We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Protea Hotel Rustenburg Hunters Rest

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Protea Hotel Rustenburg Hunters Rest
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

190 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 187: English reviews
Rustenburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Thank you! Like every other lunch buffet, the food was superb. No long ques, dishes were available all the time. Serving staff and waiters were professional and delivered excellent service. I do hope hotel management remunerate them accordingly, they add to the excellence of your establishment. The only challenge was the booking, literate staff should be dealing with bookings, emails...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ElsabeHowes
GM-HuntersRest, General Manager at Protea Hotel Rustenburg Hunters Rest, responded to this review

Dear Elsabe Howes Thank you so much for your review regarding our Christmas lunch offering. We are so glad to see you enjoyed our Christmas lunch offering, please accept our sincere apology for the booking process we will definitely improve on our processes in this coming year. We are looking forward to your return this year. Warm regards; Siyanda Dlamini...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

I visited Hunter's Rest on my own in December, the hotel is so beautiful, with very quiet and tranquil surroundings. I love the fact that it doesn't really feel like a hotel but more like a lodge with your own private terrace for each room. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I enjoyed relaxing by the pool which is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rache_203
GM-HuntersRest, Manager at Protea Hotel Rustenburg Hunters Rest, responded to this review

Dear Rache_203, It is always so great to see our GUESTS giving us feedback like yours, it means we got something right and manage to exceed your expectations. We have communicated your feedback to our TEAM, as it will also motivate them to continue doing such great jobs, regrettably we shortfall-ed on your Reflexology and foot massage. We have communicated...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel has so much potential but is so badly looked after that I'm surprised it's a Protea Hotel! The gardens are in desperate need of some TLC (just mowing the lawn would be good). The furniture in our family room has items that are broken and the room is very dusty and pur phone doesn't work. The monkeys have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dianne V
GM-HuntersRest, Manager at Protea Hotel Rustenburg Hunters Rest, responded to this review

Dear Dianne V, Thank you for your review regarding your stay with us, please accept our sincere apology for not meeting your expectations regards to your room and our pricing structure. We have taken your feedback to heart and communicated it with our TEAM so that we can improve on our facilities and services to our valued GUESTS like yourself....

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived and our room was not ready till 16h45 which was not great. Then we where overcharged on our first dinner bill. Reported both to Kirsty ( Manager I think) and she apologised and did not charge us for the dinner bill. The hotel staff where very friendly and went out of their way to help with whatever was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 793clintonw
GM-HuntersRest, General Manager at Protea Hotel Rustenburg Hunters Rest, responded to this review

Dear 793clintonw, Thank you so much for your review regarding your recent stay with us. We are so glad to hear that you have found our buffet amazing and the kids enjoyed our kiddies activities program. Yes, indeed Sun City is less than an hours drive from our hotel which is an added bonus if you are looking to explore...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have booked accommodation for 6 days with Hubby and 3 kids and paid everything upfront, once we got to the hotel they have notified us that the R1500 rate we paid for each room doesn't include breakfast, the quote didn't state that the rate doesn't include breakfast, I'm so disappointed. I will never come back here again. We queued...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Duduzile N
GM-HuntersRest, General Manager at Protea Hotel Rustenburg Hunters Rest, responded to this review

Dear Duduzile, Thank you for taking the time to write to me. As discussed face to face while you were staying with us, you booked both your rooms from two different third party websites. As pointed out to you from the confirmation letters that you presented in support of your argument, the one room certainly did included breakfast hence the...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You list yourselves as being wheelchair friendly which you are not. Please will you update your amenities. By the way, to not have disabled facilities in this day and age is disgraceful. It's not that uncommon for someone to be in a wheelchair or need a grab rail in a shower. This is really not acceptable.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicole K
GM-HuntersRest, General Manager at Protea Hotel Rustenburg Hunters Rest, responded to this review

Dear Nicole Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your most recent stay with us. Please accept my apologies for fact that you found our property not wheelchair friendly. I would like to give you a call to get more clarity on your feedback. Our facilities are wheelchair friendly particularly in the public areas and in...

Port Elizabeth
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had the misfortune to stay for 2 nights in December 2016 (27th, 28th), never again. On arrival, our welcome at reception was mediocre, to say the least. No one to assist with luggage, or show us to the room. We paid full price for the rooms, which were situated opposite the back entrance to the kitchen (rooms 141,142). Our view...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Desmond E
GM-HuntersRest, General Manager at Protea Hotel Rustenburg Hunters Rest, responded to this review

Dear Desmond, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your most recent stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the fact that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. From the wing of the property where your room was located there is a minimum of eight metres to the main building which is...

