We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Camps Bay Retreat

CancelonUS$123*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$135*
US$123*
Great Deal
US$135*
US$134*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Camps Bay Retreat
Camps Bay Retreat
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

403 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Camps Bay Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 369: English reviews
Oxted, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This was the first accomodation on a 11 day trip to South Africa - our first trip there - and what a great place to start at. Beautifully positioned, great staff, great room in the Deck House with its own great view and wonderful meals on the terrace too! We arrived just in time for dinner and were immediately accommodated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brianahop
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Brianahop, Thank you so much for the excellent review, we really appreciate the fact that you had som much positivety in the words you decribe our hotel. We hope that we have not set the standards to high for the rest of the trip. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future to your home away from...

Dronfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was the beginning of our trip along the Garden Route and we were very pleased we were offered this hotel. The rooms were clean, with complimentary tea, coffee, water and wifi. We had turn down every evening, when they also turned on the underfloor heating (being from the uk, really not needed!) and bedside lights. Loved the jacuzzi bath!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DevonBexter
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review

Dear DevonBexter, Thank you so much for our nice review, we trust that we will see you in the near future. I hope that the year ahead will be filled with joy and happiness. Kind Regards The Camps Bay Retreat Team

Stroud
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This was recommended to us by friends and how wonderful it was to enjoy perfect solicitous service with stunning view of the sea. The public rooms are old colonial style, classy and comfortable. Food was up to the high standard we have come to expect and love in South Africa. We will be back next year. Couldn't remember the name...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CoachhouseGL
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review

Dear CoachhouseGL, We are overwhelmed with the great response and amazing comments that you have written about our lovely establishment. We as a Hotel strive to give all our guests the best service we can provide. Kind Regards The Camps Bay Retreat Team

london
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Loved staying here . The views are stunning. Really friendly and my 2 year old loved the dogs especially Ben . The reading room is a great touch and the dining is excellent . We will stay here whenever we are in capetown regardless of the season . Can't wait to return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paultoptooth
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Paultoptooth, Thank you so much for the great response, the staff misses you and your family as they have grown to know exeptionally well. We can not wait to welcome you back to your home away from home. Kind Regards The Campsbay Retreat Management Team

Redditch, Worcestershire
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights in January 14 at the end of our first visit to South Africa. We had a room in the deck house which was lovely, with a distant view of the sea. The weather was disappointing for the first few days with periods of torrential rain, storms and high winds which limited our sunbathing activities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bevandmark2
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Bevandmark2, We trust that you are well and that you have settled nicely back home. The weather by us is slowly moving towards winter. We would like to take the opportunity to thank you for the constructive criticism, If we have known that this was the situation and that you were unsatisfied with some aspects of the Hotel we...

new york, ny
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This property is in a gated location just a couple of minutes from Camps' Bay and Table Mountain. The rooms are spacious and really nicely done. We had our own private deck and sliver of a view of the ocean. The main house has a library with a computer and printer for guests to use. The hotel restaurant overlooks a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jadewin82
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Alias, Thank you for the magnificent review, we really enjoyed your company. We trust that you will have a great year filled with laughter and fun. Kind Regards Camps Bay Retreat Management

irl
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Beautiful little gem of peace and tranquility within an easy walk of all the action on the sea front strip and a short taxi ride to the many and various restaurants around Kloof St. The polite and charming staff just make for a very relaxed stay. There are magnificent views out over the ocean, leave your window open at night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pjmIrl
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Alias, Thank you so much for the Great review, we Value or your comments. We hope that you will visit us in the near future for yet another memorable stay. Kind Regards Camps Bay Retreat Managers

Scotland
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We had Room 15 which is best descrived as a mini suite as it had large ditting area and a large deck with sun loungers. Bath rather oddly placed right in front of main door but also separate shower so it wasn't a problem. What did bother us was no wash-hand basin in toilet which meant walking to separate bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Willows6
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Tripadvisor Alias, Thank you for the review, the information that you have given us is extremely helpful and will allow us to look at these issues when we will be doing routine maintenance. We are glad that you have enjoyed the stay and hopefully you will visit us in the near future. Kind Regards Camps Bay Retreat Management

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed here for the last 3 nights of our holiday as we wanted a bit of luxury and feel rested before returning home. The hotel is set in lovely grounds with wonderful views of the ocean. We stayed in the deck house which has nice rooms. The bed was comfortable with the best pillows ever. However, the servicing of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Milly1_23860
CampsBayRetreat, Camps Bay Retreat Management Team at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Thank you so much for the indepth review. We have also responded on all your review from our email system and we trust that you know that we will definitely take these matters seriously and make sure all neccessay training falls into place. Kind Regards Camps Bay Retreat Management Team

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Camps Bay Retreat truly stands out from the rest of the hotel options in Cape Town. Nestled in a small forest adjacent a ravine, you can hardly tell you are steps from the Camps Bay strip when relaxing at the Retreat. Rooms are spacious, well accommodated. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joseph O
CampsBayRetreat, Camps Bay Retreat Management at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Joseph O We are pleased to hear that you appreciate the serenity which Camps Bay Retreat offers. This is very different from the ever popular Camps Bay strip and should you need to get away to relax, please do come and visit our beautiful property again. Kind Regards Camps Bay Retreat Management

512 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (256)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (83)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (21)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
4:21
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (60)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (203)
Viewed
Amenities (40)
Viewed
Deck House Pool (9)
Viewed
Manor House Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)
Viewed
Villa with Private Pool (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
1.1 km away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
286 reviews
0.3 km away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
633 reviews
0.7 km away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
1.6 km away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.3 km away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Camps Bay Retreat Luxury Boutique Hotel is a sanctuary for the soul, set on four acres of lush green nature reserve. With a mountain meditation pool, thickets of trees, waterfalls and streams, it is a peaceful paradise, where meditative moments are waiting to be had. Views stretch across the ever-changing Atlantic Ocean and along the peaks of the Twelve Apostles Mountain Range, from the Deck House and The Villa. The estate has features such as four pools, a tennis court, a spa and a fine dining restaurant. Dine in the old world splendour of the original manor house, where The Retreat Kitchen's executive chef creates a daily menu of gourmet fare, combining a symphony of fresh ingredients from local markets. Food is paired exquisitely with celebrated wines from the region, best experienced as part of a candlelit three course affair! Spoil yourself with a choice of massages, treatments and facials at the spa. Spend the day luxuriating in the spa, relaxing in the sauna and being revitalized with a deep tissue massage. A refuge for the body and a haven for the mind, you'll unravel and surrender to the tranquility. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Camps Bay Retreat

Address: 7 Chilworth Road | The Glen, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Price Range: $170 - $620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camps Bay Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Camps Bay Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camps Bay Retreat Hotel Camps Bay
Hotel Camps Bay
Retreat Hotel Camps Bay
Camps Bay Retreat Cape Town, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Camps Bay Retreat staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Camps Bay Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Across rope bridge.”
LarryBelfast, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Deck house quieter”
travelledLondon6, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Villas across the bridge seem to be good for families but we liked our room in the main house.”
SarahT04, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Only have experience of room one”
matandpat2016, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“we were away from the main hotel-quiet and private”
fionah628, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
US$123* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$135
TripAdvisorUS$134
Hotwire.comUS$134
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates