We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Redlands Hotel and Lodge

Orbitz.comUS$109*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Redlands Hotel and Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 116: English reviews
Start your review of Redlands Hotel and Lodge
 Click to rate
Bloemfontein
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The service at breakfast was not up to standard and there was no sweetener at the coffee table. The lady at reception was efficient and outstanding. Want to use the facility more regularly and will address if not better during next visit

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank willemfrederickb
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The pictures make The hotel look good and I giess when the expectations are high disappointment are expected However we felt that the Check in staff was not fair and didn't give us the room we had assigned to us Seems as though he acted against the expectations of the management as well

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank D3593VPfatimam
Redlands_Hotel, General Manager at Redlands Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. Unfortunately, after our discussion, I never received the e-mail which was going to give specifics of the issue. After investigation from our side, based on what you had told me, I believe the following occurred. You made a booking for two guests online and on arrival wanted a second room due to you...

Margate, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Comfortable beautiful lawns in well kept estate. Not much else offered in terms of entertainment 27 inch tv's disappointing as well as lack of channels on Dstv combo. But for a business trip suffices and would visit again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sfisoh2017
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Flexible check in & check out. Secure, upmarket accommodation which is reasonably priced in the quite suburbs of Pietermaritzburg. The staff were super friendly the location has easy access to the CBD and national road

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank M2323NSbrucem
Redlands_Hotel, General Manager at Redlands Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review

We are so please you enjoyed your stay and sincerely hope that you return for a visit soon. Taking the time to post a review means a great deal to us and I will certainly pass this onto the staff. Regards and best wishes. Paul

Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewed 2 March 2017

The Redlands Hotel, I can really reccomend for busness and toursit travellers. The rooms are comfortable with more than enough working space. The food was also excellent and affordable. The staff was friendly and always helpfull. A business centre at the hotel will help a lot.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 687jasperc
Redlands_Hotel, General Manager at Redlands Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback and choosing Redlands. I hope we see you again soon. We do have a computer available behind reception should one be required and our staff will always help should printing of documents etc be needed. Regards and best wishes. Paul

Johannesburg
Reviewed 1 March 2017

A warm welcome from the man on duty even though we got there very late, was kind enough to find us some champagne glasses and take us to our room. A wonderful rest and evening. Unfortunately couldn't stay for breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank neeleshv2017
Redlands_Hotel, General Manager at Redlands Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review

Congratulations on your recent wedding and thank you for spending your first night here at Redlands. We so appreciate the feedback you sent. Wishing you all the very best. Paul and the team.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 19 February 2017

The rooms have rusty carpets but have acceptable size and in quiet environment. Close to PMB city centre but you have to drive to any restaurant/shop as nothing is walking distance. Staff helpful but we did not try the breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 97tomasr
Redlands_Hotel, General Manager at Redlands Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. Please can you advise which room you were in as I am unaware of any issues with carpets? Please feel free to contact me at gm@redlandshotel.co.za. Regards and best wishes. Paul

Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Fantastic stay! Brenda and her crew were always there to make our stay a pleasurable one. We had dinner at the hotel and it was really good. Kids enjoyed it and have suggested we stay there again if the opportunity arises.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnnyj206
Redlands_Hotel, General Manager at Redlands Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback and I am so happy that Brenda and the team looked after you. I hope you listen to the kids and pay us another visit soon!!!! Regards and best wishes. Paul

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2017

Excellent Service, staff friendly and very helpful had a minor issue with my dress the receptionist tried her best to help me out, The suite was cosy with a nice view and the food was Awesome. I will definitely come back. I have told all my friends about your superb service.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bulelwan2017
Redlands_Hotel, General Manager at Redlands Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review

It is always so good when you receive feedback like this. Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review. Regards and best wishes. Paul

Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Have been to Redlands hotel a few times as I travel to Pietermaritzburg a lot. Generally eat there even if I am not staying there. I have been there recently and the one night the food was good as always (had the curry) but the second night the food was not up to standard. Had a rump and asked for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacques C
Redlands_Hotel, General Manager at Redlands Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jaques Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am sorry you feel the meal warranted the review written. We take all feedback very seriously and I have already discussed this with my chef. If you could let me know which nights you were here I would appreciate it so that I can follow up...

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pietermaritzburg hotels
8.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
#3 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
224 reviews
6.5 km away
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
#7 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
12 reviews
2.3 km away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#5 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Babbling Brook Bed and Breakfast
Babbling Brook Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 61 in Pietermaritzburg
185 reviews
3.7 km away
Tancredi B&B
Tancredi B&B
#1 of 61 in Pietermaritzburg
156 reviews
4.9 km away
Ascot Inn
Ascot Inn
#3 of 61 in Pietermaritzburg
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Redlands Hotel and Lodge caters for the discerning corporate traveller, parents visiting school children in the area, tourists wishing to explore the Midlands, intimate weddings and functions. Our restaurant and Club Room are open daily. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Redlands Hotel and Lodge

Address: 1 George Mac Farlane Lane | Wembley, Pietermaritzburg 3201, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pietermaritzburg
Price Range: $111 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Redlands Hotel and Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Redlands Hotel and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Redlands Hotel and Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 4 overlooks the pool area.”
johnmZ4333OT, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a garden view”
898JohnR, 12 May 2016 | Read review
“Arrive early to enjoy their dinner...”
thulim2014, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the south wing - you can ask for rooms on the right of the corridor - the staff and hotel management are very accommodating!”
lulamam, 10 Dec 2015 | Read review
“I would prefer the garden rooms where you can walk straight onto the terrace and pool”
RunarF, 30 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$109* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$109
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates