We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cape Diem Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Cape Diem Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

221 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 116: English reviews
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were a group ( family and relatives) staying in this boutique hotel and therefore had it "privatized", as we occupied all the rooms. It was really nice. Rooms are very comfortable, and the decoration is done with taste. Nice swimming pool. Good breakfast and nice staff. The location is also very good, close to the "must see" and "must...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abcdef533
Khartoum, Sudan
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked well ahead of time for this hotel, knowing it was the holiday season and it was a smaller boutique hotel. In that time of booking to the time the hotel charged our card, it had expired, so we struggled with getting the deposit paid online or by phone for a couple days, but in the end it all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paar21
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We staid here for one night in October and enjoyed this short stay. The manager is very welcoming and helpful and asking if she could arrange anything for our visit to Cape Town. This is a very nicely decorated historic building in a quiet street, but perfectly located! Our room was large and overall very nice, though a very close...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harry_Vanhove
Siem Reap Province, Cambodia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Cape Diem Lodge is a most beautiful boutique residence right in the heart of Green Point and walking distance from the V & A Waterfront, Cape Town. A traditional and historic residence, it has been very tastefully upgraded to provide outstanding accommodation, pool and beautiful landscaped gardens. Ashlin Nunes, Manager was particularly attentive and along with her support staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexander142
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

We had 4 nights at Cape Diem and we would definitely stay again. We liked the fact that it is a small hotel / guest house and the attention to detail in the physical environment and in the personal interactions. The manager Ashlin spent time settling us in over a cup of tea, made recommendations on places to eat, activities,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn T
DBalbach, Manager at Cape Diem Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kathryn T, Thank you so much for your kind review! It is a delight to hear that you felt well pampered during your stay, it's what we aim to do best :-) We hope to see you again one day soon! Sunny Greetings, Ashlin & The Cape Diem Team

ozzano dell'Emilia, Italia
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Positioned in a very quite area and in walking distance from the water front. Room and bathroom very trendy and very close to luxury. We didn't get a chance to try the pool which the Lodge has within its lovely and very tidy inside garden but it's perfect for a summer stay. It has a private garage which is always...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stefano J
Daniel B, Manager at Cape Diem Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sjones76 Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay, but disappointed to note that your expectations were not fully met in other areas. We trust that despite this we shall again welcome you as guests to The Cape Diem Lodge...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 29 August 2016

As other reviewers have said, this place is just a gem. From its location through to the high standard of its accommodation to the impeccable service given by its staff. This the place where you can really relax and have complete confidence in the staff doing their very best to help. Even securing a table for dinner in one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jolise400
Daniel B, Manager at Cape Diem Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jolise400 Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Cape Town. Warm Regards Ashlin Nunes

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Loved my stay. The lodge is a redecorated historic house and is done beautifully. It's an oasis of calm, tranquil, design heaven in a central location. Room was fabulous and bathroom to die for. Nice mini bar and nespresso and radio. Local TV is terrible but that's not Cape Diem's fault! Pool too cold in winter for a swim but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dobsokar
DBalbach, Manager at Cape Diem Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Dobsokar Thank you so much for your kind review! It is a delight to hear that you felt well pampered during your stay, it's what we aim to do best :-) We hope to see you again one day soon! All our best, Ashlin & The Cape Diem Team

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 21 July 2016

We had a great stay at Cape Diem Lodge. Perfect location in Green Point area. Short walk to Waterfront and many great restaurants. Staff was attentive and welcoming, and site is very secure. We were there during winter so unfortunately were not able to take advantage of the lovely pool area. Breakfast was great. Internet worked well and was fast....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joshua R
London
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Very warm welcome from the Deputy Manager when we arrived. Breakfasts were great - continental and hot breakfast. The lodge is absolutely beautiful, really luxurious inside the hallway and lounge. We made good use of the lounge, as wifi was too weak usually in our room. Room itself was large and spacious, massive and very comfortable bed. Bathroom is pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StreathamMike

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.3 km away
Sugar Hotel & Spa
Sugar Hotel & Spa
#45 of 106 in Cape Town Central
331 reviews
21.3 km away
Colona Castle
Colona Castle
#1 of 1 in Lakeside
84 reviews
0.2 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#30 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel
#23 of 106 in Cape Town Central
434 reviews
0.9 km away
Dock House Boutique Hotel
Dock House Boutique Hotel
#47 of 106 in Cape Town Central
181 reviews
0.2 km away
Oxford House
Oxford House
#9 of 129 in Cape Town Central
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Don’t expect the ordinary…”better sleeping, better relaxing, better eating – better Cape Diem LODGE!” In our brand new and stylish Cape Diem LODGE you’ll find victorian charm, mixed with an award winning european interior design and all of that in the heart of vibrant Cape Town. Let us free you from the normal hotel stress. Our fresh, host and easy team wants to treat you like friends and as such, you will be sure to come. The house represents one of the first Farm Houses in Greenpoint, dating back to early 1875, equipped with the latest of modern interior, set in a beautifully landscaped garden with a sparkling pool and a Teak wood sundeck, where you’ll enjoy your rich english breakfast in the morning. It is gently attached to the lower slopes of Signal Hill, overlooking the Bay, Blouwberg Strand, Robben Island and the VA Waterfront and only minutes away from the cities major attractions.Our idea to “relaunche” and converte this victorian jewel from early 1900, in one of Cape Towns most thought after positions, into a luxurious meeting point for friends from around the world, came with a blink of an eye. The complete restoration in 2007/2008 was taking us several month and carried out with the greatest care to details. Influences of old and new, local and global, come together in playful harmony. Our motto: contemporary design in historical surroundings!In the heart of the house, you’ll be able to relax in our cosy and elegant lounge. Enjoy a book and a glas of exquisit south african wine or lay back in front of our open fire place during the winter.Our perfectly appointed rooms are offered in Classic or Superior. The interior is inspired by the new generation of young south african designers. Light and characterised by innumerable details, as well as kingsized beds, innovative bathrooms, state of the art self controled cooling & heating system, LCD Flatscreen TV’s & DVD’s and a fully loaded minibar including south african wines and champagne. Our complimentary wireless Lan internet connection does not only cater our friends on business, but may be enjoyed by everyone. Furthermore, all of our guest rooms are equipped with a CD sound experience, an Nespresso Coffee station, self dial telephones, digital safe, hair dryer, bathrobes + slippers, luxury bath ameneties, shower & bath and so much more… Why not trying out our pillow menu? Challenge us – what more can we get you?We also would like to offer you a personal, secure and hassle free pick-up in a luxury SUV from or to the Airport to the Cape Diem LODGE at a total of only R 450,- for 2 guests/per way. We only ask you for an early reservation and your exact flight details – leave the rest to us!We wish you already today the best possible trip to Cape Town and a very pleasant stay at your Cape Diem Lodge.Warm regards from Cape Town,Your Cape Diem LODGE Team ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cape Diem Lodge

Address: 11 Vesperdene Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: $151 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Diem Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cape Diem Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Diem Lodge Cape Town, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cape Diem Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Cape Diem Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms by the pool are better than inside.”
 of 5 bubbles Paar21, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The lodge provides the option of rooms in the main house or two very comfortable rooms in a new extension.”
 of 5 bubbles alexander142, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I had an outside garden room and it was lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles Dobsokar, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Front-facing rooms are sunny but it's hard to block out the ambient light from the street signs at night.”
 of 5 bubbles uberchick99, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The Lodge is in a quiet street so all rooms are good.”
 of 5 bubbles markboltonmark, 16 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay