We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Matoppo Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Matoppo Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 65: English reviews
Start your review of Matoppo Inn
 Click to rate
Krugersdorp, South Africa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Not a bad hotel but compared to the other accommodation nights stay not good value for your money . We arrived late took the only room available which was the luxury room with a bath and shower tea and coffee and a little jar with Rusks the bed was big and the room spacious ,also the staff very pleasent and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lorainestander
Management response:

Dear Loraine Stander Thank you for your review regarding your stay at Matoppo Inn. We are very pleased that you found our rooms comfortable. We try to provide good service at all times. Our dinner times are between 06h30 and 9.00pm and apologize why dinner could not be served to you. We are attending to this matter seriously. With regards...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed during February 2016, and booked one of the antique rooms in the main guesthouse building. The room looked absolutely spectacular on the website, and did not disappoint when walking into the room. Beautiful antiques, bar fridge, refreshment tray, twin basins in the bathroom, and high lofty ceilings. As much as the room was beautiful, there were a number of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aubrey W
Management response:

Dear Aubrey Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We have attended to your remarks and would like to thank you for valued input. The bed in Room 3 will be replaced. All electrical issues has been sorted out. Buffet Dinner will be served , as well as a bigger continental breakfast. We are trying...

Reviewed 16 February 2017

Spent 2 nights as we had business to attend to in Beaufort West. We booked Room 2 as it looked spectacular on website. The room was indeed spectacular with a huge bathroom and beautiful antique pieces in the room. The air-con was a welcome relief in the Karoo heat. However, it shared a wall with the kitchen and we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lionel M
Management response:

Dear Sir Thank you for your valued response regarding your with us. We have given attention to your remarks and are doing the following: The bed in Room 3 will be replaced. We are attending to the noise in the scullery and are busy finding a way to sort this out. We decided to do a buffet dinner, that will...

Bedfordview, South Africa
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

Travelling from Jhb to Hermanus with our Rottweiler, Staffie and Sausage dog could have been awful if not for our stopover here. The staff are amazing and very accommodating. Huge garden with space for dogs to explore after the long drive. They were allowed to sleep in our room. We were served dinner at our own beautifully laid table under...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KarinBlair
Management response:

Dear Karin Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you soon in the future. Kind Regards Gail

Krugersdorp, South Africa
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Very unpleasant experience. The food was horrible. Only 2 staff members who have to cook and serve. Rooms very outdated. The blankets had very bad stains. Had to sleep on top off bed. Floors not clean. Water pleasure in shower shocking. Will never stay their again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annelizeroetz
Management response:

Dear Me Roetz Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Matoppo Inn. We value all our guests reviews and regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us. After receiving your complaint, we had our plumbing assessed. The plumber assured us that nothing was wrong with our water pressure, but because of the brackish water,...

Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Stopped over at Matoppo Inn on our way to Knysna and back. Establishment is clean, neat and tranquil. Beds are comfortable. Very olden days setting type which you would expect from the town. Breakfast and Dinners seem to be overpriced. You could eat at the Spur or 4Sheep for half the price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phatcat29
Management response:

Dear Phatcat29 Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and are very happy that you enjoyed the tranquility, which is always a plus when leaving the hustle and bustle of the city. We have a new A-La-Carte menu with more options which might suit guests better. We hope to se you again in the near future. Kind Regards...

Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

We had a great stay, the room was clean and neat. The linen and bedding were clean and fresh. We were disappointed when we realized that our breakfast was not included. Ordered dinner and they were kind enough to serve us in our room. The food was delicious, but a bit pricey. The staff were very kind and friendly. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zandri_Griesel
Management response:

Dear Zandri Griesel Thank you for your review. We are always happy when guests leave our establishment satisfied and hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Gail

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 January 2017

We arrived on the 19th Dec after a long hot trip by car from Johannesburg. The place was an oasis in the heat, with clean rooms and an aircon. We were greeted by friendly staff and shown to our room. We were also offered the supper, but thought R195pp for a 3-course meal was a bit steep, and settled for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Phillip G
Belfast, Mpumalanga, South Africa
Reviewed 22 December 2016

Matoppo Inn is such a beautiful, peaceful place to stay over. The rooms are beautiful and clean and the beds very comfortable. We loved the beautiful gardens. The people were very friendly and the reception was very good. I will recommend it to anyone. It is also very safe.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MildaF
Management response:

Dear MildaF Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and be assured that we will always strive to provide the best service. Hope to se you again in the not too distant future. Kind Regards Gail

Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

What a wonderful overnight stay! Matoppo Inn is an absolute oasis. The guest service is so friendly, welcoming & hospitable, from our initial email & phone contact, to arrival and all the way until we left. Thanks especially to the lovely Maria & Grace! The garden... Where to start! The garden is exquisite & was much enjoyed by our 3...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MrsVeeDeeDubs

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaufort West hotels
7.2 km away
Lemoenfontein Game Lodge
Lemoenfontein Game Lodge
#1 of 22 in Beaufort West
640 reviews
0.1 km away
Beaufort Manor Country House
Beaufort Manor Country House
#10 of 22 in Beaufort West
61 reviews
0.8 km away
Old House Luxury Guesthouse
Old House Luxury Guesthouse
#6 of 22 in Beaufort West
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
17 on Bird Guest House
17 on Bird Guest House
#5 of 22 in Beaufort West
41 reviews
1.3 km away
Cape Karoo Guesthouse
Cape Karoo Guesthouse
#2 of 22 in Beaufort West
331 reviews
34.6 km away
Olive Grove Guest Farm
Olive Grove Guest Farm
#3 of 22 in Beaufort West
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Matoppo Inn

Address: 7 Bird Street, Beaufort West 6970, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Beaufort West
Price Range: $78 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Matoppo Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Matoppo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Matoppo Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Gaborone, Botswana
9 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Matoppo Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are in the garden so they are pretty much the same”
 of 5 bubbles lorainestander, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't book room 2, shares a wall with the kitchen”
 of 5 bubbles 357lionelm, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room No 7 in the middle.”
 of 5 bubbles annelizeroetz, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The rooms nearest the gardens are the most comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles hughparkes, 8 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Don't eat here.”
 of 5 bubbles DieRooiGevaar, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5