We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Wildebees Ecolodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Wildebees Ecolodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 98: English reviews
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 19 April 2016

Wonderful place! Trees and nature is all around. Close to the national parc. Close to St Lucia for a day trip. But also a nice remote and quiet place to relax. And they offer horse safaris! The eco lodge is magical, a really special and friendly place!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank M M
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 5 April 2016

unfortunately even trip advisor can be abused. this place is run down, filthy, overpriced for what is on offer, and even at a very cheap price i would recommend find a place where you get what you pay for. we did not, would never return here and our departure didn't come soon enough. its such a pity that trip advisor...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 508jeremyz
WildebeesEcolodge, Owner at Wildebees Ecolodge, responded to this review

Dear Jeremy, I am as disgusted reading your personal opinion and experience and finding out that we did not meet your expectations, I do sincerely apologise. Unfortunately we were not informed of your experience when you were here, it would have given us the opportunity to rectify the problem. I do not understand why you would comment that 'tripadvisor can...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

Nice and peaceful. Lady staff in charge, very helpful. Food ok. But accommodation and bar area, old and tacty. Look around, Google the are much better places to stay. Xctbuijyrsghycbuiiojvrgvjoiybnjkutdcasbjueghkpkbygxznjyrsguuhdwehjjykolbzryjkn

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank J-P00071234
WildebeesEcolodge, Owner at Wildebees Ecolodge, responded to this review

I am pleased that you enjoyed the environment and helpfulness of our staff. I'm not sure which room you have stayed in but I must mention that we are currently in the process of upgrading our rooms. I assume you have stayed in a room that had not been upgraded as yet. It is certainly not the standard we like...

Boulder, Colorado
Reviewed 15 March 2016

This is an adorable African eco lodge situated in a jungley area outside of Hluhluwe. They offer small rustic cottages, a pool, a bar, and lovely little dining area. It is very close to Hluhluwe Game Reserve for those interested in staying outside of the park.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Africatvl
Breda, The Netherlands
Reviewed 15 March 2016

Nice to find flowers in the house we stayed in. Girl at reception very friendly and the diner was very good. Limited choice but the food tasted very good. One of the best meals we had during out three weeks trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 75elendan
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 5 March 2016

The efficient friendliness of Princess at reception was a good start especially as we were lost and she explained exactly how to get there. I love the wood fire and the dinner served under the stars with an open sky above. This is our second visit and we will definitely be back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 715felicityk
Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 11 January 2016

We were treated with respect my partner and I and we can't wait to go back again we also champagne for new year celebration and allnight party we definitely enjoyed the food was good they supplied drinking water for us the staff magnificent sizwe the best receptionist ever

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank audreyk200
Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

My boyfriend and I have stayed multiple times at Wildebees Ecolodge. Our most recent trip was another excellent stay. The rooms are nicely appointed and always spotlessly clean. The staff are friendly and really make you feel welcome. The food is excellent and well priced - normally don't have enough room for all the delicious food they prepare for you....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LaraJB
Pennington, South Africa
Reviewed 21 November 2015

Sadly I selected this 'lodge' to be our camping home for two nights whilst our group visited Hluhluwe Game Reserve. Having to repair a puncture on the rocky roads to the lodge dampened our enthusiasm...Arriving in 3 camper vans we found that there were no allocated campsites, in fact there are no campsites! We ended up parking in the road...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cathymG2552GO
Hilton, South Africa
Reviewed 22 October 2015

We hadn't expected rose petals in the shape of a heart on the bed - they didn't know it was our 40th wedding anniversary. Fabulous meals! Exquisite cuisine - every meal. Careful attention to our dietary health requirements

 Report
Helpful?
Thank delmahlangu

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
12.5 km away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
114 reviews
6.7 km away
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
13.4 km away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#4 of 7 in Hluhluwe
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 km away
Isinkwe Backpackers Bushcamp
0.0 km away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#8 of 32 in Hluhluwe
128 reviews
6.5 km away
Zululand Safari Lodge
Zululand Safari Lodge
#11 of 32 in Hluhluwe
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in a lush tropical garden, Wildebees ecolodge offers cottage accommodation and a lagoon-style pool framed by palm shrubs. Wildebees is part of the UNESCO-protected Greater iSimangaliso Wetlands Park. Wildebees Ecolodge features an outdoor restaurant with a charming bonfire. Guests can enjoy local and international cuisine under the stars, while enjoying the sounds of the African bush. The lodge also offers a garden lounge bar, and a barbecue area to prepare a traditional South African braai. Before heading out to explore the region, guests can request a packed lunch. The thatched accommodation of the Ecolodge is surrounded by large trees and flowering shrubs. It is decorated in rustic style, with wooden furniture and mosquito nets. We are proud to offer you the difference, this is not only noticed by our personal service, relaxed atmosphere and value for money accommodation, but it also includes our measures to conserve the environment and sustain the well-being of local people with our ecolabel projects. Wildebees ecolodge is owner managed. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wildebees Ecolodge

Address: False Bay Road C20 (D540), Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Price Range: $61 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wildebees Ecolodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Wildebees Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wildebees Ecolodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms we saw were about the same age, size and its a quiet, very quiet place”
 of 5 bubbles JimW14, 4 Nov 2014 | Read review
“We had chalet 10 (with double bed and full bathroom), coffee/tea facilities and lovely outside seating area and chalet 6 (twin bedroom with shower en suite). Can recommend both these rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 372janet, 25 Sep 2012 | Read review
“We had no 4 and that was next to the community kitchen and close enough to the Dining and Bar areas. We had no complaints.”
 of 5 bubbles EstelleRussell, 25 Jun 2012 | Read review
“If you are coming with a fam, ask for lodge nr 15.”
 of 5 bubbles Blubd, 6 May 2012 | Read review
“Second floor in the family room is perfect for children.”
 of 5 bubbles BurkiThai, 12 Jan 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay