We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hilton Cape Town City Centre

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hilton Cape Town City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,028: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 23 February 2016

After multiple flights from Australia, we arrived at the Hilton in Cape Town to find they had an error in their system and we were shunted to another hotel in the city with no further explanation. Shazeem refused to answer our questions which included, notifying our tour operators of our move and where our parcel delivery for the next day...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maria I
MarcSchumacher, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Hilton Cape Town City Centre. With regards to your booking, this was a very unfortunate incident where we had an interface failure in the reservation system for one day, which left the hotel with an overbooking situation. This is absolutely not the service we...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 22 February 2016

We had Halal Foreigners visiting and took them to the Hilton for a meal. Service was extremely slow (not lots of people in restaurant) so no excuse, food was well presented but not up to scratch. We had to return one dish and the other guest was too hungry to complain as he did not want to wait for his...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Odie104
MarcSchumacher, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your recent experience on Trip Advisor. It disheartens me to read that you were not satisfied with the service received. This is definitely not the normal standard of service we offer our guests at Hilton Cape Town City Centre. I refer to your comments regarding dinner at our Restaurant. Please accept our sincere...

Phoenix, AZ
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

As far as hotels personally as long as its clean and safe for a good price I'm happy. Stayed 3 nights and had no issues at all, but if you're on business the wifi is very poor, at least in our room on the second floor so took multiple tries to send an attachment with a text message. Location is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clarkkr79
MarcSchumacher, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Hilton Cape Town City Centre. I'm pleased to read that you had a great stay and enjoyed your view of Table Mountain from your room. Your recommendation to travellers is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mother...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 18 February 2016

We found the rooms we took were modern and comfortable. The staff were very attentive. There was a problem, as usual is the case as I understand it, booking through websites other than the hotel - so advise direct booking with hotel. However, the hotel staff were quick to resolve it and were helpfully able to organise rooms immediately on...

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ifthikhark
MarcSchumacher, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you posting a review on Trip Advisor. It delights me to read that you enjoyed the modern and comfortable rooms Hilton Cape Town has to offer. Your positive comments regarding the staff is appreciated especially knowing that they assisted you in an efficient manner. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back...

Jersey Channel Islands
Reviewed 16 February 2016

I stayed once again at the Hilton in Buitengracht Street. very convenient for the Convention Centre, a 5 minute taxi ride and 10 minutes to the Waterfront. The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble be it at checkin, the concierge or breakfast staff. Small pool area is available, not that i had any time to use...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayne G
MarcSchumacher, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you taking the time to write about your recent stay at our property. Your positive comments regarding our staff and the service received from them are highly appreciated. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon and hope next time you could catch a swim. With my personal regards, Marc Schumacher General Manager

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

What you are not told is that the breakfast restaurant and the main Indian restaurant are both Halal registered so no alcohol and even no bacon at breakfast. If I can get bacon in UAE, a Muslim country, why not in SA. Why use the Indian if you cannot enjoy a glass on wine with your meal Another case of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank plkb
MarcSchumacher, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay on Trip Advisor, your feedback is important to us. Hilton Cape Town City Centre is located in the centre of the Malay Quarters which is a heritage site in South Africa. Therefore, in an effort to meet the needs of our diverse guests and the communities...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 14 February 2016

We decided to make a change from the usual hotel we use when in Cape Town and looked forward to "The Hilton" executive suite experience however, found the hotel to be very average in terms of accommodation and food.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melvin M
MarcSchumacher, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay on Trip Advisor, your feedback is important to us. It disheartens me to read that you were not entirely satisfied with your experience and found our accommodation and food average. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconveniences you may have encountered...

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 14 February 2016

Very well appointed hotel lobby and rooms, very attentive staff that assisted with some medical issues I experienced, onsite restaurant is superb. Rooms are spacious and European in style. Convenient to walk to the outdoor market.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
MarcSchumacher, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your positive review on Trip Advisor. I'm delighted to read that you were able to create magical memories in Cape Town. Your comments regarding your experience, our spacious rooms, the central location of the hotel and service received from our staff is appreciated. Thank you for Choosing Hilton Cape Town City Centre, we look...

Lucknow, India
Reviewed 12 February 2016

So after been to some of the best hotels in South Africa we came to Hiltons with great expectations but didn't find it upto the same level.Check in was pretty smooth,room was good with a big bathroom but with no door and no ventilation.There was no water in the room so called the house keeping and to our surprise it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DeepaVansil
MarcSchumacher, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the recent post on Trip advisor. I'm happy to read that your check-in was smooth and you enjoyed the spacious bathroom facility. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our concierge team and the warm welcome and service you received from them. I have shared your comments with the rest of the team. You...

New Haven, Connecticut, United States
Reviewed 11 February 2016

We stayed there 5 days. It was very nice. Great location. Excellent staff. Great breakfast buffet. Concierge was very helpful. They advised on tours and restaurants and their recommendations were always excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Somaia
MarcSchumacher, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to wright about your stay at Hilton Cape Town City Centre. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our central location, breakfast buffet and great service from our team members. Your feedback is important to us and we truly appreciate your positive commentary. Looking forward to welcoming you back to...

431 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (338)
Viewed
View from Room (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (159)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (93)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
#36 of 106 in Cape Town Central
917 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,626 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#23 of 106 in Cape Town Central
2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,639 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,181 reviews
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa
#48 of 106 in Cape Town Central
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of South Africa's second largest city at the foot of Table Mountain, the Hilton Cape Town City Centre hotel is only 20 minutes from Cape Town Airport and is close to many shops and businesses, the wine district, a variety of beaches and the National Parliament. All of the modern Guest Rooms at this Cape Town hotel boast large windows, 32-inch LCD TVs and complimentary wireless internet access. Upgrade to an Executive Room for stunning views of Table Mountain or the city and access to the Executive Lounge, with complimentary breakfast, canapés and drinks. Hold a conference for up to 120 guests in one of 6 meeting rooms or 2 board rooms, which offer the very latest in audio/visual technology and ensure your event is a success with our business center. Indulge in an all-day dining experience in the elegant Mezbaan restaurants(Halaal certified by ICSA) and sip cocktails and relax with a fragrant shisha pipe in the exotic Signal Hill Terrace Lounge and Restaurant. Work out in our Fitness Center or soak up the glorious South African sunshine and stunning views of the Bo-Kaap and Table Mountain in the outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilton Cape Town City Centre

Address: 126 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Price Range: $195 - $545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cape Town City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hilton Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Hilton Cape Town City Centre South Africa
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#40 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#43 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton Cape Town City Centre staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton Cape Town City Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with a view of Table Mountain - sensational to wake up to every morning.”
 of 5 bubbles Aussie8869, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not a hotel I would recommend when there are so many others to choose from”
 of 5 bubbles lindajI7178WR, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Overlooking the pool is probably best with balcony”
 of 5 bubbles PaulineL109, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Have a meal at this hotel if you visit Cape Town.”
 of 5 bubbles DDR1234, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of Table Mountain”
 of 5 bubbles 998marciam, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5