We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

355 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 314: English reviews
Start your review of Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
 Click to rate
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Really a beautiful resort with breathtaking views. The staff are sullen and moody and don't greet..and be prepared to wait for everything...check-in slow and arduous. Waiting for shuttles also slow. I have stayed at other Fairmonts and the staff are never this unhelpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DawnMegens
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear DawnMegens Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are disheartened to hear that you left our hotel feeling dissatisfied with your stay. We are sorry to hear that the staff did not meet your expectations. This is certainly not in keeping with the Fairmont standard and we would like to reassure you that...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a rather large place, and normally we wouldn't stay in one. It was fine except the staff was TOO helpful. We sometimes just want a little bit of peace and quiet, so when the door has a do no disturb sign on it, it means do not disturb. I found I had to yell at the over eager...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KarlKarl_Jacobs
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear KarlKarl_Jacobs Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience with us. We are glad to hear that our food left a lasting impression on you. We are so sorry for the disturbances you felt from our staff. Thank you for this valuable feedback. We...

Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the absolute best place to stay in durban! you will never say you in KZN ! the best spa ! the best views ! the pools are massive and awesome fun ! you're not allowed to swim at the beach but perhaps just dipping your toes will be enough ! the current can be very strong there! The drive as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HamzaYacoob
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear HamzaYacoob Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review with us. We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable birthday at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge! Happy birthday from all of us at Fairmont, we are honoured that you chose to spend your special occasion with us. We are happy to hear that our spa,...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge December 2016 and must say I was impressed by the beauty of the place. Our spacious room overlooked the golf course . there was no noice despite the fact that the resort was fully booked. We enjoyed a complimentary breakfast every morning and then just lazed next to the pool. I must say the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rika B
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Rika B Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are ecstatic to hear that your stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge in December exceeded your expectations! We are delighted that the natural beauty, room space and serenity in the busy period all left a lasting impression on you. We are happy to hear that you had a...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Huge lodge built in colonial style, nice room with balcony heading to the subtropical garden. We had a massage which was really good. Breakfast was the worst we had throughout our SA trip. There is NO restaurant at the lodge !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrsamace
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear mrsamace Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are happy to hear that you found our Lodge to be beautiful in its colonial feel and that our room offering and spa treatment all left a favourable impression on you. We are sorry to hear however that our breakfast did not meet your expectations....

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at Zimbali Lodge over New Years, visiting again after a few years. We've stayed at both the lodge and resort before, both excellent, and looked forward to being back at the lodge. We really love its layout, outdoor feel (like being in a forest), the rooms and that it's a bit quieter, but it's such a pity that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Angela Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are disheartened to hear that your stay at the Lodge did not meet your expectations. We are sorry that you felt that the Lodge is not adequately attended to, and we thank you for your feedback which we will use for review with our Team....

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Had been for drinks and food here 3-4 years ago and was a great. Currently feels very run down and a heavy lack of care and attention. This morning had breakfast and the entire hot section of the buffet was cold without the flame heaters on underneath. Then to be presented with a bill for R840 for a less than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kash562
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear kash562 Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. We are discouraged to hear that your breakfast experience at our Hotel did not live up to your expectations. We are sorry that you felt that there was a lack of care and attention to the buffet and we apologize for the dissatisfaction you felt. We...

Reviewed 9 December 2016

We stayed here for three nights from 8th November 2016. Our room was on the second story of a small block of four apartments. Those who've stayed at Zimbali before know that the estate is famous for it's integration of accommodation with native vegetation, and our room had a great view of the jungle (trees, eagles, etc...). The lodge was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 534gull
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear 534gull Thank you for sharing your wonderfully descriptive review with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge and that the integration of accommodation and native vegetation left a lasting impression on you. We are happy that you enjoyed our beautiful views and took advantage of the stunning nature walks we have to...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Spent the weekend in a deluxe king size apartment at the lodge to chillax! Sea view was impressive, lovely sea breezes wafted through the room. Room was spacious and there was no clutter. Excellent curtaining with double layer of block to keep the early sun at bay.A fabulous ,huge bath with suitable privacy if desired, walk in closet, beautiful shower....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahrow2015
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear sarahrow2015 Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are delighted to hear that you had a relaxing stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge and that you enjoyed everything from the sea view to all our room details to our wonderful facilities. We are happy that you found our pools and lounges relaxing and...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 December 2016

This is the ultimate in luxury. Let's start with the bad things about the hotel. Portions of food are so large that I put on 4kg from the start to the end of my trip. If you have not been there, the resort falls within the Zimbali Eco Estate which consists of the Zimbali Lodge, the Zimbali Resort as well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VimalSardar
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear VimalSardar Thank you for taking the time to share this wonderfully detailed review for our Lodge as well as our Resort! We are delighted that your overall stay with us was a pleasant one, and that our staff left a lasting impression on you! We will be passing on your compliments (with special mentions of our Concierge Desk, Avischal...

223 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (217)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
23.0 km away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,610 reviews
23.0 km away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
937 reviews
2.4 km away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
1.1 km away
Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
1.4 km away
The Vineyard on Ballito
The Vineyard on Ballito
#2 of 22 in Ballito
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Address: Zimbali Estate | Umhlali, Ballito 4390, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Price Range: $141 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Zimbali Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Zimbali Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito
Zimbali Hotel
Zimbali Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fairmont Zimbali Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Fairmont Zimbali Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask to be left alone, or you'll be easily annoyed”
 of 5 bubbles KarlKarl_Jacobs, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“sea view room is a must !”
 of 5 bubbles HamzaYacoob, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“for families with children I would recommend you stay at the hotel and not the lodge .”
 of 5 bubbles 852rikab, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose a higher floor to get an expansive view.”
 of 5 bubbles sarahrow2015, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“1st floor rooms, just behind reception, have amazing sea views and close enough to the lobby to access the dolphin/whale viewing deck”
  • A view of the main pool from the room
 of 5 bubbles VimalSardar, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5