We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Boathouse

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballito
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Boathouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Boathouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 93: English reviews
Richards Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

Last minute stay in the "honeymoon suite' Friendly night staff and security guard who met us. Room neat and tidy but definitely not 4* quality. Very lumpy cheap pillows, no toilet paper in bathroom. Woke up to noisy boats launching, but expected due to the location. Lovely sea view. Breakfast was terrible (see picture of how it was served). Served...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DeanDebs
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

We felt at home the minute we stepped into reception. Staff was knowledgeable and friendly and the room was squeaky clean with a sliding door opening up metres from the beach. Breakfast was great and restaurant management made sure we had everything we needed. Well done !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank morne e
boathouse12375, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Dear Morne! Thank you very much for your kind words! We are really happy that you enjoyed your Stay with us at the Boathouse and are looking forward to see you again!

Waterfall, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Ardri was so accommodating when I requested use of their facilities to spend the day with my colleague from Gauteng in reviewing our strat session. We did not require a conference room, but some quiet space in which to work. We had a most productive day in the main dinning area, with a full view of the sea and excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynda B
BoathouseBallito, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Dear Lynda! It was only our pleasure to be of Service! Hope to see you soon! Kind regards, The Boathouse Team

Durham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 June 2016

Our stay here was organised by relations so we checked with trip advisor before our visit to get some reviews and these concerned us. However we found the accomodation good with the reception staff very friendly and helpful, with the rooms adequately furnished. We were in room 15 with wonderful views of the beAch. However the quality of the restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Freda S
London
Reviewed 1 June 2016

We stayed here on a whim, as we booked nowhere. We did not feel like paying the extra for a sea view room, so settled for a room overlooking the car park. We would have paid the extra if we hadn't arrived so late in the afternoon, but we were only staying the one night. Room was very spacious, with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank budgetfussy
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

It was going to be a rainy day. The boathouse crew made it all work by making sure everyone and everything would stay dry and making it look gorgeous while ensuring this. As it turned out, the weather stayed clear. We enjoyed an evening of laughter, music and good company. The view is stunning, especially on the deck.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iris m
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 23 May 2016

We recently had our son's wedding at the Boathouse in January 2016, it was a wedding to remember. The hotel is perfectly place with the backdrop of the ocean adding to setting. The staff were excellent and the food was more than enough and delicious.My guests are still talking about the wedding. I will recommend the venue to anyone.....Mark 69

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D9454LCmark
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 4 April 2016

We visited The Boat House in October 2015 for viewing as my son was getting married March 2016. The hotel, facilities and restaurant was very good. We then decided to rent the penthouse which cost us R10000 per night, but to our dismay the following was noted and was not even repaired in our 4 day stay. The pantry light...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Berenice523
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 18 March 2016

On arrival and thereafter it became clear to me that nobody is managing the place. The room staff don't have a clue about servicing the rooms and for this I blame management. I even suggested to the receptionist that a check list for the room staff would probably help. She then compiled a check list which was obviously ignored as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Phil M
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

To say I felt terrible for the couple is an understatement. What we witnessed at this venue was nothing short of disgusting. Below are just a few of the issues experienced - the wedding planner just did not arrive on the day of the wedding and management did nothing to fill the gap - the groom and groomsmen were left...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank THW03

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballito hotels
2.8 km away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
95 reviews
1.2 km away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ballito
355 reviews
2.8 km away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
0.9 km away
Coco De Mer
Coco De Mer
#3 of 22 in Ballito
326 reviews
0.3 km away
Ballito Backpackers
Ballito Backpackers
#13 of 16 in Ballito
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about The Boathouse

Address: 33 Compensation Beach Road | PO Box 1166, Ballito 4399, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boathouse 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
The Boathouse Hotel Ballito
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Boathouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room 3 very nice with sweet tantalizing aromas from the restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles melissasR6758TC, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Not room 1!!”
 of 5 bubbles eddieca, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Worth paying a little extra for best rooms upstairs with balconies overlooking surf”
  • View from balcony of room 8 as an example
 of 5 bubbles BrisbaneNugget, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose a sea facing room”
  • Broken hinge on door
  • Rotting cupboard
 of 5 bubbles lishac2014, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“north side suites are quiter”
 of 5 bubbles D9454LCmark, 23 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5