We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Zeranka Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Umhlanga Rocks
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Zeranka Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

248 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 153: English reviews
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

It's the second time I've stayed here. All was spot on ! Conveniently located ..peaceful, calm , relaxed, clean and a home away from home. Marcelle is a great host and the staff are great too. Beds are comfortable, clean sheets and all conveniences are here. Private beach is about a 50 meter walk from the venue. The pool is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tcloud
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in zeranka lodge just one night after a long drive. Nonetheless we were very impressed by the Zeranka the spacious lodges and the bed was excellent. There are some nice restaurants in the area and the lodge is very close to the beach.

Helpful?
Thank DaanK1
Marcelle H, Owner at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Daan Thanks for the review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and had a good sleep after the long drive you had. We pride ourselves on our comfortable beds. Yes, we are very spoilt having the beach so near. Travel on safely Regards Marcelle More 

1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Very cousy and relaxing place! We were a bit unlucky with the weather but with nice sunny weather it's the perfect place to be (nice swimming pool and terrace + own path to the beach). We stayed there because we had to take a flight from Durban, it's just a short and easy drive from Zeranka Lodge. We had to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Erik T
Marcelle H, Owner at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Thank Erik for your review... Yes, we try hard to have our guests feel that home away from home feeling. Glad you enjoyed the snack breakfast. Sorry about the weather, its raining again today!!! but no complaints as rain is badly needed. Hope you will visit us again and I will order our beautiful sunshine!!! Regards Marcelle More 

1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

We have really enjoyed our stay at the Zeranka Lodge. It was just a pitty that is was only 1 night. Very nice surroudings and the beach close by. Very nice and helpfull staf. Hope to return for a longer stay.

Helpful?
Thank Ellen M
Marcelle H, Owner at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Ellen Thanks for the review. It was a pleasure to have you to stay, even for such a short time. No matter how short or long the stay, we always try our best for you to have an enjoyable time, would love to have you back Regards Marcelle More 

Freiberg am Neckar, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2016

well, for a 4 star accomodation the furniture was too old, bathrooms were very small and old. We had to leave early in the morning (about 6:30) 1 hour before regular breakfast time and we even didn't get some Toasts or any warm coffee or tea in the morning. only some Muffins and packaged apple Juice ... lol ... not... More 

Helpful?
Thank jens290972
Marcelle H, Owner at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Jens for your comments. I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay or find anything to your satisfaction. We have a very strict Star grading in SA and I assure you I am 4 star. All the rooms are totally refurbished every 2 to 3 years and painted annually. When we bought the Lodge, it was... More 

Wijchen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Nice place to stay with very helpful and friendly people. Centrally and conveniently located in a quiet area. The rooms are clean and spacious. we had a kitchenette in it. The breakfast is good and they prepare what you want.

Helpful?
Thank Germa v
Marcelle H, Owner at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Thanks for your kind words. We at Zeranka, try very hard to offer as much help, assistance and information as possible, to make you stay as relaxing and pleasant as possible. So glad you enjoyed your stay. Travel safely Regards Marcelle More 

Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Good B&B with all the necessities and friendly staff. Quite slow (but free) wireless internet that only worked well in a limited area. Close to the beach, although this is not the nicest part of the beach and you have to go a few km away to be able to go swimming.

Helpful?
Thank roberthI7584XL
Marcelle H, Owner at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review. Unfortunately you arrived soon after the dreadful floods that Durban experienced. Part of the Lodge was flooded as were many other areas of Durban This badly affected our wifi in all the rooms, we could only pick it up in the front seating area. This is now almost back to 100% As too our... More 

Almere, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Good and Nice b&b. Unfortunally we came a day after a big storm so the beach was gone. Nice location and room is prefect size. Aldo near to airport it was quit and confortable.free wifi. We will be back.

Helpful?
Thank dbraitman
Marcelle H, Owner at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Yes the beaches are an absolute disaster and will take months or years to get back to the beautiful beaches that we had before that terrible storm. Most of the plastic and rubbish has been cleared, but so much sand washed away. Very sad. I am glad you enjoyed you stay, even if so short. Travel... More 

Delft
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

The staff is so friendly and helpful! We had an excellent stay and for any future visitor we truly recommend to stay more than just one night. The lodge gives the holiday feeling and is a great accommodation. It has a pretty large pool and many nice resting areas such as comfy lounge couches. It is very close to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Groen G
Marcelle H, Owner at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words. We really try hard to be as helpful as we can to make our guests stay at Zeranka as pleasant as possible. We are very blessed to have the the beach as close as it is, even though its a non swimming beach, sometimes I am thankful for this, as it is so peaceful with... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2016

We stayed at Zeranka Lodge briefly on our family getaway in KZN. As we were a few people, we booked two of the self-catering cottages. The cottages were very neat and clean. The owner was helpful and friendly. Location is good as it is close to Durban and close to Amenities in Umhlanga and close to the beach.

Helpful?
Thank Nicolette S
Marcelle H, Owner at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks Nicky for your review. I am so glad you all enjoyed your break away and I hope your journey onto the Midlands was not too cold. It was a pleasure hosting you and your family. Usually Durban is wonderful in July, this year though been a bit iffy!! Keep warm in Cape Town!! Regards Marcelle More 

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umhlanga Rocks
2.8 km away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
301 reviews
3.9 km away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,515 reviews
3.9 km away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#3 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
4.8 km away
Manaar House
Manaar House
#1 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
234 reviews
2.1 km away
Burnham House B&B
Burnham House B&B
#2 of 22 in La-Lucia
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Zeranka Lodge is the winner of the B&B sure/Kwababa Award and we are 4 star registered. It is a family run Lodge. We have a beautiful garden with pool and BBQ facilities. We are only 30 metres from the tranquil lower La Lucia beaches which can be accessed via a gate within Zeranka grounds, and approx 4km from Gateway (one of the largest shopping malls in the world) offering a multitude of shops, entertainment, and eating experiences. You will have one secure parking bay on the premises per room/unit and all rooms are air-conditioned. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Zeranka Lodge

Address: 12 Cowrie Terrace | La Lucia, Umhlanga Rocks 4051, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Hotel Class:4 star — Zeranka Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Zeranka Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“choose another accomodation”
 of 5 bubbles jens290972, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms near the swimming pool are the nicest.”
 of 5 bubbles 839germav, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“You won't be disappointed once chosen one of these rooms”
 of 5 bubbles leointgroen, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Choose the left room when you enter the lodge garden. But in the morning you can hear people talking from the kitchen.”
 of 5 bubbles MjWebb1989, 6 Jan 2016 | Read review
“relaxing rooms pool side”
 of 5 bubbles Q1544SYmichaels, 4 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5