We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Haus am Strand

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Haus am Strand
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

317 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 151: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The location is super, right on a beautiful stretch of beach. Also a short walk across the main road to shops and restaurants. We stayed in the sea cottage which was comfortable and well appointed. No hesitation in recommending the property.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Katy W
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

The guest house itself is beautiful, the rooms are quaint and well furnished. The gardens are amazing and you can literally walk onto the beach from the garden, it's perfect. Just a short walk from the restaurants and cafes. Perfect stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rebeccalS757EX
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

Fantastic property the view was to die for! Really friendly staff and a lovely room! The only negative is that it's extremely close to the highway and it's very dangerous to cross, there is a underpass to this highway but you wouldn't want to use it at night. If you want to eat at night you have to get across... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank st0rmeg
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful guesthouse with access directly on to the beach and very close to the town centre. The rooms are nicely decorated with comfy bed and good shower. We felt very safe. We would highly recommend staying here.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mands51
Vendee, France
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our second visit to Haus am Strand, this time we stayed in the first floor Ocean Suite and loved it! It had an amazing view straight over the ocean and wow.... hearing those breakers! On our last morning we were delighted by a pod of dolphin swimming across the bay! The apartment was really bright and well furnished.... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank franb42
hausamstrand, Inhaber at Haus am Strand, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review, I hope you will come and visit us again, Yours, Rita More 

Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in the honeymoon suite in September, very clean ,such attractive decor, fantastic and friendly service! It is relaxing with a stunning view, I will definitely recommend this value for money for anyone and will stay there again and again!

Helpful?
Thank daleen232
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Travelled over 12 hours and upon arrival found ot that my room that was booked 1 month in advanced was givin to someone else. Did a R200 discount and a bottle of wine made up for it? Absolutely not. Very disappointed

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 123jacques691
hausamstrand, Inhaber at Haus am Strand, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Holton, The guests in the Ocean Suite just wanted to stay on. Mike and Veronica asked you if you would mind taking the Beach Bungalow and you agreed. Had you not agreed, we would have moved the other guest. But it did not seem a problem from your side. I do not like getting a bad review. I... More 

Kimberley, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2016

We have made our annual pilgrimage to the ever breathtaking Haus Am Strand and once again we had an unforgettable family holiday - so much so that our little one calls it our "beach home". Nola and Mike gave us a warm welcome and your friendly staff went out of their way to accommodate our needs and service our apartment.... More 

Helpful?
Thank AngVoul
hausamstrand, Inhaber at Haus am Strand, responded to this review

Dear Angela, Many thanks for your yearly visit and your kind review. I hope you have relaxed and feel energetic again. We are always happy to have you in Haus am Strand, till next year hopefully, greetings from Germany, yours Rita More 

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2016

What you see on the site is what you get and better. We really had a lovely time, you can not get a better view of the beach and sea. How nice can it be to stay there fore ever. We loved it. Thank you.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank S8317OSteresal
hausamstrand, Inhaber at Haus am Strand, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting Haus am Strand and thank you for your kind review, Maybe we see you again, Rita and Mike More 

Sandton, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Just about perfect ... could do with upgrading the DSTV channels very little on offer on those rainy days.Three minutes from restaurants,on the beachposition fantastic views.Lots of walks and trails in the area. A lot to take in during the 4 days could have stayed longer.Worried about the sound of the motorway did not here a thing due to the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank U8403MDdavidw
hausamstrand, Inhaber at Haus am Strand, responded to this review

In South Africa we do not have these many channels. We took the Hotel bouquet, thats what is recommended. I hope to get Netflix or just nice movies somehow. I guess it takes a bit more time to have better entertainment. PS: I am right now in Germany and here are about 200 channels and more... The choice is amazing.... More 

154 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (129)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.3 km away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.3 km away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
494 reviews
0.2 km away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#1 of 54 in Wilderness
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 54 in Wilderness
346 reviews
0.7 km away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 54 in Wilderness
199 reviews
1.3 km away
Xanadu Guest Villa
Xanadu Guest Villa
#7 of 54 in Wilderness
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautiful, romantic Guesthouse directly on the Beach. Large exotic garden flowing right onto the beach, with sun-loungers and grill. All apartments are on suite with Jacuzzi/Shower. The rooms are nicely furnished and supplied with heaters, heating blankets, towel heaters, some with underfloor heating, gowns and extra blankets for your comfort. Sat-TV in all rooms, except Mini Suite. WIFI FREE ! Most of them come with kitchenette and Jacuzzis. Two have facilities to make a small breakfast only, i.e. fridge, toaster, kettle... but not a kitchen. We offer breakfast with free coffee in our Partner-Restaurants, 2 minutes walk. There are about 12 Restaurants, Supermarket, Bars, Doctors, Postoffice, Bars, Laundry and small shops in the village across the road. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Haus am Strand

Address: 83 Sands Road, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Price Range: $96 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haus am Strand 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Haus am Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Haus am Strand staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Johannesburg, South Africa
over a year ago
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Haus am Strand staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Honeymoon suite is great!”
 of 5 bubbles daleen232, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The Sea Cottage is most suitable for a couple travelling with a child”
 of 5 bubbles AngVoul, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are sea facing”
 of 5 bubbles GretchenP157, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The sea cottage is perfect for a romantic getaway.”
 of 5 bubbles ChanelleHaupt, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms have direct garden/beach access - top floor rooms have balconies. All rooms face the sea!”
 of 5 bubbles NoraMarie4, 8 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay