We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

337 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 301: English reviews
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Business trip to Durban turned out to be quite a pleasure. Friendly front office staff graciously upgraded me to a premium sea facing room. Beautiful reception and bar area, ideal for that impromptu meeting.

Helpful?
Thank Adarsh S
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you so much for lovely feedback from your recent stay with us. We are more than pleased to have exceeded your expectations during your recent visit, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest regards Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I rated this hotel four because of the location and because of the price we got compared to other similar hotels. Negatives. NOT able to prebook a sea facing room. Our bed was both very small and too soft Breakfast choice average. Positives. Quick and easy location. Close to everything in Umhlanga and easy access to highways. Great views (even... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Produsa
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. We certainly do appreciate you feedback, both positive and negative. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest regards Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager More 

Cape Town
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was my first and last visit to this hotel! I asked for a sea facing room and instead got a room overlooking the pool and outside car park and the room was on the 1st floor and the noise emanating from banging doors below on the ground floor was awful. The room looked tired and the chair in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Capetownjulia
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. We are so sorry we did not meet with the standards expected of an international brand, and we certainly regret any inconvenience caused. Yours sincerely Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were warmly greeted at reception and the check in procedure was quick and efficient. The room was very neat, spacious and had a beautiful view of thepool. Breakfast was fine, nothing special, but adequate. The lady at the reception (Zinhle) was very pleasant at all times and assisted when our two year old disappeared with the lift.lol

Helpful?
Thank Tinyiko M
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for your review from your recent stay with us. We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay and found our staff, especially Zinhle to be so hospitable. Warmest regards Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager More 

Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
332 reviews
318 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016

I spent several nights at the Holiday Inn on a recent business trip to Durban. I was quite pleased with the location of the hotel, high on the ridge overlooking the coast – great views from my room. It is only a 5 minute walk to the nearby shopping mall and restaurants, and a walkable 2km down the hill to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DanO68
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for your informative feedback from your recent stay with us. We are pleased our accommodations, although limited, met with your requirements. Warmest regards Hotel Management More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Spent one night at this hotel. The hotel is centrally located and is close to all conveniences. The service was good and the hotel was very accommodating when it came to special requests. The room was spacious, neat and clean. We also enjoyed the breakfast buffet while taking in views of the Indian ocean.

Helpful?
Thank Umar M
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

We are so pleased you had an enjoyable one night stay at our Hotel. Kind regards Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager More 

Shanghai
Level Contributor
160 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2016

We were here for a rugby weekend so the hotel was very busy but we were looked after very well by all the staff. The location is really great overlooking the ocean and there's a shopping centre within walking distance. Rooms are clean and comfortable and there's a good breakfast with plenty of choices. The General Manager, Ms Brownyn Mc'Leod... More 

Helpful?
Thank GraemeShanghai
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review from your recent stay with us. We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay, and your feedback has been so well received. Thank you Warmest regards Bronwyn Mcleod - General Manager More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

It's all as it should be but nothing more. The views are amazing; the rooms are okay. The reception staff could work on their hospitality. The 100mb of 'free' internet don't always seem to be 100mb. Breakfast is the exact same affair every day. And why a South African hotel would offer rooibos tea from a Sri Lankan company is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. We are part of an International Hotel Brand, and we are sorry to hear our Express Brand Breakfast offering did not meet with your expectations. One of the International Standards, is to provide the Dilmah Tea Range. Warmest regards More 

Mid Illovo, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Spent a Friday night at the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful at check in. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel offers undercover parking at a small cost and the breakfast buffet is included in the price. It is the second time we have stayed here and will definitely be back.

Helpful?
Thank 772JacquiT
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest regards Bronwyn McLeod General Manager More 

102 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
1.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
1.4 km away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#3 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
848 reviews
1.5 km away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#8 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
232 reviews
0.4 km away
City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge
City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
125 reviews
0.4 km away
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga Rid...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS DURBAN-UMHLANGA offers stunning sea views. Ideally situated within walking distance to the upmarket Gateway shopping and entertainment centre and within short driving distance from the Umhlanga beachfront. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga

Address: 2 Ncondo Place | Cnr Ncondo Place & Ntusi Road, Off Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $105 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlang Hotel Umhlanga Rocks
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#7 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Umhlanga beach is our most prefered”
 of 5 bubbles tinyikom, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Request a room overlooking the ocean”
 of 5 bubbles GraemeShanghai, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view!”
 of 5 bubbles PamDeJager, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The rooms with a balcony has gorgeous views of the ocean. We had a room next to the elevator which was even better”
 of 5 bubbles trevorp650, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a seaview if you need one - the position is great - right on top of the world, looking down on the sea”
 of 5 bubbles 537eileenb, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay