We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Promenade

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Promenade
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 34: English reviews
johannesburg
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights while attending a wedding. Booked 2 rooms. Rooms were refurbished and looked nicer than in some of the pictures. Big room with big flat screen tv on the wall. Bathroom old but clean. Bath/shower combo..taller ppl will have difficulty with the shower as its placed too low for us. Pillow was too flat and too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank es786
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Promenade, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your kind words following your stay at Hotel Promenade . We are glad to learn of your satisfaction with our staff. Your feedback is important to us and it helps us to maintain the standards we aim towards and where improvement is required. Your comments will be reviewed by the Line Manager concerned. Please...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

Poor wifi. No one at reception on check-in. No hot water. Noisy club close to room. Sullen staff. Broken cupboard. Noisy AC that creaks and sputters. Old carpets. No locks on door. Brown and beige. Might be in contention for the prize for worst hotel ever. Stay as far away as you can. A dusty, musty 70's hell pit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wikusdutoit
Hote1Management, marketing coordinator at Hotel Promenade, responded to this review

Dear Wikus Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Promenade. We appreciate your feedback and take it very seriously as we always aim to improve our services and customer experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies. Al of the things mentioned in your comment are unacceptable and should not be a problem at all. These are things that should...

Lydd-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2016

My wife and I stopped for one night on our way from the Kruger to Richards Bay. It is not the worst hotel we have stayed in on our trip but it did have some short comings. Frist impressions was very promising. Booking in was quick and easy and the staff were friendly and helpful. On going to our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
Hote1Management, Manager at Hotel Promenade, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your honest review. We appreciate the kind words and yes, our rooms are bigger than most. We thank you for having patience with us-some of our facilities have stood the test of time while others have been misused by other guests and we only get alerted following complaints. We do apologise for any inconvenience you...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Rooms were clean with air conditioners. Access to wifi. Room service was a bit disappointing as the menu in the room suggested a variety of meals but upon calling reception, we were told there were only 2 items available. Buffet breakfast in the morning was nice. A nice, comfortable stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PiscesMom24
Hote1Management, Manager at Hotel Promenade, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your wonderful review following your time with us. We are glad you and your family had a great time and we wish you and your loved ones well over 2016. Please visit us again soon! Warm Regards Staff and Management Hotel Promenade

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 14 December 2015

I found the staff to be friendly and attentive but the facility's are really basic truly a 3 star experience the pool was tiny and the rooms were very out of date styling form the 80's as a pop over for a night or two nothing wrong but not a place for a holiday. The breakfast was surprisingly well managed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mariusb433
Hote1Management, Manager at Hotel Promenade, responded to this review

Dear Marius Thank you for your review following your stay with us. We appreciate your kind words and we wish you well over 2016. Hotel Promenade pays homage to the style of yesteryear-most of our returning guests appreciate the old world charm. Please visit us again soon! Warm Regards Staff and Management Hotel Promenade

Reviewed 13 October 2015 via mobile

Upon arrival we had to wait in a deserted reception area for twenty minutes, after finally checking in we discovered this three star hotel has no room service and offers only a R170 buffet dinner that was shall we say suspect. When trying to checkout in the morning the receptionist credit card machine was not working and she loudly makes...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Brendan S
Hote1Management, Manager at Hotel Promenade, responded to this review

Dear Brendan We thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to address your stay with us. We have begun investigating the matter thanks to your vigilance. We would like to extend our apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced. We do hope you will afford us the opportunity to win back your most valuable business. Warm...

jhb
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Hotel situated in the city area which has nice atmosphere. Hotel building is a bit old, conference venue has nice set ups and the staff do an excellent job. Food is a bit terrible. The dinning area is small my friends and I had to go sit at reception. The food set up is really not appelling. The place is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank patience2015
Hote1Management, Manager at Hotel Promenade, responded to this review

Dear Patience Thank you for your honest review following your stay with us. We appreciate your kind words and we also appreciate the points you have brought to our attention. We take these matters very seriously and we will see to them immediately. We wish you ill return soon. Warm Regards Staff and Management Hotel Promenade

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 29 July 2015

After making a booking a month in advance for the night of the 5th of July the one issue just escalated to another and I would like to bring to your attention the following: Upon arrival the receptionist was so rude and she was obviously not interested to make us feel welcome. As we arrived back at the room, just...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carlien02
Hote1Management, Manager at Hotel Promenade, responded to this review

Dear Carlien I trust you are well. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We would like you to know that we take the points you have raised very seriously. We will be investigating the matter. We would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused and we hope that you will afford us the opportunity...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 31 March 2015

in future upgrade beds and pillows. make sure that the bins are removed were they are.the other impresiive thing was that the manager came to agrred all guets during break fast and that was very impressive.the signs should be erected in the gate that indicate were is the hotel and aslo the entrance.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Madimetja Clofo... K
Hote1Management, Manager at Hotel Promenade, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to compliment us as well as bring to our attention points that we were not aware of. We like introducing our guests to General Management so they can complain or compliment the service of the establishment. Please visit us again soon. Warm Regards Staff and Management Hotel...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 23 March 2015

Well done to an all-round excellent experience. For my business trip the location was perfect. Fast effective service sprinkled with friendliness made check-in and check-out an ease. The tasty breakfast was indeed a happy ending. Thank you all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank V V
Hote1Management, Manager at Hotel Promenade, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your wonderful review-short and sweet! We appreciate your kind words and compliments. Please visit us again soon. Thank you once more Regards Staff and Management Hotel Promenade

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
2.3 km away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#6 of 19 in Nelspruit
210 reviews
1.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
1.3 km away
Town Lodge Mbombela
Town Lodge Mbombela
#8 of 19 in Nelspruit
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Sheppard Boutique Hotel
Sheppard Boutique Hotel
#7 of 19 in Nelspruit
18 reviews
3.5 km away
Southern Sun Emnotweni
Southern Sun Emnotweni
#2 of 19 in Nelspruit
265 reviews
2.9 km away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#1 of 19 in Nelspruit
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Once the original town hall of Nelspruit, this historic hotel is one of the town's most prominent landmarks. This heritage city hotel offers guest spacious accommodation combined with warm personal service and genuine local hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Promenade

Address: Samora Machel Drive | cnr Henshall Street, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Price Range: $53 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Promenade 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Promenade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Promenade staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Promenade staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“clean, neat, comfortable rooms”
 of 5 bubbles PiscesMom24, 4 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room that overlooks the courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles mariusb433, 14 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Read all the reviews before paying for your booking”
 of 5 bubbles Carlien02, 29 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Get new comfortable beds and that will make me come back because I come to Nelspruit every month for a week for business and now resort to Guesthouses and I don't like them”
 of 5 bubbles 457lmm, 22 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Improvement in lock system keys does not work properly they do not open quick. ”
 of 5 bubbles sbusisomaburena, 9 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay