed your feedback with management and staff and we will ensure that we continuously maintain and improve...

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.5 km away
Pavilion Hotel & Conference Centre
1.2 km away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#32 of 42 in Durban
77 reviews
0.2 km away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#35 of 42 in Durban
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
The Waterfront Hotel and Spa
0.9 km away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#25 of 42 in Durban
37 reviews
0.5 km away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#28 of 42 in Durban
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: 267 Anton Lembede Street, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: $70 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Durban
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Durban
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Royal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room from 10th floor and higher, for better view of harbour”
eveev2013, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are pretty good - even the cheapest was very decent”
leonardb617, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on higher levels overlooking the bay are a must!”
MikeMouse2910, 21 May 2016 | Read review
“Harbour facing rooms are quieter and good view.”
Upepo71, 12 May 2016 | Read review
“Our room was facing North I think with a view over the carpark”
V8293WNjohnh, 6 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5