Johannesburg
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I got an awful room that was long and narrow and shared a wall with the neighbouring room that was so thin, I could hear her turning over in bed. The phones didn't work. When I asked to be moved to a better room, I just go a blank - we're fully booked. Will not go back for love or...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Avastar34
GM-HuntersRest, General Manager at Protea Hotel Rustenburg Hunters Rest, responded to this review

Dear Avastar34 It saddens us greatly that we missed the opportunity to exceed your expectations during your stay with us. Please accept our sincerest apology for the room that was not to your preference and that we could not have moved you to a larger room. We have addressed your feedback with our reception TEAM, and I apologize for the...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Being completely unfamiliar with the area and hotel previously, I had my doubts and kept my expectations low on arrival. However this hotel is an absolute gem with so much potential! Comfortable rooms. We stayed in a luxury room. Did hear a few guests saying rooms needing updating but we were told they are in the process of redoing all....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephanie B
GM-HuntersRest, General Manager at Protea Hotel Rustenburg Hunters Rest, responded to this review

Dear Stephanie B, We value feedback like yours and would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know where we got to exceed your expectations and where we can still work on. We have communicated your comments to the rest of our TEAM and we are all delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us....

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Attended a conference at Hunter's Rest. I was impressed by the location. The facilities have also been upgraded and the service was good. Typical Protea group hospitality. I will certainly visit Hunter's Rest again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Afzal117
GM-HuntersRest, General Manager at Protea Hotel Rustenburg Hunters Rest, responded to this review

Dear Afzal117, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your conference that was held at our hotel. We are so glad you had a memorable experience. We are looking forward to your next visit, hopefully very soon! Warm regards; Siyanda Dlamini General Manager

167 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rustenburg
11.8 km away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
29.6 km away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 11 in Rustenburg
154 reviews
8.1 km away
Road Lodge Rustenburg
Road Lodge Rustenburg
#8 of 11 in Rustenburg
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 km away
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Rustenburg
88 reviews
28.7 km away
Kedar Heritage Lodge, Conference Center & Spa
37.4 km away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience the picturesque countryside resort nestled in the Magalies Mountains Protea Hotel by Marriott Rustenburg Hunters Rest is nestled in between the Magaliesberg Mountains 8.5km from Rustenburg CBD this mountain range stretches from the North of Pretoria through to the South of the Pilansberg National Park located less than an hour away. Adjacent to the Kgaswane Nature Reserve Protea Hotel by Marriott Rustenburg Hunters Rest offers a nature drive up to our famous viewing deck in the reserve with spectacular views of the mountain range and the Olifantsnek dam that were once home to roaming elephant herds. This is the perfect family getaway with the kids, a mere 1 hour and half's drive from Pretoria, less than 2 hours' drive from Johannesburg and less than an hour's drive from Sun City. With loads of activities for children such as tractor rides, pony rides, a jumping castle, putt putt, tennis courts, hiking trails, mountain biking and board games to keep the children busy while the parents can relax at our health and beauty spa. Play a round of golf on our 9-hole golf course surrounded with spectacular mountain views, or a romantic getaway for two with a packed picnic basket and blanket to be enjoyed by our outdoor heated swimming pool. The mountains are also a birder's delight, with over 300 bird species recorded and famous for their dramatic quartzite cliffs. The Magaliesberg Mountains offer an abundance of valleys, ravines, cliffs and waterfalls for the pleasure and indulgence of nature lovers. Nearby attractions include the Royal Bafokeng stadium, Magaliesberg Canopy Tour, Paul Kruger Country House, Cradle of Humankind, Hartebeespoort Dam, Elephant Sanctuary, Maropeng & Sterkfontein Caves. Rustenberg is home to events such as the Piek Fijn food & wine festival, Brauhaus am Damm October Festival, Tarentaal Theatre featuring local talent, and now forms part of the UNESCO biosphere, thereby ensuring the preservation of this ancient natural treasure for future generations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Rustenburg Hunters Rest

Address: R24 Rustenburg / Krugersdorp Rd, Rustenburg 0300, South Africa (Formerly Hunters Rest Mountain Resort)
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Rustenburg
Price Range: $69 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Rustenburg Hunters Rest 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Marriott and Expedia so you can book your Protea Hotel Rustenburg Hunters Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunters Rest Hotel Rustenburg
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rustenburg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rustenburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel Rustenburg Hunters Rest staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel Rustenburg Hunters Rest staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book for Spa in advance”
 of 5 bubbles Rache_203, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“No idea how to get better room or service.”
 of 5 bubbles Avastar34, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Any room from 229”
 of 5 bubbles melvdwalt01, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Interlocking rooms are noisy”
 of 5 bubbles PetroDP, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Use proper sharp and proper steak knives for room service.”
 of 5 bubbles Khanyatshimo, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay