We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Beachcomber Bay

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Beachcomber Bay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 120: English reviews
Start your review of Beachcomber Bay
 Click to rate
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and 12 year old son spent a few days at Beachcomber Bay a few weekends ago while my daughter was on tour with her school, playing in netball tournaments in the area. It was a really enjoyable stay and felt like being at home...but we don't have as spectacular a view from our home in Hillcrest unfortunately. The...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank H1164CJnicoleb
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to have your family stay with us. Thank you for the lovely review Keep well Regards Sharon

Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful setting with sea views. Was a great start to our holiday Great service and local advice, close to blue lagoon restaurant which is a must Wonderful breakfast would recommend to stay here and I would stay again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank amandapD4209KS
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again Keep well Regards Sharon

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

The overall experience was fyn. It has a lovely view and beautiful scrnery. I loved the privacy. The staff and owners were kind and hospitable. The downside of the rooms we were at is outside of it is where there is a common seating area where people drank and smoked in the morning right outside our door so we had...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank thabanih2017
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this review

So sorry you had a probelm with someone smoking too close to your door. Smoking is not allowed in the rooms so the smokers smoke outside. I hope closing your sliding door made it a little better Thank you for taking the time to submit this review, I hope you enjoyed your stay Regards Sharon

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everthing was on pint, i really enjoyed my stay at Beachcomberbay. The professionalism of the staff at beachcomberbay is amazing The hospitality of the owners is also amazing The room was alys kept neat and tidy The place is close to all enemities

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mlungisig2017
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Perhaps you will return some time Keep well Regards Sharon

Durbanville, South Africa
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Thank you Trevor and Sharon for the lovely stay. My husband and I really enjoyed the awesome sea view, as well as the great service which you provided. The peace and tranquility was most welcoming. The venue was close to beach, shopping centres, etc. We had a wonderful stay at the Beachcomber Bay Guest House. Thank you once again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ursular134
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this review

Thank you Ursula, it was a pleasure having you stay at Beachcomber Bay Seee you again sooon, keep well regards Sharon TJ

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 27 February 2017

A two-nights stay is short but they were pleasant. Going to sleep with the sound of the waves of the Indian Ocean crashing on the rocks below was soothing. Sharon and her team took care of me and even the dogs came to greet every morning. What a homely place to stay away from home. Much enjoyed!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChristophBraxton
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this review

Thanks so much Christopher for taking the time to review your stay. It would be great to have you back Keep well Regards Sharon

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 17 February 2017

This is a lovely place to stay we had a very good room overlooking the ocean it's an older property but well kept our hostess was very welcoming and friendly the breakfast was first rate with fresh produce

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank doreene381
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to give us this great review, we enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to your return.

Polokwane, South Africa
Reviewed 17 February 2017

We had such a wonderful time at Beachcomber. We stayed 10 nights and were truly treated like family. The breakfast was AMAZING. The room was huge and the view breathtaking. We will certainly be going back on our next trip.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 512carmie
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 2 February 2017

The rooms are clean, cool and well appointed! I love the fresh milk in the fridge. Linen is really great, and lovely towels. Wifi is quick and efficient and its a pleasure to stay here. I always wish it was for longer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 4514paula
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this review

Thank you Paula, your review is greatly appreciated. It would be great to have you for a longer stay Regards Sharon

Maseru District, Lesotho
Reviewed 14 January 2017

Nice clean and neat room with a view of the sea . Friendly hosts. Accessible and friendly neighbourhood. Would recommend it family and friends. Parking can be improved. House keeping staff was noisy .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marciamL2418ME
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am sorry you found the parking difficult, when we are very full we ask guests to park their cars on the grass on the right of the gate when you drive in. Sorry I think I forgot to mention that to you I will speak to the...

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
11.3 km away
San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa
1.1 km away
La Cote d'Azur
La Cote d'Azur
#3 of 6 in Margate
53 reviews
27.8 km away
Wild Coast Sun Hotel
Wild Coast Sun Hotel
#3 of 4 in Port Edward
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Margate Sands
Margate Sands
#2 of 6 in Margate
88 reviews
0.7 km away
The Homestead Margate
The Homestead Margate
#2 of 24 in Margate
49 reviews
7.1 km away
Tahiti Sands
Tahiti Sands
#3 of 8 in Shelly Beach
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mediterranean style Guesthouse decorated in an African theme is superbly positioned on the border of Margate and Ramsgate overlooking the warm Indian Ocean. This tranquil venue is less than a 10 minute walk to the centre of Margate, an ideal position for both business and leisure.Beachcomber Bay is situated on a hilltop with superb breaker and sea views and private access to golden beaches. . Enjoy warm hospitality, personal service and sumptuous breakfasts. Guests may enjoy a refreshing sauna, a spa bath or sunbathe on the pool deck or patios, (where the seasonal whale, dolphin, and sardine runs may be viewed) or partake in a host of activities, and scenic drives.Beachcomber Bay is within easy reach of eight PGA rated golf courses, including Selborne Country Club, South Broom Golf Club, San Lameer Country Club and the Wild Coast Sun Country Club which are rated in the top 50 courses in South Africa.A host of activities and a variety of restaurants are easily accessible ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beachcomber Bay

Address: 75 Marine Drive | Ramsgate, Margate 4285, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Margate
Price Range: $86 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachcomber Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Beachcomber Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Beachcomber Bay staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Beachcomber Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Italian at the bottom of the street does a lovely Lamb shank.”
johnmP7244AX, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Beachview family room”
tashiem2016, 5 Apr 2016 | Read review
“room 6 lovely view”
karenp511, 15 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Room 5 is a large room by the pool. Designed as a family room but has a seating area, which is great for relaxing with a book or a drink before dinner.”
BabsN_13, 9 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Check it especially if your intention is to enjoy the beach and do some fishing.”
ZamaB, 4 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5