We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

22 On Rose

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
22 On Rose
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

19 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 14: English reviews
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2016 via mobile

We had an amazing stay in Capetown. Bruce (owner) is Canadian, very hospitable and pleasant. He gave us a tour of the neighbourhood and provided some useful tips about Capetown. Room was comfortable and clean. We would stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Wojtek K
Camillelachance, Manager at 22 On Rose, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our guesthouse. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Regards, Bruce More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
162 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2015

This place actually has three buildings; I stayed at the Rose Lodge at 28 Rose Street. There were two rooms upstairs and another one off the tiny courtyard. Downstairs is a small kitchen (where breakfast is made for you!) and a dining room - which is also the only reliable place you can get WiFi. My room was small, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank SavvyFaire
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
307 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2014

I had an ok stay here. I was really insistent on staying here due to the location despite my friend's reluctance. I will say that the location here is outstanding and is walkable from a lot of good points throughout Cape Town's City Center. PROS: -Great and convenient location. It was in Bo Kaap within walking distance of Cape Town's... More 

Helpful?
Thank buffy0182
Camillelachance, Manager at 22 On Rose, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our guesthouse. You have given us food for thought which is always helpful. Kind regards, Edward, Daniel & Bruce More 

Helena, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2014

My wife and I stayed here recently on vacation to South Africa. Upon arrival we were greeted with a clean, neat and well appointed efficiency accommodation. This location is in the Bo Kaap area and is convenient to downtown and the magnificent waterfront area. This location is very secure but take normal precautions for your personal safety and security while... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alabeemer
Camillelachance, Manager at 22 On Rose, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review of our guesthouse. We are always happy to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. Kind regards, Bruce More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2014

First the "cons": the check-in process was painful. I stood outside of Rose Lodge for 10 minutes ringing the bell before knocking on the window. I asked the staff why they didn't answer the bell and they concluded that I didn't ring it. I think I know how to press a button. Aside from that, the wi-fi did not work... More 

Helpful?
Thank thismanisnice
Camillelachance, Manager at 22 On Rose, responded to this review

Firstly let me apologize if your check-in did not go as smoothly as it should have. This is certainly not a regular occurrence at our B&B and as it was not brought to my attention at the time I do not know exactly what happened. I'm sure you know how to ring a bell and my staff meant no offense... More 

Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Very disappointing choice because of these reasons: a) the whole house feels claustrophobic and there is practically no natural light (I had booked a different room that I was given) b) self service breakfast is very poor, items are of discount store quality c) never met the famed owner Bruce whom I could contact via email I was told!!! d)... More 

Helpful?
Thank 58renate
Camillelachance, Manager at 22 On Rose, responded to this review

We are very sorry you were not happy with your accommodation. I think you are expressing your own personal feelings as no one has ever found our guesthouse claustrophobic. Our breakfast buffet is certainly not of discount quality but it is self-serve which most guests don't mind. Bruce, the famed owner, is now semi-retired because of his age (64) and... More 

Kigali, Rwanda
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

22 on rose is part of the Rose Lodge, run by Bruce and his staff. Bruce was incredibly helpful when we couldn't find our driver upon arrival at the airport and staff-member Andrew did an incredible job making us feel welcome and providing all the needed info to make our stay successful. Rooms are ok-sized, beds comfortable and oh how... More 

Helpful?
Thank Riekeweel
Camillelachance, Manager at 22 On Rose, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our guesthouse. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us :) Kind regards, Bruce More 

Pretoria
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013

If you are looking for a good place to stay in the Bo-Kaap, 22 On Rose would be a good option; The room in which I stayed for the night had a large outside deck, on two different levels, complete with lounge chairs - A great way to watch the city come to life (or go to sleep!). You will... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cobus1978
Camillelachance, Manager at 22 On Rose, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. Regards, Bruce More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We chose 22 on Rose due to it's close proximity to the Waterfront (about 20 minute walk). However, be aware that Rose Street is in a less afluent area of Cape Town and therefore expect unemployed people loitering or just a little further on homeless people setting up camp. It's also in a muslim area so at 5.30am the local... More 

Helpful?
Thank ClarkieBucks
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We have just returned from a full week's holiday in Cape Town, and stayed at 22 on Rose. It's always an interesting experience when trying to choose from the places on offer - will it live up to expectations, will it be in a good location, will the other guests be interesting? In the end you just try to determine... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tony R

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Schotsche Kloof
Rose Lodge
Rose Lodge
#21 of 164 in Cape Town Central
411 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
La Rose Bed & Breakfast
La Rose Bed & Breakfast
#23 of 164 in Cape Town Central
437 reviews
Rouge on Rose
#5 of 164 in Cape Town Central
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Villa Bianca
Villa Bianca
#64 of 164 in Cape Town Central
27 reviews
La Montagne Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 16 in Riebeek Kasteel
24 reviews
21 Braemer
#129 of 164 in Cape Town Central
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
22 On Rose is located in Rose Street in the colourful historic Malay Quarter of Cape Town called The Bo-Kaap. It is only a five minute walk to the downtown area and the fashionable and trendy De Waterkant Village, and a short walking distance from the popular Victoria and Alfred Waterfront and CTICC. This is a cozy B&B with only 3 small rooms and maximum 6 guests. The rooms all en-suite with shower & toilet, television, WiFi, heating/air-conditioning, & safe. A substantial self-serve continental breakfast is provided. Our fridge is stocked daily with fresh orange juice, milk, yogurt, 2 kinds of bread, muffins & eggs. Fresh fruit, three types of cereal, an assortment of jams, honey and teas as well as fresh and instant coffee are also available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about 22 On Rose

Address: 22 Rose Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: $79 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 22 On Rose 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your 22 On Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
22 On Rose Cape Town, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from 22 On Rose staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room not close to the kitchen to avoid hearing all the noise from disrespectful guests.”
 of 5 bubbles buffy0182, 1 Dec 2014 | Read review
“The owner has at least three locations within a few blocks. We used two of them and were well pleased! One or more have a roof top patio providing a unique view of the area!”
 of 5 bubbles Alabeemer, 14 Nov 2014 | Read review
“The upstairs room (forgot the number) is spacious and has the rooftop connected to it!”
  • View from the rooftop connected to the upstairs room!
 of 5 bubbles Riekeweel, 12 Mar 2014 | Read review
“The upstairs room is more isolated, plus has a big rooftop deck, while the lower rooms have doors leading onto the the communal area.”
 of 5 bubbles Cobus1978, 21 Oct 2013 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay