We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bay Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,072 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 985: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2016

As three couples we booked this hotel 13 months in advance and were not able to get 3 rooms of the same quality (despite having apparently been put on a wait list). The sea-view suite was good and spacious but the mountain view room felt cramped and the view was - well I am not really sure what it was,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tiny60
SeanGeyser, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tiny60 Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel as we are in the entertainment business we look to our guests to offer constrictive criticism to improve our service delivery. We have a unique program where we contact our guests on a regular basis to ensure that we are doing everything to ensure we create a fun...

england
Reviewed 8 January 2016

We have stayed here several times before so it's an old favourite. They have made many changes since our last visit and we thought the improvements were great. It is a magical setting especially if you request a room over looking the sea. Always ask for a room up high though. The only reason I have given the hotel an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EnglandPorsche
SeanGeyser, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear EnglandPorsche Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, As you may know we try our best to accommodate all guests requests but unfortunately we cannot always accommodate everyone. I will personally take up the issue in regards to the switchboard not being answered as that is totally unacceptable. I will make sure all points are addressed...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 8 January 2016 via mobile

Recently stayed in hotel. Great location. Pretty shocked by staff on front desk both at check in and check out. Check in took 15 minute s while the lady attended to others during our check In. Checkout was the fastest checkout ever and the lady never smiled or looked at us once. Handed us the bill and took a call...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hbmcq1
SeanGeyser, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hbmcq1 Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We sincerely regret the less than satisfactory experience you had at the hotel and can assure you that, at all times, we endeavor to satisfy our guests to the best of our abilities. We sincerely hope that you will be returning to the hotel in the future and...

Reviewed 6 January 2016 via mobile

Very poor . The hotel was fully booked so we booked in the camps bat resort - which is same group. We were meant to have acces to the pool at the bay hotel. However on arriving there we were told we could not use the pool as we had a 3 year old. Only hotel guests could have children...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irenys
SeanGeyser, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Irenys We explain to all guests upon arrival at Camps Bay resort that the Sandy B private beach club is available to the Camps Bay Resort guests but not under the ages of 21. It is an exclusive beach club where adults come to relax and enjoy the facilities in the area. The main pool deck which is a...

Huntington Beach, California
Reviewed 4 January 2016

This was the last station of our trip 'The Art of Living and Yoga Retreat', which we organized for several guests. The location is fantastic, in the back you have the 12 Apostle Mountain range in the front the blue Atlantic. The rooms are comfortable, but I will admit we had been very spoiled the ten days before and all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RGerman
SeanGeyser, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RGerman Many thanks for taking the time to let us know how we are doing and for your positive feedback with regards to the hotel. Noted also are the shortcomings you were subjected to during your stay and assurances that the issues have been addressed. We do hope to welcome you back soon. Warm Regards Sean Geyser

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

We didn't actually stay at the hotel although is appeared very nice! But most nights we stopped by the hotel to have a night cap in the traders bar! It has wonderful views of the Bay and very plush! But what made this place so good was the bartender who was just fabulous! He obviously loved his trade and could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GillianWoodall1
SeanGeyser, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GillianWoodall1 Thank you for the great feedback Caamil is one of the best barmen in Cape Town. I will make sure the comments are passed on to him. We look forward to you coming back soon. Warm Regards Sean Geyser

Bridport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2016

Stayed for three nights, room very comfortable, bathroom small but manageable . Pool area overlooks beach. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Only downside was the amount of noise very early one morning in the pool area( 6.30am) people still celebrating from the night before! Will visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beneyboy
SeanGeyser, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Beneyboy I am so glad that you had a great stay with us, we will make sure the pool area is managed better to ensure no one is woken up so early as we love it when our guests get a restful and undisturbed nights rest. Warm regards Sean Geyser

Harrismith, South Africa
Reviewed 27 December 2015 via mobile

Everything was fantastic! Room beautiful, perfect setting, comfortable bed, full stocked fridge. Food great! Staff friendly and very professional! Location absolutely perfect, close to everything and right across main beach! Spa great! Very happy!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B6293HBmarinab
SeanGeyser, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear B6293HBmarinab Many thanks for your wonderful remarks, which we have shared with our staff. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Warm Regards Sean Geyser

London
Reviewed 23 December 2015

Cape Town is full of great places to stay, everyone knows that. This was a late find for me, but it's now my favourite. I bought a last minute rate, and I had a room at the back, which although it didn't have the million dollar view, was very large, and very luxuriously appointed. The Bay is about it's public...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hypnotist
SeanGeyser, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hypnotist Thank you for taking the time to give us the great review I will be sure to give your comments back to the staff to let them know to keep up the good work. The pool deck is one of the best places to be in Camps Bay as you have all the benefits of being close to...

Reviewed 18 December 2015

This is a great hotel located right across the beach in Camps Bay, with the beautiful backdrop of Table Mountain behind it. The hotel is chic and trendy and has a lot of artwork all throughout. Our room was great with a little separate sitting area and a private patio overlooking the pool and the mountains. The location in Camps...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melville G
SeanGeyser, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Melville G I am so delighted to hear that you had an amazing stay with us and had the use of all the facilities the Bay had to offer. We love to spoil our guests when it is a special occasion I'm glad that you enjoyed the cake and bubbly. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm...

732 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (461)
Viewed
View from Room (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (89)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (86)
Viewed
Room/Suite (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (135)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (223)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Cabana Pool (20)
Viewed
Main Pool (14)
Viewed
Premier Room with Mountain View (52)
Viewed
Dining (49)
Viewed
Sandy B Pool (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.4 km away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
275 reviews
0.4 km away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
623 reviews
3.9 km away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.2 km away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
258 reviews
0.7 km away
Camps Bay Retreat
Camps Bay Retreat
#9 of 12 in Camps Bay
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A distinctive blend of sophisticated elegance and casual comfort. The Bay Hotel is superbly designed with 78 rooms and suites offering luxury in an unsurpassed setting. No less than four hotel pools with expansive sun decks offer superlative views of the Atlantic Ocean and majestic Lion's Head. Renowned as a haven for romantics, leisure is our catchword, from rejuvenating spa treatments to the convenience of our unique cocktail bar. And for the ultimate in relaxation, we recommend our cigar lounge and bar with breathtaking views. Celebrate special events at the intimate Celebration Table or Private Deck overlooking a sapphire sea. Fully-equipped meeting and events venues are available to suit every occasion, including the historic Rotunda for glittering parties and flawless weddings. Breathe deep... Exhale slowly and rediscover fun. Float into blissful relaxation while enjoying our exceptional brand of hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Address: 69 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Price Range: $213 - $641 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Bay Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Camps
The Bay Hotel Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bay Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Killarney, Ireland
chicago il
3 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Bay Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Probably a high Floor and rear facing”
377rayg, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“418 has lovely views of Table Mountain”
emmajayne110, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I booked a the second floor above the pool. That way your balcony in above the pool and looking straight out over the beach!”
debram681, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The cabana's at the front of the hotel. Wonderful views of the ocean.”
amplaw, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Sea facing definetely a must, to watch the beautiful sunsets”
msafirimbili, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5