We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Traveller (8)
Room & Suite (8)
Pool & Beach (3)
Overview
18 New England Road Scottsville, Pietermaritzburg 3201 South Africa See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Free Airport Transportation
3 Star accommodation
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
6
1
1
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
6
1
1
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 12 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2018 via mobile

Totally loved the place big up guys u can do better. Definitely looking forward for the next visit. Food was amazing so guys you on track. Continue with the good work.I will definitely recommend it to my collegues

Thank ndabe2018
Reviewed June 10, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Ilawu before the Comrades - It was SMALL - over priced - noisy guests and they also had a function,which meant the car park was FULL - unacceptable- Photos not reflecting what the rooms look like - unfortunately we...More

Thank IlzeMoller
Response from iLawuHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at ILawu Bed & BreakfastResponded June 12, 2018

Thank you for your feedback, . We take pride in exceeding our customer expectations and whilst we are thrilled that you chose us for your Comrades Marathon stay, we are deeply disturbed that you were disappointed. Please be so kind as to inbox us your...More

Reviewed June 9, 2018 via mobile

Spent 1 night at this B and B. The conference room was next to our room and music was blaring all night. How can you put a room next to a conference room that you rent out for birthday parties. Unacceptable. rooms are old and...More

Thank jasonrademan
Response from iLawuHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at ILawu Bed & BreakfastResponded June 12, 2018

Thank you for taking time to explain the issues that have occurred recently whilst at iLawu Guest House.We take great care to ensure that our guests receive the best service and hospitality in all we do, although in this particular situation we have not succeeded...More

Reviewed January 23, 2018

Smelly, noisy and not clean. We booked a room for a business traveller, on arrival at Ilawu Bed and breakfast the place was not clean and smelly. They suggested we relocate to Ilawu Inn but this place is not much better. Unfortunately, with a 100%...More

Thank EstherM1291
Response from iLawuHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at ILawu Bed & BreakfastResponded February 5, 2018

On behalf of iLawu Hospitality Group, kindly accept our sincere apologies for not being able to provide you the high standard of hospitality which is the general norm of our hotels. We genuinely regret the inconvenience caused to you because of this and reassure you...More

Reviewed December 17, 2017

First time stay in Pmb. I stayed with a group of colleagues for business from 1-12 December. The room felt congested with hardly any cupboard space for 3 adults. Minimal space to walk in the room left me claustrophobic. The rooms were cleaned daily, but...More

Thank Pushpa G
Response from iLawuHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at ILawu Bed & BreakfastResponded December 20, 2017

On behalf of Ilawu Hospitality Group Management and Staff we would like to extend our sincerest apology for the inconvenience caused to you on during your stay. At iLawu Group we take pride in insuring our customer’s satisfaction and keep the highest standards of our...More

View more reviews
About
Description
iLawu Guesthouse is the ideal base from which to discover the capital city of KwaZulu-Natal in the southern suburbs of Pietermaritzburg. Our 11 room guesthouse is located close to the well-known Golden More Horse Casino, Scottville Mall, University of KwaZulu-Natal, Durban University of Technology, Alexandra Park, Harry Gwala Stadium and 15 minutes from the airport, yet in a private and cosy environment. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Free Parking
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Air Conditioning
Airport Transportation
Breakfast Available
Conference Facilities
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Microwave
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Refrigerator in room
Shuttle Bus Service
Wheelchair Access
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
11
Price range
US$55 - US$60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pietermaritzburg
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
11
Price range
US$55 - US$60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pietermaritzburg
Photos
Traveller (8)
Room & Suite (8)
Pool & Beach (3)
Dining (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 8 nearby hotels
Southern Sun Pietermaritzburg
220 reviews
.34 km away
Imperial Hotel
77 reviews
1.72 km away
Thorn Tree Lodge
27 reviews
2.08 km away
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
26 reviews
2.97 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 114 nearby restaurants
Tandoor Kitchen
182 reviews
1.27 km away
Tea on 23
34 reviews
1.16 km away
El Sombrero Spur Steak Ranch
26 reviews
.19 km away
RocoMamas Scottsville
18 reviews
.25 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 28 nearby attractions
African Bird of Prey Sanctuary
113 reviews
1.13 km away
Tala Private Game Reserve
279 reviews
2.39 km away
Butterflies for Africa
114 reviews
2.36 km away
Natal Museum
53 reviews
1.73 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from ILawu Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Limited options. Located close to the road so traffic noise will affect a light sleeper."
335pushpag
Dec. 17, 2017
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing