We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

375 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 333: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
 Click to rate
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The room was adequate and in line with the type of hotel. Fine for a business stop over.There is no view from the back of the hotel, but if you are in front then the view of the ocean would be great. The pool is of reasonable size, but with restricted hours. Breakfast standard in a relaxed eating area. What...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. We are so pleased you found our staff to be friendly and efficient. We do pride ourselves on customer service, and it is so rewarding to receive your positive feedback. Warmest regards Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The view of indian ocean is the only thing good about the hotel. The rooms are small, Wifi is limited, breakfast options are limited, The staff is not at all friendly, the staffwaould first quote the price of whatever you ask for rather than making sure that you are provided for. Being a platinum member with IHG the treatment mete...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jignesh n
Italy
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Recent stay for business. Tried other facilities nearby of the same range and were better than this. No water in the room, asked at the reception and paid for it...I personally think that a bottle of water in the room is the least for a good welcome. Breakfast sufficient. Quite good staff. Good room. Very bad WIFI connection. Position isolated....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank P936WZinfo
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. Our aim is to provide all our guests with a seamless and memorable experience. We certainly do regret any inconvenience caused due to the wi-fi connectivity. We are part of an International Brand and we are sorry to hear certain services within our brand did not meet with your...

Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff are great, don't expect more than basics, the rooms need to be upgraded. Service was not bad, wifi kept dropping on my cell phone which was irritating, Not much choice for breakfast, the connecting restaurant was not bad at all

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JAL047
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. We are sorry to have let you down regarding the wi-fi connectivity, and this has been addressed with our service provider. Warmest regards Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good stay... central location...friendly staff, clean rooms, well maintained hotel. If only halaal breakfast can be catered for that would be great. But overall a good stay as always! The pool area is lovely.... Would deff return, n recommend this hotel to anyone looking fur reasonable accommodation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zulekha H
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive, informative review from your recent stay with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest regards Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager

Kings lynn
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Holiday Inn Express is well positioned for business meetings, beach visit and the Gateway shopping centre. I have stayed in many Holiday Inn's and this is one of the better HIE's that I have stayed in. The rooms are a reasonable size, although as standard they don't cater for a longer stay, if you want to unpack and hang...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Camal63
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for your informative review from your recent stay with us. We are so pleased our facilities and services met with your requirements and your wi-fi concern was addressed timously. Warmest regards Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager

Blantyre, Malawi
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is exceptionally positioned with a very good sea-view; I couldn't enjoy one from my room due to over-booking! :( The staff were exceptionally well; always willing to help and made me feel at home! The storage for clothes was a bit disappointing and the rooms looked smaller for the great Umhlanga experience! The restaurants were marvellous and meals...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ignatius_Phiri
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. We certainly do regret any inconvenience caused due to not receiving a sea facing room. We are extremely fortunate in that our Great Room, where breakfast is served has the most spectacular ocean views for our guests to enjoy, whilst having breakfast. We are so pleased your stay overall,...

Beira, Mozambique
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Very friendly reception who made me feel welcome. However, I ended up in a smelly smoker room. The hallway to the rooms looked very poor as everything was patched up, but not painted. Breakfast was very good. Internet was OK but limited to 100mb

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisrod1
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. We are so pleased our staff made you feel welcome at the Hotel. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused due to been allocated a smoking room, and for the condition of the Hotel Passages during our routine maintenance. Yours sincerely, Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager

Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel few times while in Durban. Negative sides is that beds are too small...at least queen size is expected from an holiday Inn express. We found also the bathroom not very clean. Positive side is location and breakfast choice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paolo M
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 6 February 2017

The room wasnt clean upon closer inspection, sand on carpets and in shower, dirt on walls, wall paint was peeling. No room service. The breakfast offered no variety and in total was a disappointment. A lot of guests would appreciate South African local teas instead of the foreign teas provided. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shana940
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear we did not exceed your expectations during your stay with us. Every effort is taken to ensure our guests are well looked after, in line with our Express Brand Standards, and we are sorry to receive your feedback regarding your room cleanliness. We certainly...

115 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (90)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
1.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
248 reviews
1.5 km away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,654 reviews
0.4 km away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
958 reviews
0.7 km away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
281 reviews
0.2 km away
Coastlands Umhlanga
Coastlands Umhlanga
#9 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS DURBAN-UMHLANGA offers stunning sea views. Ideally situated within walking distance to the upmarket Gateway shopping and entertainment centre and within short driving distance from the Umhlanga beachfront. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga

Address: 2 Ncondo Place | Cnr Ncondo Place & Ntusi Road, Off Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $104 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlang Hotel Umhlanga Rocks
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“third floor and above, odd numbers are sea facing”
 of 5 bubbles Camal63, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Sea view rooms are an exceptional experience!”
 of 5 bubbles Ignatius_Phiri, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Be sure to ask for rooms on the ocean side.”
  • Looking toward Durban from the room.
  • This room could be considered one of the hotels few
 of 5 bubbles , 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get an ocean-view room, the rooms to the rear look over the car park”
 of 5 bubbles colinsbuk, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“sea view or corner rooms”
 of 5 bubbles hd_for_hotels, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5