We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Makalali Private Game Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Makalali Private Game Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

303 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Makalali Private Game Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 151: English reviews
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2016

My husband and I have visited many lodges in South Africa and several other countries, but this was the best accommodation by far. The fireplace in the room was a welcome treat and there was great respect for privacy and quiet. Staff were very pleasant and efficient. The guide and tracker had to work very hard for sightings, this appeared... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Leeanne M
FelicityJSmyth, General Manager at Makalali Private Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest I would like to sincerely thank you for writing a review of your experience with us at Makalali Private Game Lodge. we appreciate the praise you have afforded us. with regards to the insight into the game drives you are correct. unfortunately with the severe drought that we are experiencing T the moment we are having to travel... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Excellent resort that was everything we dreamed of for our first safari! Saw all of the big 5 on our 4 nights there. Amazing trackers Amos and Samuel did a great job of finding whatever animal we asked to see. After evening safari, you are met by the staff with hot towels and sherry. Dinner is outside under the star... More 

Helpful?
Thank CdnWorldTraveller14
FelicityJSmyth, General Manager at Makalali Private Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am so delighted to read that you had such a wonderful time with us at Makalali Private Game Lodge. We take such pride in our staff who absolutely love ensuring that guests have a wonderful experience with us. I am so please that we created some wonderful memories of your time with us at Makalali Private Game... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Great value for money. The staff is amazing. The drive from Joburg through Dullstroom is great except for the few areas with the potholes. Very scenic drive. The staff and management are very hands on. The fact that they go off road is amazing...enjoyed the thrill of being up close to the animals. The rangers and trackers skills is amazing.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank karabok564
FelicitySmyth, General Manager at Makalali Private Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest Reading your review of Makalali Private Game Lodge has maded of a team that thrives on making wonderful memories for guests during their time with us. I am so very happy that we were able to do so for you during your time with us. Thank you for writing a review on Trip Advisor regarding your impressions of... More 

Varanasi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2016

Although the property was nice with all facilities and amenities which one could imagine in the middle of a jungle..we had a tough time with the food..the worst part is that they charge with all meals included but the kind of meals which they serve is not value for money..during our stay..the food was served cold..they gave explanation that the... More 

Helpful?
Thank GauravJ
FelicitySmyth, General Manager at Makalali Private Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so very much for taking the time to write of your experience at Makalali Private Game Lodge. I am very dissappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations during your time with us. I have taken cognasence of your comments and thank you for bringing this to our attention. We prode our selves in... More 

Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
226 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2016

We had a great time, were alone, just 4, on a vehicle and our guide showed us a lot of game as well as birds. His knowledge was very good and we felt very save. The food was delicious and the rooms were superb.

Helpful?
Thank Susanne412
FelicitySmyth, General Manager at Makalali Private Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so very much for the favourable review that you have written on Trip Advisor of your stay with us at Makalali Private Game Lodge. We so appreciate the praise and so pleased that you had such a wonderful time with us at Makalali. Thank you for making Makalali Private Game Lodge a destination of choice during... More 

Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2016

We stayed at two other reserves during our visit to South Africa-- the rooms at Makalali were the most uniquely decorated and attractive of our stay. The memory of relaxing on the sala of our bungalow while elephants stroll by won't soon be forgotten. Shadrack and Isaac were diligent in making sure that we had excellent wildlife viewing and educating... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tamara P
FelicitySmyth, General Manager at Makalali Private Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am so delighted to read that you had such a wonderful time with us at Makalali Private Game Lodge during your travels to South Africa. I am so pleased you enjoyed the rooms and decor as well as the setting of the sala's along the river back. Being a person who has a great love of elephant... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2016

I would like to withdraw my first review. Which I wrote on my first day at the lodge after the incident. The next day i had a word with the Manager and discovered it was all a misunderstanding and all was corrected promptly. I must say that the rest of my stay was totally enjoyable. The Staff all friendly and... More 

Helpful?
Thank avrylhoren
FelicitySmyth, General Manager at Makalali Private Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so very much for revising your review that you wrote with the heading "French Group". We appreciate the sentiment and kind words and comments you have afforded us in you revised write-up. We look forward to welcoming you and your guests back to Makalali Private Lodge in the future. More 

pretoria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2016

had an amazing 2 nights at Makalali with friends. it was our second trip there, the last one being 17 years ago! . Saw a wide variety of game and the game drives were awesome. Our Ranger and tracker did all possible to find game for us , and were very successful. The food was tasty and varied, especially the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jill528
FelicitySmyth, General Manager at Makalali Private Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am so please to have read your review of Makalali Private Game Lodge on Trip Advisor. Thank you for choosing to return to Makalali Private Game Lodge after such a long period of time away. I am so pleased that you found the experience amazing. We try to ensure that we create many a memorable moment for... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile

Not recomended for groups. They isolate guides away from there customers most probably to avoid bad reports.So far i have not seen one thing that they advertise on there web site. I can't imagine what must be going on with my group. They didn't even bother taking me for dinner my food was brought to me last evening. This is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Horen P
FelicitySmyth, General Manager at Makalali Private Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest I would like to thank you for writing of your expereince with us at Makalali Private Game Lodge. Reading your review however has left me somewhat perturbed. Having investigated the matter there seems to be some confusion as to why you were not seated with your guests as all tour guides are encouraged to do at Makalali. We... More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2016

very luxuous resort for game safaris, and friendly people! Big rooms, nice resort and very good meals. We saw some lions and an elephant also, many giraffes. We will try to come again, for sure Thank you for this stay

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sabine R
FelicitySmyth, General Manager at Makalali Private Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so very much for posting a review of your experience with us at Makalali Private Game Reserve. I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We take great pride in crating wonderful memories for our guests and I am happy that we hav managed to do so for you. Thank you for choosing Makalali... More 

397 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (397)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Other (253)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
6.3 km away
Garonga Safari Camp
Garonga Safari Camp
#1 of 1 in Makalali Private Game Reserve
321 reviews
13.1 km away
Kuname Lodge
Kuname Lodge
#4 of 96 in Hoedspruit
210 reviews
15.4 km away
Bushriver Lodge
Bushriver Lodge
#6 of 96 in Hoedspruit
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.5 km away
Moditlo River Lodge
Moditlo River Lodge
#13 of 96 in Hoedspruit
211 reviews
36.7 km away
African Rock Lodge
African Rock Lodge
#3 of 96 in Hoedspruit
245 reviews
15.8 km away
Karongwe River Lodge
Karongwe River Lodge
#1 of 2 in Karongwe Private Game Reserve
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Makalali Private Game Lodge

Address: PO Box 809, Hoedspruit, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Price Range: $529 - $708 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Makalali Private Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Makalali Private Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makalali Private Game Hotel Hoedspruit
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Makalali Private Game Lodge staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Makalali Private Game Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“no comments”
 of 5 bubbles atheliah, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Read my review re Family rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Mom-likes-travelling, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms overlook the river bed and have outdoor showers”
 of 5 bubbles ChaslyB, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles CdnWorldTraveller14, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good rooms”
 of 5 bubbles avrylhoren, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay