We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rhino River Lodge

Hotwire.comUS$270*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Rhino River Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

357 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 308: English reviews
Start your review of Rhino River Lodge
 Click to rate
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Absolutely incredible! Could not recommend Rhino River Lodge more highly. The staff treated us so well and made us feel welcomed. Our ranger, Gerry, was fabulous. We had the most amazing sightings right from the very first game drive. He did a great job in keeping us on the edge of our seats with excitement. The food was out of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kelliott2017
ShannonAirton, Owner at Rhino River Lodge, responded to this review

What a wonderfully special review. It was an honor to be chosen as your honeymoon destination and I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here. I'm very happy our staff took the time to mark your very special occasion here. I will pass on your praise to Gerry and our kitchen staff. Thank you for this...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in 'The Cottage' for 4 nights and loved every bit of our stay. Andrew, our ranger was knowledgeable and made made all of our drives interesting and funny. The accommodation was great and we were well looked after by all the staff. Although we didn't get the 'Big 5' with the leopard being difficult and elusive, we made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James G
ShannonAirton, Owner at Rhino River Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for this great feedback of your stay at Rhino River Lodge. I'm so glad that you enjoyed the Cottage and it sounds like you had some wonderful game viewing. Leopards are always very shy, but I have to say, my personal favourite is wild dogs and it sounds like you had a special treat of getting to view them...

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 3 nights and had a great time. The food, staff, rangers, game drives and lodges were fantastic! We were very lucky and in the 3 nights we stayed saw a number of animals up close. The rangers were great and provided us with background and information on the animals. We would highly recommend this experience for anyone,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rachel L
ShannonAirton, Owner at Rhino River Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us here. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Three nights is a pretty good amount of time to get a feel for the reserve but sometimes it leaves you desiring just a little bit more! We hope we may be able to host you for a little bit...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and I stayed at Rhino River for the first time for 2 nights and had a fantastic stay. The lodge was incredibly accommodating as we had 2 children with us, one 2,5 years and the other 9 months. We organized private drives so we could take the children on the drives with us and at the same time...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank biancadagnolo1
ShannonAirton, Owner at Rhino River Lodge, responded to this review

I am so glad to hear that you and your family had such a special time here at Rhino River Lodge. A private drive is a great way to be able to include our very youngest guests which otherwise wouldn't be able to join along. I'm glad you enjoyed the Homestead, our private safari homes do tend to give just...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Love Rhino River, the accommodation is lovely,the food is great,and lots of it, you won't be going hungry! All the staff are friendly and welcoming, we had a wonderful stay for our honeymoon. We saw lots of animals ,and the rangers are very informative. Would definitely recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nikki G
ShannonAirton, Owner at Rhino River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and thank you for choosing Rhino River as a destination for your honeymoon. We hope we may see you on many anniversaries in the years to come!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We loved our stay at Rhino River.It was an amazing experience and we were so well looked after.Jerry our ranger was very knowledgeable and we learnt so much on our game drives. It was my second visit and I hope to return again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glenda K
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'm literally just home from a 4 day stay at the rhino river lodge with my 2 daughters and we are all depressed! We had such an amazing time! Ok.. The lodge itself is beautiful. Everything is so clean. We stayed in one of the chalets which was lovely. My daughters stayed in the twin room downstairs and I stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank famx3loves2travel
ShannonAirton, Owner at Rhino River Lodge, responded to this review

I am so glad to hear what a wonderful time you had at our lodge with your daughters. Sounds like you had some really spectacular game viewing too! I will pass along your praise to Murray. Murray is our youngest ranger, but he is doing just a fantastic job and we are very proud to have him as part of...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff, the accommodation, the Ranger (Jerry) and most of all the Safari was amazing, the staff went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay, we stayed in the cottage with its own pool which was fantastic. The 2 days was an experience of a lifetime and one I will always remember, Value for money was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank newnsy2017
ShannonAirton, Owner at Rhino River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. I will certainly pass on your compliments to Gerry and the rest of our team. The Cottage is a fantastic spot to take in the bush and enjoy a bit of privacy. I am so glad we were able to make your safari special!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The bottom line was that we all, as a family, fell in love with Rhino River and I would have absolutely no hesitation in wholeheartedly recommending it to anyone after a great time in the bush. We did quiet a bit of research before deciding on Rhino River Lodge. The things that really swung it for us were the location,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ed_Fenris
ShannonAirton, Owner at Rhino River Lodge, responded to this review

What a delightful, fantastic, wonderful, awesome review! Thank you so much for your feedback. I am really so glad to hear what a fantastic time you had here at RRL. The Cottage is such a great place for a family to spend time...having that little bit of extra privacy and space can really make the difference in a holiday, especially...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

It's not cheap to stay here....I've stayed all over SA...but what you get here is cheap & cheerful. Cheap, cost-cutting taste and cheerful service. What's cheap? Furnishings in family chalet tired and out of date. First night bath (no bubble bath or salts) with our daughters which leaked all over the ground floor. Pipe had got disconnected. The ugly carpet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
ShannonAirton, Owner at Rhino River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide such a detailed review here on Trip Advisor. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, especially because I know that our staff went above and beyond to ensure your and your entire family's comfort. I would however like to address a few inconsistencies simply...

392 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (372)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (264)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluhluwe
30.2 km away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
125 reviews
31.6 km away
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
9.1 km away
Leopard Mountain Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.5 km away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#2 of 33 in Hluhluwe
300 reviews
38.1 km away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#11 of 33 in Hluhluwe
144 reviews
8.8 km away
Thanda Safari
Thanda Safari
#1 of 1 in Thanda Private Game Reserve
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Rhino River Lodge

Address: | P.O BOX 2950, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Price Range: $360 - $607 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rhino River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, South African Hotels, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rhino River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rhino River Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Rhino River Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The "Cottage" was great! Far enough away from other units to be romantic and quiet, but within a few minutes walking distance to the lodge.”
  • Cottage at Rhino Rodge
kelliott2017, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“If you are looking for privacy or a place that the whole family can stay together, ask for The Homestead .”
biancadagnolo1, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the cabin which we loved but the stairs up to the bedroom are very steep.”
, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“The Cottage was fantastic”
newnsy2017, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We found the Cottage to be excellent - own pool, quiet & animals visited drinking trough”
  • Ostriches at sunset
  • Fun in the pool (NB this our private pool that came with the Cottage - the main pool is much big
Ed_Fenris, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
US$270* /night
View Deal
SA HotelsUS$567
TravelocityUS$270
Expedia.comUS$270
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates