We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

President Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
President Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

757 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for President Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 700: English reviews
Bantry Bay
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Slow service, Spa therapist was late for appointment, hair dryer broken, light bulbs out in room, and rats in garden! Waited a long time for food to be prepared, and struggled to find a wine bottle opener!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 539dirkg
President_HotelCT, Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Good day Dirk Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comments with us. Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations on stay. We can assure you that this is not the norm. We will ensure that remedial action is taken. I am certain that during your next stay you will experience our true service levels....

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent location,helpful staff at buffet breakfast where there was plenty of choice.But read all those reviews about check in.The reception seem to think you are doing them a favour by staying at the President.Despite emailing in advance that I would need a walk in shower,and reminding them when checking in at the required time a bath with shower was provided....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin O
President_HotelCT, Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robin We trust that you had a pleasant trip home. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding your most recent stay with us. It is with regret that your arrival experience did not go as planned and I can assure you that this was not our intention. I appreciated that you took the...

Cambridge
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a good hotel. Nice rooms, decent food, good service, good-sized pool. Does what it says on the tin. Apart from the fact that it is a taxi ride away from the main centre, the location is fine. Allow 80 rand or so each way to get in to the waterfront area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jules064
President_HotelCT, Guest Relations Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. It's great to know you had a good stay with us and that you enjoyed the food, room, service and the pool area. I hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards Nadia Simon

Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I'm sorry to say that I was disappointed with this hotel, despite several very good points. The majority of the staff were friendly and helpful. However, we had to ask five members of staff before we were served with a soft drink by the pool. They appeared to take our order and then disappeared! Our room was not clean. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sumo284
President_HotelCT, Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Good Day Sumo284 We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments related to your most recent stay. We regret to hear that your stay did not go entirely as planned and that you were not satisfied with your room standards. We can assure you that this is not the norm and have been addressed...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is our second visit to the president hotel. We really enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was good. Lots to choose from. It very busy during our stay but it made no difference to the service. Prince in the bar was happy and friendly and some of the breakfast staff especially outside John and the seagulls. He helped keep them away....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank portiamarie69
President_HotelCT, Guest Relations Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your sty with us. I'm delighted to know you had a good stay with us yet again. It's great that you enjoy teh location, breakfast aswell as the friendly staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards Nadia Simon

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fantastic location to access Cape Town centre and the surrounding area. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful when required. The food standard was very good, including breakfast and evening meals. We really enjoyed our stay, and would happily go back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
President_HotelCT, Guest Relations Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. I'm delighted you had a good stay and that you enjoyed the location of the hotel aswell as the staff and the food. I hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards Nadia Simon

Vilnius, Lithuania
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a good hotel to stay in if you want to be near Clifton beaches. It is situated about 5 kilometers from V&A waterfront, taxi costs about 10 euros one way. Breakfast was really good, our room had a view to Lion's head. Magnificent!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liu S
President_HotelCT, Guest Relations Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review! It's great to know you had a good stay with us and that you enjoyed the Location of the Hotel aswell as the Breakfast and mountain views from your room. I hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards Nadia Simon

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay and felt it was great value for money! The rooms are spacious, clean and the bed was very comfy. The hotel is in such a great location as its in-between all the main sites and it's very easy to get around as the hop on hop off bus stop is just outside the hotel. Would definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sunlovetravel_19
President_HotelCT, Guest Relations Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Im delighted you enjoyed your stay and felt it was good value for money. I hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards Nadia Simon

Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was the last hotel we visited as part of a tour and perhaps the most disappointing. It has the opportunity to easily improve but clearly standards have slipped The front desk had a variety of good to abrupt receptionists. Although we arrived at 6pm after a long day some members of our group were not allocated a room until...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GMB46
President_HotelCT, Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Good day GMB46 Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay feedback with us. We were very pleased to host you during your trip to SA. We were disappointed that you some disappointments during your stay. Please do accept our apologies for this. We are very excited to share with your that we are about to start...

London
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was our third stay and as before most enjoyable and with friendly and efficient staff and facilities. Well placed for Main Street in Seapoint with all it's shops and restaurants. Looking forward to our next visit.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank James G
President_HotelCT, Guest Relations Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It's great to know you had a good stay with us as usual and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your 4th stay. Kind Regards Nadia Simon

260 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (204)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Other (108)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (20)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
1.1 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#68 of 106 in Cape Town Central
305 reviews
4.0 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,634 reviews
1.6 km away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#25 of 106 in Cape Town Central
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,052 reviews
0.1 km away
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
#6 of 6 in Bantry Bay
244 reviews
10.2 km away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience affordable and luxury living in Cape Town's most beautiful urban resort, the President Hotel is a peaceful haven just a step away from the buzz of Cape Town's CBD. Situated in the wind-free suburb of Bantry Bay, guests can enjoy breathtaking views of endless ocean horizons set against the backdrop of the infamous Lion's Head and Table Mountain. Exquisitely designed for maximum light and a sense of space and tranquility, the President Hotel offers an enticing selection of restaurants, bars, lounges, conference facilities, gardens and terraces to suit your changing moods, desires and needs. The hotel's 349 rooms and apartments combine contemporary sophistication and comfort with spaciousness and each and every guest room is beautifully appointed with a semi self-catering kitchenette. The President Hotel has all the luxury facilities and guest services you would expect in any world-class hotel. Work, Rest and Play at the President Hotel that offers you the best of both worlds: In the City and By the Sea. ... more   less 

Additional Information about President Hotel

Address: 4 Alexandra Avenue, Bantry Bay 8001, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel President)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Price Range: $148 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — President Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 349
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Bantry Bay
Protea Hotel President
President Hotel Cape Town/Bantry Bay, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bantry Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bantry Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Bantry Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bantry Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from President Hotel staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from President Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Chose updated rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Driankatz, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“6th floor rooms are apartment like with fridge and microwave, but no crockery or cutlery....”
 of 5 bubbles bootsmagee, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The higher the better”
 of 5 bubbles robino185, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors less noisy Sea facing room should be requested as the view is fantastic”
 of 5 bubbles POOHBEAR60, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“An ocean view room would be preferred.”
 of 5 bubbles RaymondM29, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5