We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gibela Backpackers Lodge

Hotels.comUS$51*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Gibela Backpackers Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

156 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gibela Backpackers Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 135: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 8 June 2016

This lodge is absolutely wonderful! The owner Elmar always gives a personal welcome and would go the extra mile for service. The lodge is well located (great proximity to beach and restaurants) and is beautifully decorated and offers a South African feel, and the owner is well versed about the area and its history. The place is Clean and very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tumiburningcandle
Elmar Owner G, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Morning Tumi Thanx for taking the time to write such a "refreshing" review. We do try and stretch the limits to satisfy our guests requirements and needs, but as you can imagine it's not always to everyone's satisfaction. The Gibela Comrades family annual get together is a special time as the regulars catch up on a years happenings and the...

Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 21 May 2016

I had a really nice stay at this hostel. Cosy and safe place. The guy at the reception was very helpful. Supermarket 100 m away. They sell nice African Art at the reception. Small pool. It didn't like it that you cannot lock the dorm room.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 750nadine
Elmar Owner G, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Nadine We are pleased that you enjoyed a cosy stay at Gibela. We are on top of the security issue and provide a safe, comfortable stay. Private rooms can be locked but with dorms we find it becomes a bit noisy with 6 people locking and unlocking and locking themselves either in or out of the dorm. Hence we...

Reviewed 12 May 2016

I've been to a few backpackers in South Africa now and Gibela's is well-run. Elmar and Cyril are super helpful and friendly, and I had a great time chatting with Elmar and a couple other backpackers during my stay. The lodge is well-maintained and comfortable. Elmar's been running the place ~14 years now (is what I heard). All the information...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alex W
Elmar Owner Gib... D, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Morning Alex SPOT ON - it takes a few days to get to know Durban and Gibela and you managed to do it right. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Gibela and that you took the time to explore and experience Durban. We strive to make every travellers stay as comfortable and memorable as possible and achieve this...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 7 April 2016

I stayed in Durban for six days all at Gibela Backpackers lodge. All the staff kew everything about Durban I wanted to know and gave me loads of advice on where to head next as i wasn't sure how to pick out the best stuff between here and Cape Town My bed was comfy enough, the people I shared the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank samintraveller2016
Elmar Owner Gib... D, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Samin Thank you for taking the time to write such a rewarding review. It seems that you had a great onward journey and that the info and suggestions we made was to your satisfaction. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Gibela and that services and facilities we offer to your satisfaction. I do apologise for the...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 28 February 2016

This hostel is very beautifully maintained, the beds are comfortable, and the facilities are fine. There is a small safe in the room for valuables. The dorm rooms do not lock, which I found to be strange. The staff at the hostel are very nice and attend to the maintenance of the grounds. The only problem is with the owner...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank laurentravelsalot
Elmar Owner Gib... D, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Lauren I will start where you finished off. You should take a look in the mirror and see what strange all is about. I’ll start with your Tripadvisor name “lauentravelsalot”. With a name like this one would expect more than 3 reviews (us being your second) on your Tripadvisor profile which was created less than a month ago. Rather...

Warsaw, Poland
Reviewed 17 February 2016

If you are looking for something a little bit more quiet than a usual hostel then this place is a grate choice. It is not far away from the promenade and really not far away(4-5 min.) from the street with a lot of restaurants, bars and cafes(florida st.). To be honest I had the best sleep in this place from...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 44thomas011
Elmar Owner Gib... D, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Thomas I am very pleased that you rate our sleeping experience as tops during your travels in South Africa. Yes we are definitely not a party hostel and the travellers that stay at Gibela is mostly of the same mind set. Our location is ideal to explore and walk to most of what Durban has to offer. I explained...

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Reviewed 11 February 2016

The place is well located, close to Florida road. The rooms are clean and safe and the staff is very helpful. They have a relaxing space at the back and the pool is really cool. The only thing I did not like was that the wifi only worked nearby the pool. I recommend Gibela Backpackers.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank davidhist0ria
Elmar Owner Gib... D, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thanx for the review. Good to hear that you would recommend GIBELA and that you enjoyed the recreation spaces we created for guests. The wi-fi is limited to reception / breakfast / pool area as we previously had complaints from guests that fellow travellers (especially in dorms) are inconsiderate and connect / talk / work till all hours of the...

Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 27 January 2016

I stayed at Gibela Backpackers for 3 days and thoroughly enjoyed it. It's a good 20 min walk to the beach, and literally minutes from Florida road. The lodge is clean (the cleanest I've been to) and the owner is very friendly. He's also very knowledgeable and will give you a map with detailed instructions on where to go, where...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tamara W
Elmar Owner Gib... D, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and appreciative of our facilities and service. Good to hear you were able to relax and look forward in welcoming you back at Gibela when you next visit Durban. Happy travels.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 10 January 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I will certainly come back. I loved the dormitory. I would recommend that there be some rules for keeping the room tidy, especially if one is sharing, as this promotes consideration for those who are tidy. I loved the breakfast, the pool and the security. The location is excellent.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank karentI6640ZE
Elmar Owner Gib... D, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Morning Karen Thank-you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Gibela Travellers Lodge. As far as "personal housekeeping" is concerned we take for granted that each individual is conscious enough to respect fellow "roomies" and keep their belongings and space neat and tidy. When it comes to communal areas, kitchen and bathroom facilities we...

Reviewed 5 January 2016 via mobile

Very clean, quiet, colorful lobby, safe location and close to florida street , a bit expensive for backpackers but totally worth it... Late checkin hasbto b allowed though coz one can never control flights...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hend L
Elmar Owner Gib... D, Owner at Gibela Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanx for taking the time to review Gibela Backpackers Lodge. All the positives you mentioned cost a little extra to maintain and upkeep which is a reflection in the price. Our clientele is usually out exploring the various restaurants, bars, cafes and nighlife by 7.30 / 8.00pm, so no need to keep reception open if no-one is around. Through...

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
2.3 km away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,369 reviews
3.1 km away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#32 of 43 in Durban
81 reviews
3.1 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
422 reviews
2.0 km away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#24 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
0.6 km away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
TOP CHOICE - Lonely Planet 2012 "If this hostel (a tastefully converted 1950's Tuscan home) were a B&B, it would be described as 'boutique'. One of Durban's best hostels, it has sparkling surfaces and rooms neat enough to pass an army major's inspection. It even provides a continental breakfast- to be enjoyed in an attractive indoor-outdoor dining area." Gibela is conveniently located in the safe, residential area of Morningside and within walking distance to the center of Durban’s entertainment life, Florida Road, where there are restaurants, cocktail bars, clubs and coffee shops galore. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gibela Backpackers Lodge

Address: 119 Ninth Avenue | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: $50 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gibela Backpackers Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Gibela Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gibela Backpackers Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
5 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Gibela Backpackers Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do your shopping in the daytime (it's probably fine in this area at night, but better safe than sorry)”
Z6380FRalexw, 12 May 2016 | Read review
“They have both shared and private rooms. Pick your preference.”
277tamaraw, 27 Jan 2016 | Read review
“The kitchen of the Hostel is on the first floor - may be this will be a creterion. The rooms are in booth floors the same.”
annamzee, 29 Apr 2014 | Read review
“We we're a couple of nights in a private room and a night in the dorm. Both we're really nice. I heard that the showers upstairs worked better. Water pressure was a little bit low in the shower I used.”
efrmfinland, 24 Apr 2014 | Read review
“The rooms on the 2nd floor are very nice and quiet.”
422natalied, 24 Jul 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$51* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$51
TravelocityUS$51
Expedia.comUS$51
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates