We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Francolin Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Francolin Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

206 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Francolin Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 180: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Every time I go to Nelspruit I stay over at Francolin Lodge. The rooms are beautiful! The staff are friendly and helpful! The attention to detail is fantastic - from the fresh milk for your coffee, the plunger coffee, the decadent chocolate brownie next to your bed at night. The breakfast was delicious with a wide variety from fresh fruit,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen d
FrancolinNelspruit, Manager at Francolin Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Karen, thank you for taking the time to review Francolin Lodge. Feedback from our regulars is very important to us and keeps us on our toes. Without you, we wouldn't be able to strive for better and bigger! Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Jaclyn

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 25 October 2016

I often travel for business at short notice - I was referred to Francolin Lodge due to my original accommodation being fully booked. The service from staff was impecable, the facilities offer nothing less than 5 star quality and the value added options of Spa and Restaurant available on site make this venue my first choice when required.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank G4520POjasont
FrancolinNelspruit, Manager at Francolin Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks Jason - it was a pleasure to host you and we are so excited to make Francolin Lodge your new establishment of choice for your Lowveld business trips. We do advise our corporate travelers to try book in advance as we full up quick quickly, however, the easiest way to check availability and guarantee yourself a room is to...

Bedfordview, South Africa
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Awesome Awesome hospitality, Awesome service, Awesome people, Awesome food and breakfast options, Awesome stay, parking and security, Awesome night time treats, Awesome restaurant and menu options, Awesome presentation

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jarmalv
FrancolinNelspruit, Manager at Francolin Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Jarmal for your "awesome" review (",) We so appreciate your feedback and are delighted that you had such a great stay with us. Do come visit us again soon for another awesome experience. Kind regards, Jaclyn

Kempton Park, South Africa
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Spacious, clean rooms with all you need. Beautiful place, friendly and professional staff, with late night spoils and a personalized good night message. Fresh milk and cherry fill up daily. Top that up with a best food and wine restaurant, with an amazing view. An excellent example of going the extra mile to keep guests happy and content. I will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 185ronel
FrancolinNelspruit, Manager at Francolin Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Ronel, thank you for your continued support of Francolin Lodge. We really appreciate your feedback and are delighted to have you as part of the guesthouse family. See you soon. Kind regards, Jaclyn

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 23 September 2016

After staying here last year, we had no doubt on where to stay when we were spending two nights in Nelspruit. The guest house is small enough to make it cozy, but big enough to have privacy. The rooms are huge and clean with a lovely shower and bathtub. Nice balcony with a view of Nelspruit. The staff is really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FotoCath
FrancolinNelspruit, Manager at Francolin Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Francolin Lodge. It was wonderful to welcome you back and are so pleased that you again enjoyed your stay with us. Your praise is so appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Jaclyn

Pretoria
Reviewed 20 September 2016

I have been staying at Francolin every second week for the last 12 weeks. It really is a home from home. The staff are amazing - remember what you like and what you don't and go out of their way to meet your every need. I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else for business or pleasure

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank K7943BTkc
FrancolinNelspruit, Manager at Francolin Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Kris!! We always enjoy welcoming you back and would be deeply upset if you did decide to go anywhere else (",) See you soon and do bring your hubby so we can finally meet him. Kind regards, Jaclyn

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

Beautifull view (sunset with red and orange sky). Huge and stylish decorated room. The restaurant (orange) is a must (fantastic food, a bite expensive than average SA restaurant). Wifi works well. Also nice to have a massage (you need to pay separately for it).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
FrancolinNelspruit, Manager at Francolin Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for "Amazing" We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and made use of both the on-site restaurant and Spa. Just a note, that you can sign both your meals and your spa treatments to the room account to settle everything on check out. Kind regards, Jaclyn

Stowe, Vermont
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Frankolin Lodge is a gem. I arrived after a long day of driving and was delighted to find a little haven on a hill. Quiet, gorgeous views, very comfortable rooms, everything tastefully run and decorated. Great value for the money.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephaniev471
FrancolinNelspruit, Manager at Francolin Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Stephanie - many thanks for taking the time to review Francolin Lodge. We enjoyed having you visit with us and are so pleased that you were able to unwind and relax with us. Do visit us again when you are back this side. Kind regards, Jaclyn

Basque Country, Spain
Reviewed 18 September 2016

excellent service, great value for money and very good restaurant. They organized excursions impeccably. Room service is fantastic and the staff very friendly. A place to recommend for those who want to visit the Kruger National Park.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank antoniooZ1695XX
FrancolinNelspruit, Manager at Francolin Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Antonio - it was a pleasure to host you for your stay with us and we were only too pleased to arrange your tours. Francolin Lodge is a perfect stop-over for those travelling to and from the Kruger National Park or the Panorama route. See you again soon, Jaclyn

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Excellent service, very nice clean rooms, friendly and welcoming, lots of small pleasant touches, lovely views. Very good breakfast. Good location. Very enjoyable stay and would recommend it to anyone.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 364iainc
FrancolinNelspruit, Manager at Francolin Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for "excellent" - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your recommendation. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Jaclyn

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelspruit
12.4 km away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#1 of 10 in White River
172 reviews
0.7 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
3.6 km away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#8 of 19 in Nelspruit
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Loerie's Call Guest House
Loerie's Call Guest House
#1 of 70 in Nelspruit
487 reviews
2.1 km away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#2 of 19 in Nelspruit
256 reviews
1.2 km away
La Roca Guest House
La Roca Guest House
#2 of 70 in Nelspruit
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Francolin Lodge is a luxury guest house and boutique hotel situated centrally in Nelspruit. It offers 5 star accommodation and hospitality, with a new, modern design and elegant décor. Francolin Lodge is proud of its own on-site, A La Carte restaurant which also boasts conferencing facilities. This bed and breakfast lodge is the perfect base for both the corporate traveller and families looking to explore the Mpumalanga Lowveld. Being in the hart of Mpumalanga, the leisure traveller has easy access to the Kruger National Park, the Blyde River Canyon, Maputo and Swaziland. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Francolin Lodge

Address: 4 du Preez Street, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Price Range: $132 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Francolin Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Francolin Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Francolin Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Francolin rooms are newer than Loeries Call. Rooms with Bathroom doors are available”
 of 5 bubbles 88bobcat, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“family suite for 4 was double volume open-plan area and toilet”
 of 5 bubbles 258dianne, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The rooms close to the pool area have amazing views of the city.”
 of 5 bubbles kefil0es, 20 Mar 2016 | Read review
“We had two suites - Falcon "something". They had everything!”
 of 5 bubbles 105Eva, 24 Feb 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are equally good!!”
 of 5 bubbles MaBaCa, 15 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5