We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crystal

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Crystal
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Crystal
See the most recent reviews
Showing 138: English reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2014 via mobile

My spouse and I stayed at the Crystal for 10 glorious days and found all the amenities to be superb. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment with the most amazing view of the beach and the amazing mountain ranges. The unit and complex is perfectly located. The complex has both a heated and cold pool, providing endless hours of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mercades S
Noresund, Norway
Reviewed 12 November 2014

We stayed at studio apartement and it was nice spacious and cozy. Very modern. Bed is huge and comfy ( not so soft). View is really nice. Private indoor garage with 24h security guard. Neighborhood is quiet. Restaurants and beach is about 30min walk, bout 5min with car. We really enjoyed staying there.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Harry1313
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2014

This apartment was very spacious and includes full kitchen and facilities. Very modern and clean. Balcony with amazing views out over Lions head hill and also the sea. Nice secure carparking and helpful staff. Do be aware it is a good 20 minutes walk down to the main street with shops and the sea front and it is very steep,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WeLoveTravelling1
Reviewed 9 November 2014

I stayed here with friends and it was just beautiful. The entire unit was clean. Also, each unit has a FULL kitchen with washer and dryer, dishwasher etc. The beds are comfortable, bathrooms are modern and beautiful, and both bathroom and bedroom have heated floors. Both the living area and master bedroom have ocean views. It was just a beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Izabela J
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 18 October 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the one bedroom apartment (111) and we were impressed by the size and comfort the apartment provided. Certainly felt at home. The views of table mountain from the rooms were amazing but the views from the balcony of the beach and beyond were breath taking. We had very memorable sunsets from the comfort of our balcony which will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 11 September 2014

We stayed for two nights and could have stayed more under different circumstances. We were at the end of a long holiday but they would be fantastic for a longer break with a car. The apartments are very modern, clean and spacious. The setting is wonderful, overlooking Camps Bay in front and with Table Mountain behind. They are ideal for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AandM_10
TheCrystalCampsBay, General Manager at The Crystal, responded to this review

Dear AandM_10 Thank you for taking the time to write this review. For couples wanting to explore I would rather suggest to have a vehicle or different tours booked in advance. Although it is only a 10-minute walk to the beach front and Camps Bay Strip it is advisable to rather get a taxi/bus back as the hill can be...

Yorkshire
Reviewed 10 August 2014

An excellent base as our first stopping off point in South Africa. In a lovely, safe suburb (Camps Bay), the apartments are very well appointed, spacious and offer lovely views across the bay. With a car it is easy to get to Capetown, Signal hill, Table mountain cablecar and Lion head. Camps Bay itself was quiet (in July), with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank harold59
TheCrystalCampsBay, General Manager at The Crystal, responded to this review

Dear Harold 59 Thank you for your review. Although we have changed wifi service providers we are still in the process of upgrading the signal, unfortunately due to the layout of the block the process is taking longer than anticipated. Kind Regards Chantel Wessels

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was our fourth or fifth stay at The Crystal and we enjoyed the location so much that this time, we recommended it to friends who came with us and we collectively booked three apartments. Imagine the surprise when we called the establishment Management to ask for a late check-out and were told that we have to pay 50% of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lwazi_m
TheCrystalCampsBay, General Manager at The Crystal, responded to this review

Dear Lwazi Thank you for returning to The Crystal, unfortunately due to your reservation being under a different name we regret that we could not welcome you back as a return guest. Unfortunately depending on our occupancy we do charge for late departures. Thank you for responding to my email after your departure. We trust that we can make up...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had booked a one bedroom apartment but on arrival were disappointed with the view as there really wasn't one plus the apartment itself was more like a studio as opposed to a one bedroom. As our stay was during the Winter months we were lucky to be upgraded to the second floor corner two bedroom apartment which was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally S
TheCrystalCampsBay, General Manager at The Crystal, responded to this review

Dear Sally S Thank you for your review. Unfortunately all our studio and one bedroom apartments are located on the ground floor. Although all the apartments have a view they do differ with location and floor. We are pleased that we could upgrade you and that you had a memorable stay. We hope to welcome you back in the near...

Bucharest
Reviewed 23 February 2014

If you are travelling alone, as I was you will think twice before booking, as it's a bit expensive. Biggest surprise was no internet in the room - the only hotspot was around reception, so people would have to stand in the garage/parking to browse, make further travel arrangements, make calls (instead of making them from the pool...) or check...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank olyvine
TheCrystalCampsBay, General Manager at The Crystal, responded to this review

Dear Olyvine Thank you for your review. We are in the process of upgrading our WiFi coverage, signal strength and quality. Alternatively we do have a guest computer at reception that is complimentary and a 3G dongle as back up for the interim. We appreciate the feedback with regards to the doors and windows and will most definitely look at...

140 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (84)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
3.1 km away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
974 reviews
0.7 km away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
218 reviews
3.8 km away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
590 reviews
0.8 km away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
248 reviews
1.3 km away
Ocean View House
Ocean View House
#6 of 61 in Camps Bay
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Panoramic views of the Atlantic and spectacular sunsets are the order at The Crystal, architecturally stunning apartments in one of the world's premier scenic settings. With easy access in and out of Camps Bay, these luxurious, fully serviced apartments afford a choice of outstanding accommodation from modern studio and two-bedroom apartments through to captivating loft and three bedroom apartments, all well-appointed and designed for the ultimate in comfort and style. Two swimming pools on an expansive terrace provide refreshing dips and sun-soaked relaxation while contemplating the delights of splendid ocean views. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Crystal

Address: 35 Medburn Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Price Range: $199 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crystal 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crystal Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Crystal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would recommend rooms 201 202 301 302”
 of 5 bubbles northumbrian2015, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“This is a 2 bedroom luxury appartment so cost is slightly higher than mid range.”
 of 5 bubbles dav3com, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All apartments have sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles Malloy2016, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't go there if you need to do any internet or emails - system is too slow”
 of 5 bubbles deborahtT1109DZ, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the ground floor mean easy access to the Pools, those higher up are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Join8, 9 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay