We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

216 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 179: English reviews
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
96 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 3 nights as part of a tour. Hotel is spread out over a wide area and we weren't given a map so struggled to find my room in the dark. Room was huge with a lovely big bed and a comfy sofa. Lighting was poor. Bathroom was ok but windows were so old they looked like something from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jellifer
Glenys D, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview, responded to this review

Dear Jellifer Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview, thus assisting us in continually improving our standards. All GUESTS are very important to us and everything possible is done by our hotel TEAM to ensure that our GUESTS feel as special and valued as they... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel during a Gate 1 tour to the area. The room was average size, average cleanliness, average comfort. The room and the hotel could use a face lift. The breakfast buffet and dinner buffet were average.

Helpful?
1 Thank RondaJS
Glenys D, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview, responded to this review

Dear RondaJS Thank you for assisting us in our ongoing drive for quality and enabling us to improve the hospitality offered to our guests. Guest feedback forms a vital part of our business and the input we receive from our guests is imperative for us to ensure that your expectations are being met and exceeded. Your interest and concern are... More 

Travellers are raving about these Hazyview hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was really not wow. Staff were loud and the overall experience was not good. We initially booked two nights and after the first night decided to move to another hotel. They refused to refund us the night we did not spend there. WON'T GO AGAIN. Not nice.

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
Glenys D, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview, responded to this review

Dear Paul M Thank you for taking the time and effort to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview. I can assure you that your feedback is highly valued. GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS' expectations. As I am not... More 

New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
258 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our room was spacious, comfortable and had no problems. Enjoyed a brief swim in the pool outside our door. Buffet dinner was great, as was our welcome drink. Restful night, bagged breakfast and splendid accommodations. Did hear some kind of wild thing making noises around 3am and was glad to be comfy indoors. Pleasant stay!

Helpful?
1 Thank Angela B
Glenys D, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview, responded to this review

Dear Angela B Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip advisor your comments are important to us as we are as committed as ever to providing each GUEST with a most memorable and magnificent Protea Hotels service experience. We hope that you will be staying with us again soon as we would welcome another opportunity... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
246 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was large and the bed fairly comfortable. We had 2 good buffet dinners there and nice breakfasts. A tea/coffee maker was in the room as well as a safe. The first night was fine, but the second night the room next to mine was occupied, there was a terrible noise of gurgling water and clanging pipes coming from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carols01
Glenys D, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview, responded to this review

Dear Carols01 Greetings from South Africa and Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview, Thank you for taking the time and effort to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview. It’s very much appreciated! We really do appreciate your comments regarding our rooms, facilities, restaurant and food. Our commitment to investing in our property... More 

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Clean and tidy, reasonable restaurant with good service perfectly acceptable hotel near Kruger, very little choice of hotels so this one was good enough.Pool was a funny colour and directly under a flight path so quite noisy!

Helpful?
Thank Papagayo12
Glenys D, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview, responded to this review

Dear Papagayo12 Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip advisor, your feedback is important to us as GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that... More 

salt lake city, utah
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Great view, good food. Monkeys play in the area. Friendly staff. There is nothing bad to say about this hotel. The only possible downside is no wifi in the room. Being anti social this has forced me into conversing with nice people.

Helpful?
Thank homerrita
Glenys D, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview, responded to this review

Dear Homerrita Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on tripadvisor. Thank you for your words of appreciation, We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF. It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact us for any... More 

Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We spent a long weekend here and found the rooms very comfortable. The grounds are well looked after. The breakfast, served buffet style, is not the best but serves the purpose. My biggest compliment here would be to the staff! All the staff, from the lady at reception to the bartender were very friendly and helpful and actually made our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carien_vd_W
Glenys D, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview, responded to this review

Dear Carien Thank you for taking the time to write your review on trip advisor. It’s very much appreciated! I am delighted to receive your compliments on your service experience at our hotel and to hear that our team has lived up to the promise by providing you with genuine and true hospitality. Thank you for choosing to stay at... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

This is a pretty practical hotel we stayed at with a tour group. The hotel has some issues such as the carpeting needs to be replaced and the shower head sprays all over the place. However, the beds were pretty comfortable by African standards, the water was warm and the food I thought was pretty good actually. Without knowing other... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank cdbasu
Glenys D, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview, responded to this review

Dear Cdbasu Thank you for taking the time to place your review on Tripadvisor. All reviews are important to us as they help us improve on standards, and compliment the team that went the extra mile. Guest’s perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying at our hotel is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

What was a highly recommended place by a friend turned out to be a huge, disappointment. I am a member of the prokard scheme, therefore there is some level of expectation from me. The hotel is getting old, no effort to refresh it. Service extremely poor, on one of their busy weekend not enough bar staff. You order hot chocolate... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bheki X
Glenys D, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview, responded to this review

Dear Bheki Thank you for taking the time to write your review on trip advisor and apologise for not replying to it sooner. Please be advised that all comments made by all our guests are important to us and we ensure that we always strive to provide the best service and on this occasion we did not exceed your basic... More 

131 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (101)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazyview
1.4 km away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
0.7 km away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
4.6 km away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
4.7 km away
Casa do Sol
Casa do Sol
#8 of 12 in Hazyview
247 reviews
3.5 km away
Sanbonani Resort
Sanbonani Resort
#5 of 12 in Hazyview
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of the adventure capital of the Mpumalanga Lowveld, a mere 15 minute drive from the Kruger National Park, Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview is nestled on a hill overlooking the beautiful Sand River Valley. The rooms are alluring and spacious offering all the conveniences that one expects to make this a home away from home. All our rooms overlook lush gardens that have an abundance of birdlife, adding to the feeling of being away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Not to mention several spacious family rooms that provide a comfortable area for the family to relax and unwind. Lying by the pool with a sundowner, whilst admiring the stunning views of the valley and watching the kids play on the nearby trampoline and jungle gym is perfection at its best. The chefs have prepared a wide variety of dining options to ensure that we cater optimally to healthy appetites and provide special meals for our young visitors. Additional facilities include conference venues, guest internet, Boma and a children's play park - so bring your game. Nearby attractions include the Blyde River Canyon, God's Window and Pilgrims Rest to name a few. For the adrenalin seekers, exciting adventures such as hot air balloon rides, river rafting, quad biking and many more can be arranged. Guests may also experience open vehicle day and night safaris in search of Africa's "Big Five" and lesser known "Little Five." ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview

Address: 1 R40 Road | 38 km from White River, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Price Range: $104 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Hazyview
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 60 to 66 best views”
 of 5 bubbles kavanc, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Its a bit of a walk to some of the rooms. Ask for rooms near the reception/dining facility”
 of 5 bubbles 559petern, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The grounds are beautifully maintained. Request a room overlooking these.”
 of 5 bubbles mcoffey2016, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room far away from the road”
 of 5 bubbles VonVintlo, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for mountain view”
 of 5 bubbles desh399, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay