We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga

AMOMAUS$81*
View Deal
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$100*
US$81*
Great Deal
US$83*
US$83*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

390 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 345: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
 Click to rate
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 7 nights in May 2017 and found it a superb base for work in Durban. Very clean rooms, quiet location, great breakfast and friendly staff. I do recommend it as a great practical place to stay in the Durban area. Also very handy being within walking distance of the Gateway shopping centre.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan E
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for your extremely positive review from your 7 night stay with us. We are so pleased to have exceeded your expectations. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Warmest regards Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager

Newcastle, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Well, what a pleasant surprise this little gem was! We had a most enjoyable stay at this hotel! Our usual stay-over hotel was fully booked and after Tripadvisor research, we chose the HolidayInn Express in Umhlanga! The hotel is comfortable, clean and the staff friendly and helpful! The seaview is great! It is close to the huge Gateway shopping and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PamDeJager
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review from your recent stay with us. We are so pleased we were able to exceed your expectations with regards to service standards, and product offering, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest regards Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

i stayed there for 6 days and the only good thing I can say about the hotel is perhaps, the hotel lobby. It's really beautiful and makes you feel like you're going to enjoy your stay. But apart from that, i didn't enjoy my stay. The receptionist was exceptionally rude and she made me feel like she was doing me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eunice D
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. It is our aim for all our guests to have a memorable stay with us. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay. We are part of an International Hotel Group, and as Express Hotel, we offer all guests 100MG Free Wi-Fi. In...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Prefect location... Neat, and worth the cost, although we had to wait a bit to be showed our rooms considering we showed up late for check-in... Beautiful view of the beach front and the breakfast buffet... A WIDE variety of delicious options, freshly made and cater to every need.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Opeyemi A
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review from your recent stay with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed our scrumptious Express Breakfast. Warmest regards Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Location okay. Requested non-smoking bedroom however room reeked of cigarette smoke. Requested a sea view. Did get that and that makes a difference - overlooking the ocean, albeit it a little away from the shore. Still lovely views. Reception staff very helpful especially a young trainee lady by the name of Notando Manqana. She was fabulous, couldn't do enough and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthea Memory A
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to hear our staff exceeded your expectations, and your feedback has been shared with the team. We are sorry to hear our Express Breakfast did not meet with your expectations. Every effort is taken to ensure our guests have a memorable stay with us, and...

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It was my 1st time at this hotel and I must say I thoroughly enjoyed it. Neat, smart and a convenient place to spend a night or 2 or 3. Yummy breakfast and the Butcher Block is also awesome. The location is great + you can get in and around Umhlanga in a breeze. Great views looking out towards the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul_govender
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

We are so pleased your first visit to our Hotel was such a positive one. Thank you for your lovely review, and we are so pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Warmest regards Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager

Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The worst experience ever, room reeked of cigarette smoke ever though it was a non smoking floor!!!!!! So disappointed!!! Rooms are really small.. TV is blurry.. They should call it a smoking hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Khoko2017
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. We certainly do regret any inconvenience caused due to the allocation of your room, as our aim is to ensure all our guests have a memorable stay with us. We are sorry for the areas where we have let you down. Yours sincerely, Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We loved this hotel. Fantastic family room with stunning views of the ocean and great wifi. Expected to pay extra for the children's breakfasts but was told they were included. Unbelievable value for money... definitely a return trip on the cards.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review from your recent stay with us. We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest regards Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager

Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights for a business visit. The check in was so quick and easy with many friendly receptionists to assist. The room was standard and spacious with a very comfortable bed and pillows. The restaurant at the hotel serves amazing food too. Will definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Haba01
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

We are so pleased our Hotel Accommodation, and services made your business trip to Umhlanga an enjoyable one. Thank you for your lovely review, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest regards Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 April 2017

I usually stay here for business when I need to be in a close proximity to my customers. It has everything you need. The reception area is beautiful though most of the staff at check in need to go for special lessons on how to smile. This isn't all of them but majority don't give off a great first impression....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlietraveller2016
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. As a Platinum IHG Rewards Member, we certainly do appreciate your comments, and your loyalty to our IHG Brand. Every effort is taken to ensure our guests comfort and we are sorry to hear of the noise disturbance from the guest lift, and certainly do regret any inconvenience caused....

117 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
1.3 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
262 reviews
1.5 km away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,726 reviews
0.5 km away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
298 reviews
1.6 km away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,001 reviews
0.2 km away
Coastlands Umhlanga
Coastlands Umhlanga
#9 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS DURBAN-UMHLANGA offers stunning sea views. Ideally situated within walking distance to the upmarket Gateway shopping and entertainment centre and within short driving distance from the Umhlanga beachfront. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga

Address: 2 Ncondo Place | Cnr Ncondo Place & Ntusi Road, Off Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $99 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlang Hotel Umhlanga Rocks
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Harare, Zimbabwe
23 days ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea view is great”
JJJonny, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Make sure to request sea view - or else you'll end up facing the rear end of gateway shopping centre”
antheamemorya, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“Take a room far from the lift”
charlietraveller2016, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“third floor and above, odd numbers are sea facing”
Camal63, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Sea view rooms are an exceptional experience!”
Ignatius_Phiri, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
AMOMA
US$81* /night
View Deal
HIExpress.comUS$83
Booking.comUS$83
HotelQuicklyUS$100
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates