We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gibela Backpackers Lodge

Save
Traveller (16)
Dining (3)
Pool & Beach (2)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good36%
  • Average5%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“florida road”(20 reviews)
“big supermarket”(3 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Bar/Lounge
Kitchenette
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (165)
There are newer reviews for Gibela Backpackers Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
80
51
6
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
80
51
6
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflorida roadbig supermarketbeautiful hosteldorm roomcommon areasbotanical gardensfree breakfastwalking distancebars and restaurantsfollowing morningsecure parkingcomfortable staywifidataaccommodation
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 143 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2017

We stayed at Gibela for 5 nights and found it excellent. Conveniently located, clean, efficient and friendly staff, meticulously designed, with great attention to details. More more, staff acted with tact and sensitivity in what could have been an embarrassing situation. The only minus, the...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Nic B
Response from Elmar Owner G, Owner at Gibela Backpackers LodgeResponded May 4, 2017

Hello Nic Many thanx for the great review. It was a pleasure hosting you guys. We love it when guest appreciate and take the time to enjoy the extras we have on offer. Summer of 2017 was surely a HOT one with the month of...More

Reviewed December 7, 2016 via mobile

Fabulous place to stay in the heart of Durban close to Florida street bars and restaurants & 25min walk to the beach. Lovely rooms in a quiet neighbourhood with pool and free breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff. Highly recommended & thanks for a Lovely...More

4  Thank chrislkeen
Response from Elmar Owner G, Owner at Gibela Backpackers LodgeResponded December 22, 2016

Hello Jane & Chris Many thanx for taking the time to write your review. It's always satisfying to get positive feedback, especially from experienced, well travelled guests. We are well situated to all amenities travelers request. Your multiple day stay gave you the time to...More

Reviewed November 13, 2016

Old property with a lot of rules (felt like being at aunt's house). WIFI ? 100mb voucher and that's it. (very poor connection). Seriously?! Single beds stacked on each other - no chance to sit. And Durban-well...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 358kub
Response from Elmar Owner G, Owner at Gibela Backpackers LodgeResponded December 22, 2016

We did object to TripAdvisor about this review, but they didn't take it serious. Very confused traveler we have here. We didn't have any UK guests staying with us during the week this guest supposedly stayed. Prior to that in October none of UK guest...More

Reviewed October 11, 2016

There weren't many visitors during my one night stay, so I had a dorm room to myself. However, there were small lockers in the room (with electronic locks) to keep valuables locked-up. There was also a modest and clean kitchen. The lobby/lounge area was eclectic...More

2  Thank PNWmtns
Response from Elmar Owner G, Owner at Gibela Backpackers LodgeResponded November 1, 2016

Hello PNW Many thanx for your positive review. When we check people in we give them a map and show them what and where the to do things are in Durban. Together with that we explain and show the location of about 25 restaurants all...More

Reviewed September 20, 2016

One of the best backpacker hostel we have been to. The owner is super helpful. We used a private double room with a shared bathroom and everything was clean and comfortable. There is a laundry place and a supermarket nearby.

2  Thank Maxime A
Response from Elmar Owner G, Owner at Gibela Backpackers LodgeResponded November 1, 2016

Hello Maxime Very happy to hear you found the hostel of a standard that meets your satisfaction. We try to make every guests stay memorable and pleasant and its always great to have guests that appreciate it.

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Durban
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Pool
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Shuttle Bus Service
Breakfast included
Things to do
Pool
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$24 - US$66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$24 - US$66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (16)
Dining (3)
Pool & Beach (2)
Room & Suite (2)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
tardi t
December 12, 2016|
Answer
Response from Elmar Owner G | Property representative |
Twin rooms R 900-00 2 single beds Dorms R 300-00 per person 6 bed dorms separate male / female rooms
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Do your shopping in the daytime (it's probably fine in this area at night, but better safe than sorry)"
Read review
"They have both shared and private rooms. Pick your preference."
Read review
"The kitchen of the Hostel is on the first floor - may be this will be a creterion. The rooms are in booth..."
Read review
"We we're a couple of nights in a private room and a night in the dorm. Both we're really nice. I..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing