We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Khotso Adventure Farm

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Khotso Adventure Farm
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 97: English reviews
Start your review of Khotso Adventure Farm
 Click to rate
Centurion
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The upgrade to a rondavel was a great bonus. Everything was absolutely perfect. The mountains, the babblibg river and the absolute quite was ointment for the soul. We intend to bring the whole family in the near future. Our enjoyment was such that even the breakdown of our 4x4 could not distract from the enjoyment

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank P4321IAdavidd
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hi all, This is really a very excellent location but service from the people there was not so satisfactory. they can do better. Service Problem: There was a Load shedding on the day we were there because of a very bad climate which is not their problem. i was calling them repeatedly to understand what was happening around but they...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kireetib2017
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We did a 4 week road trip through South Africa and what was to be a quick stop in the Underberg on our way to the Northern Drakensberg turned out to be our favourite accommodation of the trip! Khotso Adventure Farm is in one of the most beautiful regions of the country, the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Komodosam36
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I ended up at Khotso randomly and am so glad it happened. Great vibe from the guys running the place, beautiful scenery, great hikes accessible, even hiked into Lesotho! Highly recommend checking this place out and can't wait to go back :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was the second time we spent an extended weekend in one of the beautiful rondavels at Khotso and we are already looking forward to going back soon. The atmosphere is very special. Getting away from the big city with its lights, noise and rush and spending time in the quietness of an amazingly beautiful horse farm is just so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HappyHai
James-at-Khotso, Guest Relations Manager at Khotso Adventure Farm, responded to this review

I really don't know where to start! Thank you from all of us here at Khotso for your lovely words. They truly make such a big difference and I'm so pleased that all the hard work paid off for you. I find myself saying so often that our guests are the most important to us - and whilst we do...

Comox, Canada
Reviewed 19 January 2017

We really enjoyed the scenery and the people were super friendly and helpful! Loved the tubing and sunset ride, both great suggestions! Awesome atmosphere too. Would have been nice to have a key for the room though.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank melbD5412FJ
Johannesburg
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Absolutely fantastic! Loved the little touches: the paths made from sawn trunks, the toilets with mirrors made from window frames, the streams, the pools, the horses, the feel of nature that's brought right in to the campsite. And of course all the life around.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank William K
James-at-Khotso, Guest Relations Manager at Khotso Adventure Farm, responded to this review

Dear William, Thank you very much for taking the time to review Khotso and our new Camping and Overlanders campsite. I know it takes time to do, but it is so helpful to learn what we're doing right and what needs improvement. We're very proud of the campsite, and we're constantly looking to add to it and make it better....

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 13 January 2017

We chose Khotso from many seeing the pictures but it wasn't anytin close to internet pics.No TV,no aircon,no iron. We were to stay for weekend but we left next day morning.No one answered me on our refund. Waste of time and money,worst trip ever!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank zygoe2017
James-at-Khotso, Guest Relations Manager at Khotso Adventure Farm, responded to this review

Dear Zygoe, You are correct in nearly all of your points, but I feel it is only fair I raise a few things in response to your review: We do not have a television and we do not have air conditioning. We never have, and we never will. This is why we do not advertise them. I should also point...

Howick, South Africa
Reviewed 10 January 2017

What a wonderful time we had at Khotso! Everything was perfect. 34 people easily accommodated in the log cabin and rondavels. All the activities from tubing on the river, our walk to the Blue Pools and waterfall and the horse riding for beginners and advanced was fantastic. We are ALL coming back....soon!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank liztaylor2017
Benoni
Reviewed 6 January 2017

The fireplace leaked when it rained. Water leaked through the backdoor done the passage when it rained. The water that came out the shower was mddy and brown when it rained. Horses were in good condition and the outride was most enjoyable. People were very friendly. Facilitie's very basic

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 514janines
James-at-Khotso, Guest Relations Manager at Khotso Adventure Farm, responded to this review

Dear Janine, Thank you for your review. I'm very pleased to confirm that we have immediately replaced the cowling on the private internal fire stove and reinforced the sealing on the back door to the private decked balcony overlooking the valley. I must confess, we are beholden to the weather in the mountains. We very occasionally get some very severe...

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Underberg
17.9 km away
Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort
9.2 km away
Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
0.5 km away
The Old Hatchery
The Old Hatchery
#2 of 12 in Underberg
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 km away
Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages
21.2 km away
Umzimkulu River Lodge
Umzimkulu River Lodge
#2 of 18 in Underberg
264 reviews
9.1 km away
Moorcroft Manor
Moorcroft Manor
#1 of 9 in Himeville
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Khotso Horse Trails and Accommodation, deep in the Southern Drakensberg, is both a working horse and sheep farm and a perfect base to either explore, adventure or relax. Khotso is famous in the area for its spectacular horse trails, which range from 1-hour rides to 3-day cross-border expeditions into Lesotho. There is the rustic and lively Backpackers Lodge, a new campsite with kitchen and ablution block in the orchard next to the mountain stream, as well as 3 newly refurbished self-catering rondawels overlooking a private gorge behind. Enjoy the idyllic life that comes with living in the mountains, far away from the hustle and bustle in the towns and cities. Spend precious time with friends and family in your own rondawel or head to the Lodge for the sociable atmosphere to embrace the wonderful characters that travel here from all over the world. With the full 1 000 hectare farm at your disposal, ride over the ridge tops on horseback, hike to one of the mineral water pools, swim or fish the Umzimkulu river, mountain bike the extensive single track routes, or just take time out from your hectic day-to-day routine to relax and unwind by a fire under the stars in the breathtaking scenery of the Southern Drakensberg. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Khotso Adventure Farm

Address: Drakensberg Gardens Road, Underberg 3257, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Underberg
Price Range: $18 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Khotso Adventure Farm 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Khotso Adventure Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Khotso Adventure Farm staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Khotso Adventure Farm staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This is backpacker accommodation so be aware when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles keoski7, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the Rondawels”
 of 5 bubbles christianpriscille, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“They offer amazing activities and make you feel at home.”
 of 5 bubbles Dina-MariB, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“GO and camp!”
 of 5 bubbles 36mrk, 3 Dec 2015 | Read review
“It's a backpacker spot but will really be appreciated by open minded couples and families”
 of 5 bubbles Andrew_Durban460, 4 Jan 2014 | Read review
5 of 5