We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Fairmont Zimbali Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

766 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Zimbali Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 723: English reviews
Pretoria
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Lovely stay under the war KZN weather . Great service and great staff. Overall an exceptional experience that's worth coming coming back for. Would definitely recommend to friends and family. Xxzżxxxxxx

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear Brian D Thank you for your wonderful review of the Fairmont Zimbali Resort. We are thrilled to hear that you had an exceptional stay with us and that our service left a lasting impression on you. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Nils Rothbarth General Manager Fairmont Zimbali Resort

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

This is truly a 5 star guest experience. Every aspect of your stay at Zimbali shows care & attention to detail. The rooms are beautiful and extremely comfortable, the food is absolutely outstanding & our conference was a huge success - I will certainly return for a holiday soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 165LRC
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear 165LRC Thank you for sharing your lovely review with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Resort and that we were able to contribute to the success of your conference. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Nils Rothbarth General Manager Fairmont Zimbali Resort

Craigavon
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

I had the opportunity to spend 3 nights at the much-talked about premier resort on the north coast of Kwazulu Natal. The reception area was impressive but once in our spacious room, the issues multiplied. First, the floor was not cleaned properly and had black scuff marks all over it; the television set could not be adjusted as IT technician...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 100abrahams
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear 100abrahams Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review with us. We are disappointed to hear that your stay did not meet expectations and that instead you were faced with challenges that affected your stay with us. We would like to extend our apologies for any inconvenience caused and will be sure to address your concerns...

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

The staff and service are absolutely 5 star! We would love to come back and stay again and would recommend the hotel to all of our friends. We have been here a while and have always been made to feel welcome and special; the staff have gone out of their way to get to know us and our needs. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andyjamesy
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear andyjamesy Thank you for sharing your wonderful review with us following you recent stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Resort. It was an absolute pleasure turning your stay with us into a memorable one and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards, Nils...

Reviewed 8 August 2016

An amazing location, beautiful rooms, enthusiastic and friendly staff. Coupled with this are some (significant) annoyances. 1. Room service food was excellent, but coupled with dirty crockery. 2. Our neighbours (in a suite) got hammered and proceeded to shout and make a general nuisance of themselves from 3:30am to 6:30am. Upon complaining to reception, we were told a manager would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SimonBr78
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear SimonBr78 Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review with us. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet expectations and that you left feeling frustrated by the experience had. We would like to apologise for the housekeeping challenges that you were faced with as well as the WiFi connection at the Resort....

Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Fantastic location, wonderfully warm and helpful staff and great overall stay. With options for those seeking to repose to the more active among us, Fairmont Zimbali Resort accommodated our different needs with luxurious aplomb! The available activities make it ideal for a quiet couples getaway or a intimate family get away, with delicious food options for varied tastes (even room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gqibelo D
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear Gqibelo D Thank you for sharing your wonderful review with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Resort and that our staff left a lasting impression on you. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and hope to deliver yet another memorable stay for you and your family. Kind...

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Positives: 1). Smart and nice impression as you enter; 2). Location well suited close to airport; 3). Staff generally competent; 4). Rooms are well furnished; 5). Pools pretty (but not suitable for swimming in winter months). Negatives: 1) No shop in hotel for sweets, suntan lotion etc; 2) Room service quite delayed, no ice cream on menu; 3) beverage in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ATravellerForLive
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear ATravellerForLive Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review with us. We are sorry to hear that your expectations were not met during your stay and that you left feeling dissatisfied with the service that you received. We value your feedback and apologise for any inconvenience caused. We hope to deliver a more memorable stay in...

West Palm Beach
Reviewed 6 August 2016

This was one of my best trip ever. The hotel was located in the preserve, giving access to your own private safari. Service was excellent especially the Concierge. Food was excellent. The security provided was excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 107olayemio
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear 107olayemio Thank you for sharing your lovely review with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that this was your best trip ever. We look forward to delivering yet another memorable stay in the future. Kind Regards, Nils Rothbarth General Manager Fairmont Zimbali Resort

Houston
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Yes, I gave the resort a 5 due to the exceptional facility up keep, warmness of staff, and unbelievable coast line views of the Indian Ocean. Now the rub relates to internet connectivity. If you're a heavy cloud-based user needing to access your work constantly and jump on Zoom/GoToMeeting calls then you experience drops. Yes, I know you're in S....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RNeil97
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear RNeil97 Thank you for sharing your valuable review with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to experience everything that Zimbali has to offer. We apologise for any inconvenience endured due to the WiFi connection at the hotel. This is currently being reviewed by our IT Department. We...

George, South Africa
Reviewed 5 August 2016

What an amazing place! The estate it beautiful and the hotel is very impressive. On arrival you are greeted and welcomed and taken to your rooms where you are then treated to snacks. The rooms are spacious, beds comfortable and very sound proof. My only negative was you had to dry your hair in the dressing room which was small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 604Abigail
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear 604Abigail Thank you for sharing your lovely review with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a relaxing family holiday at our beautiful resort. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Nils Rothbarth General Manager Fairmont Zimbali Resort

458 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (394)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (35)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (93)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Other (146)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
2.1 km away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ballito
341 reviews
20.9 km away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,515 reviews
20.9 km away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#3 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 km away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
303 reviews
4.2 km away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
93 reviews
20.9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Fairmont Zimbali Resort

Address: PO Box 17, Zimbali | 4420, Ballito 4422, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Price Range: $199 - $581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Zimbali Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Zimbali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fairmont Zimbali Resort staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Fairmont Zimbali Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms on the upper floors have a good view. However, on the ground floor you can walk out onto the lawn.”
 of 5 bubbles Michelle_Guy_100, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with a view”
 of 5 bubbles danders212, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Sea facing rooms are spectacular”
 of 5 bubbles HelenM941, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We loved our sea facing junior suite which is really a lovely big flat with a huge covered veranda.”
 of 5 bubbles annelie_hattingh, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“sea views deluxe room”
 of 5 bubbles Shube1, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay