We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

367 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 327: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
 Click to rate
Blantyre, Malawi
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is exceptionally positioned with a very good sea-view; I couldn't enjoy one from my room due to over-booking! :( The staff were exceptionally well; always willing to help and made me feel at home! The storage for clothes was a bit disappointing and the rooms looked smaller for the great Umhlanga experience! The restaurants were marvellous and meals...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ignatius_Phiri
Beira, Mozambique
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very friendly reception who made me feel welcome. However, I ended up in a smelly smoker room. The hallway to the rooms looked very poor as everything was patched up, but not painted. Breakfast was very good. Internet was OK but limited to 100mb

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisrod1
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. We are so pleased our staff made you feel welcome at the Hotel. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused due to been allocated a smoking room, and for the condition of the Hotel Passages during our routine maintenance. Yours sincerely, Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at this hotel few times while in Durban. Negative sides is that beds are too small...at least queen size is expected from an holiday Inn express. We found also the bathroom not very clean. Positive side is location and breakfast choice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paolo M
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room wasnt clean upon closer inspection, sand on carpets and in shower, dirt on walls, wall paint was peeling. No room service. The breakfast offered no variety and in total was a disappointment. A lot of guests would appreciate South African local teas instead of the foreign teas provided. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shana940
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear we did not exceed your expectations during your stay with us. Every effort is taken to ensure our guests are well looked after, in line with our Express Brand Standards, and we are sorry to receive your feedback regarding your room cleanliness. We certainly...

Evanston, Illinois
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've visited this property four or five times and enjoyed it. The rooms are small by clean and comfortably appointed. The attached restaurant is quite good, better that most hotel restaurants I've visited. I've never had a problem with the staff, they are all quite nice. It can be a little hard to get to if you don't know your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for your loyalty to our Hotel, we certainly do value and appreciate your support. We are so pleased our facilities and services are in line with your requirements, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back for many more visits! Warmest regards Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room had a terrible smell (Non Smoking Room) Shower was blocked which lead to the bathroom being flooded, Water moved towards the room itself, Took staff around an hour to have the bathroom cleaned and towels to be replaced, With that being said, bathroom was never cleaned and towels replaced after 4 phone calls to reception

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Muhammad M
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear we did not meet with our normal high standards expected of an international brand. Service excellence is of utmost importance at the Hotel and we are sorry to receive your feedback regarding service standard. Your feedback has been shared with the relevant Heads of Department. Yours sincerely, Hotel Management

Cape Town
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Rooms were clean and hotel is well maintained. Just some detail lacking: no room service, no laundry service, self serve breakfast with no option for omelettes or fried eggs. When we went to the pool it was a struggle to get pool towels. Sufficient for a quick one night sleepover but not recommended for more than one night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carla R
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. We are so pleased you found our Hotel to be clean and well maintained. We are part of an International Group, and as an Express Hotel, our offerings are as per our brand standards. Warmest regards Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I often stay in HI's and HIE's in the UK. The HIE's are normally pretty basic, not this one near Durban! Firstly, there is a great ocean view, modern fully equipped rooms, good bar food and restaurant options and you can enjoy breakfast inside or out on the balcony.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank colinsbuk
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful feedback from your recent stay with us. We are so pleased our Express Hotel in Umhlanga, exceeded your expectations. Warmest regards Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

This hotel has a good location close to the Gateway mall but too far from the ocean to be able to hear it, although you can see it from a partial sea view room (which has half a window). Other high points were the proximity to the sights in Durban like Ushaka marine world among others, which were an easy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drgibs
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed feedback from your recent stay with us. We certainly do appreciate your feedback, and do encourage feedback from our guests, as it affords us the opportunity to address concerns timously. Yours sincerely, Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager

Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

We arrived on 1 January 2017 at 14:00, our room was not ready until 15:00. We sat waiting with a tired and miserable baby after a 7 hour drive. The room was dirty. The carpets was not vacuumed. The dirty teaspoons from the previous visitors were still in the tray in the room. The sleeper couch had bedding on for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Riaan D
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Hi Riaan D, Thanks for opting to stay with us and I appreciate your thoughts. It regrets me to know that your stay was not as comfortable as it should have been because of some unmet requests and the condition of the room you were given at first. In addition, I am sorry about how our in house staff attended...

112 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
1.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
240 reviews
1.5 km away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,612 reviews
1.4 km away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
268 reviews
0.4 km away
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga Rid...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
288 reviews
0.1 km away
Coastlands Umhlanga
Coastlands Umhlanga
#9 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS DURBAN-UMHLANGA offers stunning sea views. Ideally situated within walking distance to the upmarket Gateway shopping and entertainment centre and within short driving distance from the Umhlanga beachfront. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga

Address: 2 Ncondo Place | Cnr Ncondo Place & Ntusi Road, Off Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $96 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlang Hotel Umhlanga Rocks
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea view rooms are an exceptional experience!”
 of 5 bubbles Ignatius_Phiri, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Be sure to ask for rooms on the ocean side.”
  • Looking toward Durban from the room.
  • This room could be considered one of the hotels few
 of 5 bubbles , 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get an ocean-view room, the rooms to the rear look over the car park”
 of 5 bubbles colinsbuk, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“sea view or corner rooms”
 of 5 bubbles hd_for_hotels, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Sea facing room”
 of 5 bubbles donavan2017, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5